Giving certain groups a different custom title graphics

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • -]FusiøN[-
    Member
    • Apr 2005
    • 83
    • 3.0.7

    Giving certain groups a different custom title graphics

    I dont know if I can put it here, since it may require some modification, but Ill ask it anyway.

    We would like it that certain groupmembers (admins, moderators n such) to have some nice custom title graphics so that people who visit the board instantly see that they are part of the crew.

    Meilleur service client, taux d’interêt et offre de bienvenue ? Trouvez la banque en ligne qui vous convient grâce à notre comparatif/guide et économisez en moyenne 150 euros par an !


    Now this can easily be done with some html in the user title from admincp, but the problem is that it would disappear as soon as a member changes his title again.

    The idea is using <if><else> commands, when a person is part of a certain group, it puts the custom title in a table cell, which has a background like in the image above (just an example, i made it in a few seconds). That way no matter how many times a person changes his title, the look stays the same.

    Can it be done?
    "Creativity is allowing yourself to make mistakes. Art is knowing which ones to keep."
    -Scott Adams
  • Steve Machol
    Former Customer Support Manager
    • Jul 2000
    • 154488

    #2
    You can use User Ranks to do this:

    Steve Machol, former vBulletin Customer Support Manager (and NOT retired!)
    Change CKEditor Colors to Match Style (for 4.1.4 and above)

    Steve Machol Photography


    Mankind is the only creature smart enough to know its own history, and dumb enough to ignore it.


    Comment

    • -]FusiøN[-
      Member
      • Apr 2005
      • 83
      • 3.0.7

      #3
      Welll, thats not exactly what we had in mind, since then the custom title stays the same. But i think we've found a sollution for it. Ill post it here when its working.
      "Creativity is allowing yourself to make mistakes. Art is knowing which ones to keep."
      -Scott Adams

      Comment

      • Jake Bunce
        Senior Member
        • Dec 2000
        • 46598
        • 3.6.x

        #4
        Originally posted by -]FusiøN[-
        Now this can easily be done with some html in the user title from admincp, but the problem is that it would disappear as soon as a member changes his title again.
        Correct. There is no built-in feature to apply markup code to custom titles, and markup code does not parse inside of custom titles.

        Originally posted by -]FusiøN[-
        The idea is using <if><else> commands, when a person is part of a certain group, it puts the custom title in a table cell, which has a background like in the image above (just an example, i made it in a few seconds). That way no matter how many times a person changes his title, the look stays the same.

        Can it be done?
        That can work. The exact condition depends on exactly which users have markup, etc.

        Comment

        • -]FusiøN[-
          Member
          • Apr 2005
          • 83
          • 3.0.7

          #5
          You dont happen to be bored now Jake? We can do it, but it'll probably take us 10 times longer through trial and error then when you would do it.
          "Creativity is allowing yourself to make mistakes. Art is knowing which ones to keep."
          -Scott Adams

          Comment

          • Jake Bunce
            Senior Member
            • Dec 2000
            • 46598
            • 3.6.x

            #6
            I can't do it without knowing what conditions you want, and I can just as easily give you those conditions in this thread.

            Comment

            • -]FusiøN[-
              Member
              • Apr 2005
              • 83
              • 3.0.7

              #7
              And this is the reason why we love vBulletin. Awesome support!

              Give us a few while we sort out the table cell and graphics. Anything else you need to know from us (which group # should get a custom markup n such)
              "Creativity is allowing yourself to make mistakes. Art is knowing which ones to keep."
              -Scott Adams

              Comment

              • Jake Bunce
                Senior Member
                • Dec 2000
                • 46598
                • 3.6.x

                #8
                For example, if you want specific users to get the markup, then I need their userids. If you want a specific group to get the markup, then I need the usergroupid of that group. etc...

                Comment

                • -]FusiøN[-
                  Member
                  • Apr 2005
                  • 83
                  • 3.0.7

                  #9
                  Right, after some fiddling around, we finally managed. Graphics again are not final, but at least it shows its possible.



                  The way we managed this is messing around a bit in the CSS manager, giving the custom title part a "ctitle" div tag in the "postbit_legacy" template.

