Admin ? Trouble

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • kuyenmotdivad
    Senior Member
    • Apr 2006
    • 616
    • 4.1.x

    Admin ? Trouble

    Hi

    I noticed a problem in my admin panel I dont know if you allready know about it as a bug. But if I click "vBulletin Options > Show all Settings" Then click and of the "?" for help it puts this.

    PHP Code:
    There seems to have been a problem with the Forums database.
                    
    Please try again by clicking the Refresh button in your web browser.
                 
    An E-Mail has been dispatched to our Technical Staffwhom you can also contact if the problem persists.
                 
    We apologise for any inconvenience.

    Database error in vBulletin 3.5.4:

    Invalid SQL:

            
    SELECT *, LENGTH(action) AS length
            FROM bb_adminhelp
            WHERE script 
    'options' AND
                (
    action '' OR FIND_IN_SET('options'action))
                AND
                
    optionname 'bbclosedreason' AND
                
    displayorder <> 0
            ORDER BY displayorder
    ;

    MySQL Error  Illegal mix of collations (latin1_swedish_ci,COERCIBLE) and (utf8_general_ci,IMPLICIT) for operation 'find_in_set'
    Error Number 1267
    Date         
    FridayApril 21st 2006 07:33:59 PM
    Script       
    http://dragonflyresources.net/forum/admincp/help.php?s=&do=answer&page=options&pageaction=options&option=bbclosedreason
    Referrer     http://dragonflyresources.net/forum/admincp/options.php?do=options&dogroup=%5Ball%5D
    IP Address   xx.xx.xx.xx
    Username     
    DaveTomneyUK
    Classname    
    vb_database 
  • Steve Machol
    Former Customer Support Manager
    • Jul 2000
    • 154488

    #2
    Which version of MySQL are you running? This was a bug in some earlier versions.
    Steve Machol, former vBulletin Customer Support Manager (and NOT retired!)
    Change CKEditor Colors to Match Style (for 4.1.4 and above)

    Steve Machol Photography


    Mankind is the only creature smart enough to know its own history, and dumb enough to ignore it.


    Comment

    • kuyenmotdivad
      Senior Member
      • Apr 2006
      • 616
      • 4.1.x

      #3
      MySQL : 4.1.15-Debian_1-log (client: 5.0.20)
      PHP : 4.4.2-1+b1

      Comment

      • Steve Machol
        Former Customer Support Manager
        • Jul 2000
        • 154488

        #4
        Hmmm...that MySQL bug was supposed to have been fixed in 4.1.12. I don't know whaat elase would cause this other than a bug in MySQL. I'll ask the Devs if they have any ideas.
        Steve Machol, former vBulletin Customer Support Manager (and NOT retired!)
        Change CKEditor Colors to Match Style (for 4.1.4 and above)

        Steve Machol Photography


        Mankind is the only creature smart enough to know its own history, and dumb enough to ignore it.


        Comment

        • Mike Sullivan
          Former vBulletin Developer
          • Apr 2000
          • 13327
          • 3.6.x

          #5
          Your database is using latin1, but your connection is using UTF-8.

          Find this section in your config.php:
          Code:
          	//	****** MySQLI OPTIONS *****
          	// When using MySQL 4.1+, MySQLi should be used to connect to the database.
          	// If you need to set the default connection charset because your database
          	// is using a charset other than latin1, you can set the charset here.
          	// If you don't set the charset to be the same as your database, you
          	// may receive collation errors.  Ignore this setting unless you are sure
          	// you need to use it.
          // $config['Mysqli']['charset'] = 'utf8';
          You need to replace the last line with:

          Code:
          $config['Mysqli']['charset'] = 'latin1_swedish_ci';
          (I believe that is correct -- if you get an error, try just 'latin1'.)

          Comment

          • kuyenmotdivad
            Senior Member
            • Apr 2006
            • 616
            • 4.1.x

            #6
            Still just the same error, How would I change my database from latin to utf8 general like my tables?
            Last edited by kuyenmotdivad; Sat 22 Apr '06, 1:47pm.

            Comment

            • Freddie Bingham
              Former vBulletin Developer
              • May 2000
              • 14057
              • 1.1.x

              #7
              You need to use:

              $config['Mysqli']['charset'] = 'utf8';

              Make sure that you remove the two slashes that are in front of that line by default.

