Connection to source server failed...

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • GearTripper
    Senior Member
    • Aug 2004
    • 440

    Connection to source server failed...

    • Clean import.
    • Source: vB 3.5.4 (server A)
    • Target: vB 3.5.4 (server B)
    • SQL error reported: Connection to source server failed. Check username and password.


    i've verified that all config settings are correct. any other suggestions?
  • Wayne Luke
    vBulletin Technical Support Lead
    • Aug 2000
    • 74129

    #2
    Is source server a physically separate machine? If so you will need to allow the user to perform remote connections from the target server. If you connect by TCP/IP, you might need to allow this as well even if they are on the same machine but separate IP addresses.
    Translations provided by Google.

    Wayne Luke
    The Rabid Badger - a vBulletin Cloud demonstration site.
    vBulletin 5 API

    Comment

    • GearTripper
      Senior Member
      • Aug 2004
      • 440

      #3
      totally separate machines... i allowed remote access to/from the target, but forgot about the source (brain fart). i'll check that and report back if trouble persists. thank you.

      Comment

      • Jerry
        Senior Member
        • Dec 2002
        • 9137
        • 1.1.x

        #4
        There may be network restrictions for port connections from remote IP's also you'll need to GRANT SELECT for ImpEx to get the data from the source.

        I wrote ImpEx.

        Blog | Me

        Comment

        • GearTripper
          Senior Member
          • Aug 2004
          • 440

          #5
          ok, according to tech support from both hosts, there shouldn't be anything restricting access to/from either database. just to make sure i have this correct...

          this part is for my target (my newly created databse)
          PHP Code:
          <?php
          #################################################################### |;
          # vBulletin - Licence Number L6488a64
          # ---------------------------------------------------------------- # |;
          # Copyright Â©2000–2006 Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. All Rights Reserved. |;
          # This file may not be redistributed in whole or significant part. # |;
          # ---------------- VBULLETIN IS NOT FREE SOFTWARE ---------------- # |;
          # http://www.vbulletin.com | http://www.vbulletin.com/license.html # |;
          #################################################################### |;
          # The following settings allow ImpEx to connect to the vBulletin 3
          # database into which you will be importing data.
          # If impex is installed in vBulletin you can ignore the target details
          # as includes/config.php
          $impexconfig['target']['databasetype'] = 'mysql';
          $impexconfig['target']['server'] = 'mysql.netfirms.com';
          $impexconfig['target']['user'] = 'ublahblah';
          $impexconfig['target']['password'] = 'blahblah';
          $impexconfig['target']['database'] = 'dblahblah';
          $impexconfig['target']['tableprefix'] = '';
          and this part is for the source (my current active forum)
          PHP Code:
          # If the system that is being imported from uses a database,
          # enter the details for it here and set 'sourceexists' to TRUE.
          # If the source data is NOT stored in a database, set 'sourceexists' to FALSE
          $impexconfig['sourceexists'] = true;
          # mysql / mssql
          $impexconfig['source']['databasetype'] = 'mysql';
          $impexconfig['source']['server'] = 'db236.perfora.net';
          $impexconfig['source']['user'] = 'dboblahblah';
          $impexconfig['source']['password'] = 'blahblah';
          $impexconfig['source']['database'] = 'dbblahblah';
          $impexconfig['source']['tableprefix'] = '';
           
          # Error logging will log import errors to a database table impexerror
          # for use with support. 
          # Language file is the file of phrases to be used, default is english.
          # pagespeed is the second(s) wait before the page refreshes.
          $impexconfig['system']['errorlogging'] = true;
          $impexconfig['system']['language'] = 'impex/impex_language.php';
          $impexconfig['system']['pagespeed'] = 1;
          ?> 

          Comment

          • Steve Machol
            Former Customer Support Manager
            • Jul 2000
            • 154488

            #6
            Assuming your source db info is correct, then if there were no restrictions, the connection would go through. Since it doesn't, this access is restricted.

            At this point I suggest you backup and restore the source database to the same server your vB is installed on.

            The only consistently reliable method of backing up and restoring a database is with shell access via telnet or ssh. Please see the instructions here:

            Backup:


            Restore:


            This is because backing up with a PHP script like that in the Admin CP or phpMyAdmin can result in PHP timeout errors and an incomplete backup file.

            If you don't have telnet or SSH access, some people have reported success with these scripts:

            MySQLDumper:


            MySQLHotxcopy:


            Bigdump:
            Steve Machol, former vBulletin Customer Support Manager (and NOT retired!)
            Change CKEditor Colors to Match Style (for 4.1.4 and above)

            Steve Machol Photography


            Mankind is the only creature smart enough to know its own history, and dumb enough to ignore it.


            Comment

            • SloppyGoat
              Senior Member
              • Feb 2002
              • 674

              #7
              Maybe telling the guy exactly how to GRANT SELECT would've been helpful?
              The Grey Area - Tweaking Obsession

              Comment

              • Jerry
                Senior Member
                • Dec 2002
                • 9137
                • 1.1.x

                #8
                Originally posted by SloppyGoat
                Maybe telling the guy exactly how to GRANT SELECT would've been helpful?
                I posted to the MySQL manual that did exactly that.
                I wrote ImpEx.

                Blog | Me

                Comment

                • SloppyGoat
                  Senior Member
                  • Feb 2002
                  • 674

                  #9
                  Yeah, but they assume everyone knows exactly how to get to a mysql prompt, which I didn't. The commands don't mean anything, if you don't know that you have to go to a command prompt in the bin directory. Know what I mean?
                  The Grey Area - Tweaking Obsession

                  Comment

                  widgetinstance 262 (Related Topics) skipped due to lack of content & hide_module_if_empty option.
                  Working...