How do I add a border?

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • Jake Bunce
    Senior Member
    • Dec 2000
    • 46598
    • 3.6.x

    How do I add a border?

    Go to your:

    Admin CP -> Styles & Templates -> Style Manager -> « » -> Postbit Templates -> postbit or postbit_legacy (depending on which layout you use)

    Find this code at the top. Replace the red code with $stylevar[cellspacing]:

    <!-- post #$post[postid] -->
    <if condition="$show['spacer']">$spacer_open<if condition="!$post['islastshown']"><div style="padding:0px 0px $stylevar[cellpadding]px 0px"></if></if>

    <table class="tborder" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="100%" align="center">
    <tr>
  • Ashkarita
    Senior Member
    • Feb 2003
    • 228
    • 3.8.x

    #2
    How do I add a border?

    I am working on a new style (actually all new), and I'm having issues with the posts in the threads - no border. I attached a screencap, but where in the templates to I fix it so there's a border around them?
    Attached Files
    Whoopdie Doo

    Comment

    • Ashkarita
      Senior Member
      • Feb 2003
      • 228
      • 3.8.x

      #3
      God, you guys are great. Can I ask one more question?

      If I'm trying to adjust the navbar settings, I.E. I want to put the options in a table header that I have as opposed to below it and above the forums like they are. Where do I go to do that? I'm guessing that its in the navbar template, but I looked in there and I saw some things that I thought were what I needed, but I didn't want to screw anything up so I thought it would just be better to come here and ask y'all.

      Thanks so much for helping me!
      Whoopdie Doo

      Comment

      • Jake Bunce
        Senior Member
        • Dec 2000
        • 46598
        • 3.6.x

        #4
        The navbar's placement is set in every "main" template (the templates whose names are CAPITALIZED). It is always placed below the header code. If you can work within this placement then you can just edit the code in your header and navbar templates. Otherwise you will need to edit every CAPITALIZED template to change the placement.

        The header template is in your:

        Admin CP -> Styles & Templates -> Style Manager -> « » -> header

        And the navbar template is in your:

        Admin CP -> Styles & Templates -> Style Manager -> « » -> Navigation / Breadcrumb Templates -> navbar

        If you can draw a picture showing what you want to do then I might be able to tell you what code to edit.

        Comment

        • Ashkarita
          Senior Member
          • Feb 2003
          • 228
          • 3.8.x

          #5
          LOL, don't have to tell me twice!

          I attached the screencap. I circled what I want to move. The arrow is where I want to move. I basically want to get rid of that entirely, and move it to text in that table I have at the top - where the text that says "If your life were a TV show, this would be it" is,I would like to replace that with the navbar stuff.

          That being said, the table where Degrassi-Baords.com is and where it says Welcome back, blah blah - can I still have that below it in that small table, or do I need to find a welcome menu hack and readd that?

          I'm sorry, am I making sense? Bah, I made a second screencap and edited to to what it would look like - it's not a very good one, I figured you'd get the idea - that's what I want to be able to keep, plus that's what the log in would also be when people are logged out.
          Attached Files
          Whoopdie Doo

          Comment

          • Jake Bunce
            Senior Member
            • Dec 2000
            • 46598
            • 3.6.x

            #6
            Here you are. The end result should look like the attached image.

            Go to your:

            Admin CP -> Styles & Templates -> Style Manager -> « » -> header

            Remove this code at the bottom of that template:

            Code:
            <!-- content table -->
            $spacer_open
            
            $_phpinclude_output
            Then go to your:

            Admin CP -> Styles & Templates -> Style Manager -> « » -> Navigation / Breadcrumb Templates -> navbar

            This is the entire modified template with color coded changes. If your navbar template isn't currently customized then you can just use this entire block of code for your navbar template.

            red = moved from within template
            green = added
            blue = removed

            Code:
            <script type="text/javascript">
            <!--
            function log_out()
            {
            	ht = document.getElementsByTagName("html");
            	ht[0].style.filter = "progid:DXImageTransform.Microsoft.BasicImage(grayscale=1)";
            	if (confirm('$vbphrase[sure_you_want_to_log_out]'))
            	{
            		return true;
            	}
            	else
            	{
            		ht[0].style.filter = "";
            		return false;
            	}
            }
            //-->
            </script>
            