              Comment

              • kuyenmotdivad
                Senior Member
                • Apr 2006
                • 616
                • 4.1.x

                #8
                Still the same but if I run it on my own PC it works fine I think there is something wrong with my hosts server and I reported it to them. As it wont let me change the collection for the database or the tables one is latin1_swedish_ci and the other is utf8_general_ci

                Comment

                • Freddie Bingham
                  Former vBulletin Developer
                  • May 2000
                  • 14057
                  • 1.1.x

                  #9
                  Have you changed

                  $config['Database']['dbtype'] = 'mysql';

                  to:

                  $config['Database']['dbtype'] = 'mysqli';

                  It isn't possible to receive the same error if you have.

                  Your tables needs to be using the same charset as your database, otherwise you will have problems in the future when vBulletin adds new tables. Submit a support ticket if you can get it figured out.

                  Comment

                  • kuyenmotdivad
                    Senior Member
                    • Apr 2006
                    • 616
                    • 4.1.x

                    #10
                    The database uses latin1_swedish_ci and the tables use utf8_general_ci but I have no idea how to change the table collations back to latin1_swedish_ci as I am based in the UK (england) thats why I changed the tables from latin1_swedish_ci to utf8_general_ci.

                    If I change it to
                    $config['Database']['dbtype'] = 'mysqli'; I get a blank page.

                    Comment

                    • Freddie Bingham
                      Former vBulletin Developer
                      • May 2000
                      • 14057
                      • 1.1.x

                      #11
                      You can change the charset from within phpMyAdmin, which you should have on your hosting account.

                      Comment

                      • kuyenmotdivad
                        Senior Member
                        • Apr 2006
                        • 616
                        • 4.1.x

                        #12
                        Still wont work maybe because I dont know what I am doing, If I change the collation to general it still comes up with the same error.

                        Comment

                        • Freddie Bingham
                          Former vBulletin Developer
                          • May 2000
                          • 14057
                          • 1.1.x

                          #13
                          You have to change the charset back to latin1 and collation swedish_ci or you have to get the options in config.php working. If you want to get the options working and stay with UTF8 for your tables then submit a support ticket.

                          If you want to stay with UTF8 then in addition to getting the options in config.php working, you will also need to change your database's default charset to UTF8 as well so that all future tables are created as UTF and not Latin1.

                          Comment

                          • Sergio68
                            Senior Member
                            • May 2002
                            • 821
                            • 6.0.X

                            #14
                            Originally posted by Freddie Bingham
                            You can change the charset from within phpMyAdmin, which you should have on your hosting account.
                            I have the same error on my forum, I just upgraded to 3.6 beta 2, admin panel :
                            Code:
                            Database error in vBulletin 3.6.0 Beta 2:
                            
                            Invalid SQL:
                            
                            	SELECT adminmessage.adminmessageid
                            	FROM adminmessage AS adminmessage
                            	INNER JOIN adminlog AS adminlog ON (adminlog.script = adminmessage.script AND adminlog.action = adminmessage.action)
                            	WHERE adminmessage.status = 'undone'
                            		AND adminmessage.script <> ''
                            		AND adminlog.dateline > adminmessage.dateline
                            	GROUP BY adminmessage.adminmessageid;
                            
                            MySQL Error  : Illegal mix of collations (utf8_general_ci,IMPLICIT) and (latin1_swedish_ci,IMPLICIT) for operation '='
                            Error Number : 1267
                            Date         : Sunday, June 18th 2006 @ 02:28:44 AM
                            Script       : http://www.vbulletin.it/forums/admincp/index.php?do=home
                            Referrer     : http://www.vbulletin.it/forums/admincp/index.php?do=nav
                            IP Address   : 81.174.32.193
                            Username     : Sergio
                            Classname    : vb_database
                            But both adminlog and adminmessage are set to latin1. Most of the rest is utf8.
                            Should I alter all tables (a lot) to latin1 ? I can do easily with mysqladministrator.
                            Any corruption risk?
                            Italian Body Building & Fitness : www.BodyWeb.com
                            Italian unofficial support Forum : www.vBulletin.it

                            Comment

                            • OmaniMan
                              Member
                              • May 2003
                              • 67

                              #15
                              I got exactly same problem

                              Comment

                              widgetinstance 262 (Related Topics) skipped due to lack of content & hide_module_if_empty option.
                              Working...