Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • SpeedStreet
    • Aug 2002

Open Post to Stupid People

Are some people just slow? Seriously, who decides to upgrade to a beta version of a software pacakge without taking necessary precations.

I am getting really fed up with seeing people yelling and whining about how much they are upset with vBulletin's Developers for the release of vB3. One site, a former board of the month, continues to go off and talk about how the release of vB3 has made the mods to their vB2 board obsolete.

Last time I checked, beta meant NOT FOR LIVE USAGE. If you are so hellbent on the latest and greatest, you are going to pay the price while the final kinks are worked out of the software. Nobody is holding a gun to your head and forcing you to update right this minute...in fact, nobody is holding a gun to your head PERIOD.

Being that I used to work in the software industry, it makes me really sad that people are abusing the team that has worked so hard to accomodate us all. Pessimists need to stop pointing the finger and looking in the mirror when their sites go down during this upgrade process. If you knew anything about software development and/or project management, you would NOT be throwing the mud so viciously.

And for that site that posted up that rude message about vB3, I have a finger for you to see

Keep up the good work guys, and don't let anybody tell you otherwise.

- J
  • CeleronXT
    • Mar 2002

Originally posted by SpeedStreet
    Are some people just slow?
    In a word: yes.
    "63,000 bugs in the code, 63,000 bugs, you get 1 whacked with a service pack, now there's 63,005 bugs in the code."
    "Before you critisize someone, walk a mile in their shoes. That way, when you critisize them, you're a mile away and you have their shoes."
    Utopia Software - Current Software: Utopia News Pro (news management system)

Comment

• Matthew Gordon
      • May 2002
      • 1.1.x