            [color=red]<!-- nav buttons bar -->
            <div align="center">
            	<table class="tborder" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="[color=green]$stylevar[outertablewidth][/color]" align="center" [color=blue]style="border-top-width:0px"[/color]>
            	<tr align="center">	
            		<!--<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="$vboptions[forumhome].php?$session[sessionurl]">Home</a></td>-->
            		
            		<if condition="$show['member']">
            			<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="usercp.php?$session[sessionurl]">$vbphrase[user_cp]</a></td>
            		</if>
            		<if condition="$show['registerbutton']">
            			<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="register.php?$session[sessionurl]">$vbphrase[register]</a></td>
            		</if>
            		<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="faq.php?$session[sessionurl]" accesskey="5">$vbphrase[faq]</a></td>
            		<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="memberlist.php?$session[sessionurl]">$vbphrase[members_list]</a></td>
            		<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="calendar.php?$session[sessionurl]">$vbphrase[calendar]</a></td>
            		<if condition="$show['popups']">		
            			<if condition="$show['searchbuttons']">
            				<if condition="$show['member']">
            				<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="search.php?$session[sessionurl]do=getnew" accesskey="2">$vbphrase[new_posts_nav]</a></td>
            				<else />
            				<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="search.php?$session[sessionurl]do=getdaily" accesskey="2">$vbphrase[todays_posts]</a></td>
            				</if>
            				<td id="navbar_search" class="vbmenu_control"><a href="search.php?$session[sessionurl]" accesskey="4">$vbphrase[search]</a> <script type="text/javascript"> vbmenu_register("navbar_search"); </script></td>
            			</if>
            			<if condition="$bbuserinfo['userid']">
            				<td id="usercptools" class="vbmenu_control"><a href="#usercptools">$vbphrase[quick_links]</a> <script type="text/javascript"> vbmenu_register("usercptools"); </script></td>		
            			</if>
            		<else />		
            			<if condition="$show['searchbuttons']">
            				<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="search.php?$session[sessionurl]" accesskey="4">$vbphrase[search]</a></td>
            				<if condition="$show['member']">
            				<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="search.php?$session[sessionurl]do=getnew" accesskey="2">$vbphrase[new_posts_nav]</a></td>
            				<else />
            				<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="search.php?$session[sessionurl]do=getdaily" accesskey="2">$vbphrase[todays_posts]</a></td>
            				</if>
            			</if>
            			<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="forumdisplay.php?$session[sessionurl]do=markread">$vbphrase[mark_forums_read]</a></td>
            			<if condition="$bbuserinfo['userid']">			
            				<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="#" onclick="window.open('misc.php?$session[sessionurl]do=buddylist&amp;focus=1','buddylist','statusbar=no,menubar=no,toolbar=no,scrollbars=yes,resizable=yes,width=250,height=300'); return false;">$vbphrase[open_buddy_list]</a></td>			
            			</if>			
            		</if>
            		<if condition="$bbuserinfo['userid']">
            			<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="login.php?$session[sessionurl]do=logout" onclick="return log_out()">$vbphrase[log_out]</a></td>
            		</if>
            	</tr>
            	</table>
            </div>
            <!-- / nav buttons bar -->
            
            [color=blue]<br />
            <br />[/color]
            
            
            
            
            
            
            
            <if condition="$show['popups']">
            <!-- NAVBAR POPUP MENUS -->
            	
            	<if condition="$show['searchbuttons']">
            	<!-- header quick search form -->
            	<div class="vbmenu_popup" id="navbar_search_menu" style="display:none">
            		<table cellpadding="4" cellspacing="1" border="0">
            		<tr>
            			<td class="thead">$vbphrase[search_forums]</td>
            		</tr>
            		<tr>
            			<td class="vbmenu_option" title="nohilite">
            			<form action="search.php" method="post">
            				<input type="hidden" name="do" value="process" />
            				<input type="hidden" name="showposts" value="0" />
            				<input type="text" class="bginput" name="query" size="20" />$gobutton<br />
            			</form>
            			</td>
            		</tr>
            		<tr>
            			<td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="search.php?$session[sessionurl]" accesskey="4">$vbphrase[advanced_search]</a></td>
            		</tr>
            		</table>
            	</div>
            	<!-- / header quick search form -->
            	</if>
            
