X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Subsonic
    • Feb 2003
    • 5.0.X

Trouble with email after server move

I have just moved servers, and changed domain name.
    Now email is not working in any form... new member email activation, new posts, or any of the admin emails...
    I have emailed and spoken to the server tech department and have the following...
    from email:

The email will only have gone if the from address is an email address on your domain and is preceeded by the -f flag which was talked about if the knowledge base article.

and by phone:

I am told as a security feature to stop spam/bulk mail the from address must be contained in php scripts, as shown in the above knowledge page.

Can someone help me with this as I have very little knowledge of php?
  • Steve Machol
    Former Customer Support Manager
    • Jul 2000

If your server requires that you send the '-f' parameter when sending email via PHP, alter this code in the vbmail function in functions.php:

Code:
    [color=blue]mail($toemail, $subject, $message, $headers);[/color]
    ...to this:
    Code:
    [color=blue]mail($toemail, $subject, $message, $headers[b][color=red], "-f $webmasteremail"[/color][/b]);[/color]
    Steve Machol, former vBulletin Customer Support Manager (and NOT retired!)
    Change CKEditor Colors to Match Style (for 4.1.4 and above)

Steve Machol Photography

Mankind is the only creature smart enough to know its own history, and dumb enough to ignore it.

Comment

• Subsonic
      • Feb 2003
      • 5.0.X

Originally posted by Steve Machol
      If your server requires that you send the '-f' parameter when sending email via PHP, alter this code in the vbmail function in functions.php:

Code:
      [color=blue]mail($toemail, $subject, $message, $headers);[/color]
      ...to this:
      Code:
      [color=blue]mail($toemail, $subject, $message, $headers[b][color=red], "-f $webmasteremail"[/color][/b]);[/color]

Thank you worked a treat...