Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • websissy
    • Sep 2003

Advice on Importing MAIL format file...

Okay, I'm running vB3.03 happily and have been using the product since beta 7. However, one of my goals has always been to come up with a way to capture the users and messages from my Yahoo group and import them into vB3. As a 35 year IT pro, I'm no novice at data conversions... so I have a pretty good idea what I'm faced with here.

I have now found and successfully tested a helpful little utility that will login to my Yahoo group and export the member list there into a tab-delimited Ascii file.

Once the member list is in Ascii, I can easily convert that data into any format and import the users to vBulletin. If I MUST, I can import into MSAccess, download my vBulletin MySQL user table to MSAccess, purge the Yahoo member list of duplicates against my vBulletin user table, port the purged table (via ODBC) directly into the Windows version of MySQL, export a SQL dump from there, upload the dumped file back to linux and import into vB3's database. That's the LONG way around the barn. But I've already done a very similar thing successfully. So, I know it's possible for me to do that.

Therefore, I assume that if I study this for a while I can figure out how to import my existing Yahoo users into vBulletin correctly. The initial password selection and assignment for those account will be a minor issue; but I'm convinced I can solve that one too.

My main question has to do with preserving and importing my Yahoo messages.

I have found two utilities that can download the entire Yahoo Groups Message database and store it on my server in standard linux MAIL format. One utility does this as a single linux MAIL file containing all messages. The other does it as one linux MAIL file PER message. I've tested them and they both seem to work fine. I can even read the messages with a linux MAIL client and they look okay. So far, so good as they say...