            	<if condition="$show['member']">
            	<!-- user cp tools menu -->
            	<div class="vbmenu_popup" id="usercptools_menu" style="display:none">
            		<table cellpadding="4" cellspacing="1" border="0">
            		
            		<tr><td class="thead">$vbphrase[quick_links]</td></tr>		
            		<if condition="$vboptions['enablesearches']"><tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="search.php?$session[sessionurl]do=getnew">$vbphrase[new_posts_nav]</a></td></tr></if>
            		<tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="forumdisplay.php?$session[sessionurl]do=markread">$vbphrase[mark_forums_read]</a></td></tr>
            		<tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="#" onclick="window.open('misc.php?$session[sessionurl]do=buddylist&amp;focus=1','buddylist','statusbar=no,menubar=no,toolbar=no,scrollbars=yes,resizable=yes,width=250,height=300'); return false;">$vbphrase[open_buddy_list]</a></td></tr>
            				
            		<tr><td class="thead"><a href="usercp.php?$session[sessionurl]">$vbphrase[user_control_panel]</a></td></tr>
            		<if condition="$show['siglink']"><tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="profile.php?$session[sessionurl]do=editsignature">$vbphrase[edit_signature]</a></td></tr></if>
            		<if condition="$show['avatarlink']"><tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="profile.php?$session[sessionurl]do=editavatar">$vbphrase[edit_avatar]</a></td></tr></if>
            		<tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="profile.php?$session[sessionurl]do=editprofile">$vbphrase[edit_profile]</a></td></tr>
            		<tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="profile.php?$session[sessionurl]do=editoptions">$vbphrase[edit_options]</a></td></tr>
            		
            		<tr><td class="thead">$vbphrase[miscellaneous]</td></tr>
            		<if condition="$show['pmstats']"><tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="private.php?$session[sessionurl]">$vbphrase[private_messages]</a></td></tr></if>
            		<tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="subscription.php?$session[sessionurl]">$vbphrase[subscribed_threads]</a></td></tr>
            		<tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="member.php?$session[sessionurl]u=$bbuserinfo[userid]">$vbphrase[my_profile]</a></td></tr>
            		<if condition="$show['wollink']"><tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="online.php?$session[sessionurl]">$vbphrase[whos_online]</a></td></tr></if>
            		
            		</table>
            	</div>
            	<!-- / user cp tools menu -->
            	</if>
            <!-- / NAVBAR POPUP MENUS -->
            </if>[/color]
            
            [color=green]<!-- content table -->
            $spacer_open
            
            $_phpinclude_output[/color]
            
            <br />
            
            <!-- breadcrumb, login, pm info -->
            <table class="tborder" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="$stylevar[cellspacing]" border="0" width="100%" align="center">
            <tr>
            	<td class="alt1" width="100%">
            		<if condition="is_array($navbits)">
            			<table cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" border="0">
            			<tr valign="bottom">
            				<td><a href="#" onclick="history.back(1)"><img src="$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/navbits_start.gif" alt="$vbphrase[go_back]" border="0" /></a></td>
            				<td>&nbsp;</td>
            				<td width="100%"><span class="navbar"><a href="$vboptions[forumhome].php?$session[sessionurl]" accesskey="1">$vboptions[bbtitle]</a></span> $navbits[breadcrumb]</td>
            			</tr>
            			<tr>
            				<td class="navbar" style="font-size:10pt; padding-top:1px" colspan="3"><a href="$scriptpath"><img class="inlineimg" src="$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/navbits_finallink.gif" alt="$vbphrase[reload_this_page]" border="0" /></a> <strong>$navbits[lastelement]</strong></td>
            			</tr>
            			</table>			
            		<else />
            			<div class="navbar" style="font-size:10pt"><a href="$vboptions[forumhome].php?$session[sessionurl]" accesskey="1"><img class="inlineimg" src="$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/navbits_start.gif" alt="" border="0" /></a> <strong>$vboptions[bbtitle]</strong></div>
            		</if>
            	</td>	
            	
