Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Khuffie
    • Oct 2004

Lack of vB Skin Archive Site

Hey... i'm new to vB, and I spent most of today trying to hunt down some good sites that have say, a collection of (free) vB skins, and to my surprise I found none. Sure, there's individual sites with individual skins that they created, but no all-encompassing archive that lists a lot of skins that others have submitted in an organized manner...

I've looked at places like vBulletinTemplates, and it doesn't quite do that properly, neither does

Why is that? It's strange, because there were quite a few for IPB (i just switched).

Would anyone be interested in working on it? I'm all up for spearheading a new vB Skinning Community site...I already have a server we can use until the thing (hopefully) takes off...

Hope this isnt considered advertising, but if anyone's interested, please reply and discuss here...and hey, if i'm missing a site or something, please smack me in the face and post a link to it
  • Zachery
    Former vBulletin Support
    • Jul 2002

They have been tried and done before (many a time) The problem is that why put 20-30 hours (240-360USD one time sale if not more, or 500+ usd for resold packages) worth of time when you can make it by selling the styles?

The IPB community is/was madeup for alot of users who were not paying for support, they were making more free styles, and the same i think its true with phpBB. I am attempting to close this gap by making and releasing more styles here, however i personaly lack the graphics design ablilitys that most desingers have, i can code just about anything into vBulletin, but i cannot design it I am trying my best there are a few default styles, with color only modifications, down in the vBulletin 3 downloads area, next week there will be vBulletin XP Blue & Silver released.

Comment

• Khuffie
      • Oct 2004

Originally posted by Zachery