                  CSS definition:
                  Code:
                  .ctitle {
                  font: 11px Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; font-weight: bold;
                  padding-left: 0px;
                  padding-right: 0px;
                  padding-top: 0px;
                  padding-bottom: 0px;
                  background: url(/vBtemp/images/misc/customtitlebg.gif);
                  border-top: 1px solid #505050;
                  border-right: 2px solid #505050;
                  border-left: 1px solid #505050;
                  border-bottom: 2px solid #505050;
                  margin-bottom: 0px;
                  }
                  ..and adding an extra line, in this case an aligned image to the left before the $post[usertitle] part:

                  postbit_legacy:
                  Code:
                  <div class="ctitle"><img src="/vbbtemp/images/misc/customtitleleft.gif" align="left">$post[usertitle]</div>
                  Now it would be a lot easier if we could have that aligned image defined in CSS, but I dont know how and if that is possible, since then the postbit_legacy stays clean of change (e.g. adding the image).

                  The usergroup that is supposed to get this is usergroup number ID #6 (administrators). All it needs now is the right <if> and <else> definitions and we got it going.
                  "Creativity is allowing yourself to make mistakes. Art is knowing which ones to keep."
                  -Scott Adams

                  Comment

                  • Jake Bunce
                    Senior Member
                    • Dec 2000
                    • 46598
                    • 3.6.x

                    #10
                    Originally posted by -]FusiøN[-
                    The usergroup that is supposed to get this is usergroup number ID #6 (administrators). All it needs now is the right <if> and <else> definitions and we got it going.
                    Code:
                    <if condition="$post[usergroupid] == 6">
                    	ADMINS
                    <else />
                    	NOT ADMINS
                    </if>

                    Comment

                    • -]FusiøN[-
                      Member
                      • Apr 2005
                      • 83
                      • 3.0.7

                      #11
                      Well that was easy. It doesnt matter that there are already <if> <else> definitions? You can cascade them?

                      Futhermore, any thought about adding that left image in CSS?
                      "Creativity is allowing yourself to make mistakes. Art is knowing which ones to keep."
                      -Scott Adams

                      Comment

                      • Jake Bunce
                        Senior Member
                        • Dec 2000
                        • 46598
                        • 3.6.x

                        #12
                        Originally posted by -]FusiøN[-
                        You can cascade them?
                        Yes.

                        Originally posted by -]FusiøN[-
                        Futhermore, any thought about adding that left image in CSS?
                        I don't think that is possible.

                        Comment

                        • -]FusiøN[-
                          Member
                          • Apr 2005
                          • 83
                          • 3.0.7

                          #13
                          Ok, thx for the quick reply Jake and your big help. I'll get right on it and will post how it looks once we are done.

                          Edit: Went googling for an answer. And it IS possible....but:

                          It's a natural step in the development of CSS- the ability to use CSS to dynamically insert content onto the page that's part of an element's style. For example, a bullet image alongside a link to draw attention to the link can be considered a "styling content", since the image serves no purpose other than to dress up the link. So it makes sense to have CSS at least be able to insert this content (in this case, a bullet image) should you choose to. Well, starting in CSS2, support for Generated Content is here! Note that currently only Firefox 1.0+ and Opera 7.5+ support this feature, while IE 6 doesn't. Well, at least no surprises. So fire up the former browsers if you wish to see some of the live examples (others are simulated).
                          So I guess its out of the question. Too bad.
                          Last edited by -]FusiøN[-; Mon 30 May '05, 8:51am.
                          "Creativity is allowing yourself to make mistakes. Art is knowing which ones to keep."
                          -Scott Adams

                          Comment

                          • -]FusiøN[-
                            Member
                            • Apr 2005
                            • 83
                            • 3.0.7

                            #14
                            Lovely!

                            http://ut2004.titaninternet.co.uk/vB...?t=3201&page=2 <--this is irritating. it changes v.b.b to VB

                            but (there is always a but) we have one siteadmin, who does the maintanence of the forum, but does not have access to a certain forum. So he aint a member of group ID # 6.

                            Code:
                            <if condition="$post[usergroupid] == 6">
                            I dont suppose i can do:

                            Code:
                            <if condition="$post[usergroupid] == 6,20">


                            Edit: Nm, i just made him administrator, but refused access to admin forum by editing the forum permissions. Thanks again Jake for your help!
                            Last edited by -]FusiøN[-; Mon 30 May '05, 12:32pm.
                            "Creativity is allowing yourself to make mistakes. Art is knowing which ones to keep."
                            -Scott Adams

                            Comment

                            widgetinstance 262 (Related Topics) skipped due to lack of content & hide_module_if_empty option.
                            Working...