            	<if condition="$bbuserinfo['userid']">
            	
            		<td class="alt2" valign="top" nowrap="nowrap">
            		<div class="smallfont">
            			<!--<span style="float:$stylevar[right]">[<a href="login.php?$session[sessionurl]do=logout" onclick="return log_out()">$vbphrase[log_out]</a>]</span>-->
            			<strong><phrase 1="$bbuserinfo[username]">$vbphrase[welcome_x]</phrase></strong><br />
            			<phrase 1="$pmbox[lastvisitdate]" 2="$pmbox[lastvisittime]">$vbphrase[last_visited_x_at_y]</phrase>
            			<if condition="$show['pmstats']"><br /><phrase 1="$vbphrase[unread_x_nav_compiled]" 2="$vbphrase[total_x_nav_compiled]" 3="$session[sessionurl]">$vbphrase[private_messages_nav]</phrase></if>
            		</div>
            		</td>
            		
            	<else />
            		
            		<td class="alt2" nowrap="nowrap" style="padding:0px">
            			
            		<!-- login form -->
            		<form action="login.php" method="post" onsubmit="md5hash(vb_login_password,vb_login_md5password)">
            		<script type="text/javascript" src="clientscript/vbulletin_md5.js"></script>
            		<table cellpadding="0" cellspacing="$stylevar[formspacer]" border="0">
            		<tr>
            			<td class="smallfont">$vbphrase[username]</td>
            			<td><input type="text" class="button" name="vb_login_username" id="navbar_username" size="10" accesskey="u" tabindex="1" value="$vbphrase[username]" onfocus="if (this.value == '$vbphrase[username]') this.value = '';" /></td>
            			<td class="smallfont" colspan="2" nowrap="nowrap"><label for="cb_cookieuser_navbar"><input type="checkbox" name="cookieuser" value="1" tabindex="3" id="cb_cookieuser_navbar" accesskey="c" checked="checked" />$vbphrase[remember_me]</label></td>
            		</tr>
            		<tr>
            			<td class="smallfont">$vbphrase[password]</td>
            			<td><input type="password" class="button" name="vb_login_password" size="10" accesskey="p" tabindex="2" /></td>
            			<td><input type="submit" class="button" value="$vbphrase[log_in]" tabindex="4" title="$vbphrase[enter_username_to_login_or_register]" accesskey="s" /></td>
            		</tr>
            		</table>
            		<input type="hidden" name="s" value="$session[sessionhash]" />
            		<input type="hidden" name="do" value="login" />
            		<input type="hidden" name="forceredirect" value="1" />			
            		<input type="hidden" name="vb_login_md5password" />
            		</form>
            		<!-- / login form -->
            			
            		</td>
            		
            	</if>	
            	
            </tr>
            </table>
            <!-- / breadcrumb, login, pm info -->
            
            [color=green]<br />
            <br />[/color]
            Attached Files
            Last edited by Jake Bunce; Sun 4 Apr '04, 2:26pm.

            Comment

            • Ashkarita
              Senior Member
              • Feb 2003
              • 228
              • 3.8.x

              #7
              That's working beautifully, thank you SO MUCH. My last question is that the way you have it set up there are no bars in between the options - which option is that in the style to get rid of that? I WANT the yellow border around what you gave me (THANK YOU SO MUCH AGAIN), but if you'll notice on those screencaps I have yellow spacers in between and I'd prefer it to be all blue and just a gold border around that entire area, just as you have.

              Jake you're my hero, I appreciate your help more than you know.

              edit, okay I just realized this post makes no sense. If you look at my previously attached image, you see the yellow bars in between the posts. I have that on the default style, but NOT a different style that I have and I can't remember which option fixes that.
              Last edited by Ashkarita; Sun 4 Apr '04, 2:42pm.
              Whoopdie Doo

              Comment

              • Jake Bunce
                Senior Member
                • Dec 2000
                • 46598
                • 3.6.x

                #8
                Originally posted by Ashkarita
                edit, okay I just realized this post makes no sense. If you look at my previously attached image, you see the yellow bars in between the posts. I have that on the default style, but NOT a different style that I have and I can't remember which option fixes that.
                That is controlled by the cellspacing attribute in the table code.

