X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Rewind
    • May 2004
    • 3.6.x

How Do I change my domain name?

Hey, I realise that if you want to change your domain, you have to register a new one with a company but once you have done that. How do you alter the VB so that it accepts and changes over to all the new data, so that it like says the new title of your board, links to the emails for that board? I'm new at this and totally confused, so I may be asking the wrong people, should I be talking to the hosting?
  • Jake Bunce
    • Dec 2000
    • 3.6.x

You can change the domain, contact email, home URL, etc for your forum by editing the settings in your:

Admin CP -> vBulletin Options -> Site Name / URL / Contact Details

Comment

• Rewind
      • May 2004
      • 3.6.x

So you do not have to alter any of the PHP files etc, and how does it work like you just change the domain, link it to your name servers and all done, or not?

Comment

• Jake Bunce
        • Dec 2000
        • 3.6.x

Originally posted by Rewind
        So you do not have to alter any of the PHP files etc, and how does it work like you just change the domain, link it to your name servers and all done, or not?
        Yep, that's all there is.

Comment

• Rewind
          • May 2004
          • 3.6.x

Just one last question, does it effect anything changing the domain, like will I loose stuff on my board? If so how do I back up all my stuff so its easy to reupload? Also do I type in the new domain as soon as my new domain is registered or wait for the name servers to connect and then edit it on the admin cp?

Comment

• Steve Machol
            Former Customer Support Manager
            • Jul 2000

Changing the domain name will not affect any data. This assumes, of course, that the name is changed and you are not moving to a different server.
            Steve Machol, former vBulletin Customer Support Manager (and NOT retired!)
            Change CKEditor Colors to Match Style (for 4.1.4 and above)