                From the beginning of the red code in my post:

                <!-- nav buttons bar -->
                <div align="center">
                <table class="tborder" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="$stylevar[outertablewidth]" align="center" style="border-top-width:0px">
                <tr align="center">
                This cellspacing attribute should be set to 0 in the default template. If you have changed this setting in this template, try setting it back to 0.

                Comment

                • Ashkarita
                  Senior Member
                  • Feb 2003
                  • 228
                  • 3.8.x

                  #9
                  It's absolutely beautiful except for one thing - now I've set something to be bold and I have no idea what the heck I did to make that. I'm brand new to vB, I'm really sorry and I really appreciate your help. I'm going to bet this is something REALLY obvious, but I'll blame it on the fact that I'm a blonde. Anyhow, in the screencap, do you see how darn thick that border is around Degrassi-Boards Forums? Where do I fix that? Last time, I swear. I have everything else under control.
                  Attached Files
                  Whoopdie Doo

                  Comment

                  • Jake Bunce
                    Senior Member
                    • Dec 2000
                    • 46598
                    • 3.6.x

                    #10
                    Try this...

                    Find this code in the navbar template. Replace the red code with 0:

                    Code:
                    <!-- breadcrumb, login, pm info -->
                    <table class="tborder" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="[color=red]$stylevar[cellspacing][/color]" border="0" width="100%" align="center">
                    <tr>
                    Or you can change this setting globally in your:

                    Admin CP -> Styles & Templates -> Style Manager -> StyleVars -> Inner Border Width

                    Comment

                    • Ashkarita
                      Senior Member
                      • Feb 2003
                      • 228
                      • 3.8.x

                      #11
                      PERFECT! Thank you so much for all your help!
                      Whoopdie Doo

                      Comment

                      • Thug4Thug
                        Senior Member
                        • Jan 2004
                        • 980
                        • 3.0.3

                        #12
                        how do i remove the space
                        see attachment
                        Attached Files
                        http://www.trudesi.com

                        Comment

                        • Jake Bunce
                          Senior Member
                          • Dec 2000
                          • 46598
                          • 3.6.x

                          #13
                          Remove the blue code from my post:

                          Originally posted by Jake Bunce
                          Admin CP -> Styles & Templates -> Style Manager -> « » -> Navigation / Breadcrumb Templates -> navbar

                          This is the entire modified template with color coded changes. If your navbar template isn't currently customized then you can just use this entire block of code for your navbar template.

                          red = moved from within template
                          green = added
                          blue = removed

                          Code:
                          		[color=red]<if condition="$bbuserinfo['userid']">
                          			<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="login.php?$session[sessionurl]do=logout" onclick="return log_out()">$vbphrase[log_out]</a></td>
                          		</if>
                          	</tr>
                          	</table>
                          </div>
                          <!-- / nav buttons bar -->
                          
                          [color=blue]<br />
                          <br />[/color]
                          
                          
                          
                          
                          
                          
                          
                          <if condition="$show['popups']">
                          <!-- NAVBAR POPUP MENUS -->
                          	
                          	<if condition="$show['searchbuttons']">
                          	<!-- header quick search form -->
                          	<div class="vbmenu_popup" id="navbar_search_menu" style="display:none">
                          		<table cellpadding="4" cellspacing="1" border="0">
                          		<tr>[/color]

                          Comment

                          • Thug4Thug
                            Senior Member
                            • Jan 2004
                            • 980
                            • 3.0.3

                            #14
                            done thanx man
                            http://www.trudesi.com

                            Comment

                            • TedR719
                              Member
                              • Nov 2006
                              • 62

                              #15
                              I was looking for this forever (moving the navbar), thanks for the great post!
                              Last edited by TedR719; Wed 31 Jan '07, 1:59pm.

                              Comment

                              widgetinstance 262 (Related Topics) skipped due to lack of content & hide_module_if_empty option.
                              Working...