[mini release V2] hypercell

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • adrianmak
    Member
    • Dec 2000
    • 65

    [mini release V2] hypercell

    This is my first little hack of vb

    forumhome_forumbit_level2_post
    search for

    PHP Code:
    <td bgcolor="#58647c" align="left"><a href="forumdisplay.php?s=$session[sessionhash]&forumid=$forum[forumid]"><normalfont><b>$forum[title]</b></normalfont></a
    replace with
    PHP Code:
    <td bgcolor="#58647c" align="left" onMouseOver="this.style.backgroundColor='#394151'; this.style.cursor='hand';"  onMouseOut="this.style.backgroundColor='#58647c';" onclick="window.location.href='forumdisplay.php?s=$session[sessionhash]&forumid=$forum[forumid]'"><normalfont><b>$forum[title]</b></normalfont></a

    forumdisplaybit
    Search for
    PHP Code:
    <td bgcolor="#58647c" align="left" width="70%"><normalfont>$thread[gotonew$paperclip$thread[movedprefix]$thread[typeprefix]<a href="showthread.php?s=$session[sessionhash]&threadid=$thread[threadid]">$thread[title]</a></normalfont> <smallfont>$thread[pagenav]</smallfont></td
    replace with
    PHP Code:
    <td bgcolor="#58647c" align="left" width="70%" onMouseOver="this.style.backgroundColor='#394151'; this.style.cursor='hand';"  onMouseOut="this.style.backgroundColor='#58647c';" onclick="window.location.href='showthread.php?s=$session[sessionhash]&threadid=$thread[threadid]'"><normalfont>$thread[gotonew$paperclip$thread[movedprefix]$thread[typeprefix]<a href="showthread.php?s=$session[sessionhash]&threadid=$thread[threadid]">$thread[title]</a></normalfont> <smallfont>$thread[pagenav]</smallfont></td
    Demo
    this is a ubb board,but the function are the same

    hope u all enjoy
    Last edited by adrianmak; Sat 4 Aug '01, 6:33am.
  • smithy256

    #2
    what does it do?

    Comment

    • adrianmak
      Member
      • Dec 2000
      • 65

      #3
      Originally posted by smithy256
      what does it do?
      when your mouse rolls over the cell the cell's background changes color

      Comment

      • smithy256

        #4
        can u show me an example?

        Comment

        • almighty one
          Senior Member
          • Feb 2001
          • 392

          #5
          this is a pretty good looking option but when i do this i edit your colors to match mine of course but on the forum home display when you mouse over a link it turns the box grey then when you mouse over it again it turns it into the second alt color but then goes back to grey instaed of first alt color do you know why?
          http://www.danasoft.com/vipersig.jpg

          Comment

          • adrianmak
            Member
            • Dec 2000
            • 65

            #6
            intrustion

            Comment

            • Wayne Luke
              vBulletin Technical Support Lead
              • Aug 2000
              • 74154

              #7
              moved... This is a template edit not a hack.
              Translations provided by Google.

              Wayne Luke
              The Rabid Badger - a vBulletin Cloud demonstration site.
              vBulletin 5 API

              Comment

              • almighty one
                Senior Member
                • Feb 2001
                • 392

                #8
                ok now it only works in the showthreads and it doesnt work in forumhome
                http://www.danasoft.com/vipersig.jpg

                Comment

                • Maverick1236
                  Senior Member
                  • Apr 2001
                  • 346

                  #9
                  small problem

                  this works great-except now my users complain that although they love the hypercells-they cant right click to open the forums in a new window

                  any ideas?

                  thanks for your time

                  Comment

                  • Wayne Luke
                    vBulletin Technical Support Lead
                    • Aug 2000
                    • 74154

                    #10
                    Re: small problem

                    Originally posted by Maverick1236
                    this works great-except now my users complain that although they love the hypercells-they cant right click to open the forums in a new window

                    any ideas?

                    thanks for your time
                    Remove the onClick event handler from the TD tag. This will allow the color to continue changing and allow your members to right-click on valid URLs to open them in a new window.
                    Translations provided by Google.

                    Wayne Luke
                    The Rabid Badger - a vBulletin Cloud demonstration site.
                    vBulletin 5 API

                    Comment

                    • Maverick1236
                      Senior Member
                      • Apr 2001
                      • 346

                      #11
                      Thank You

                      Thank You WLuke for your timely and professional response!!

                      umm-i feel real stupid asking this-but what should that line of text look like with onclick removed-ive searched the forums -no luck

                      i gave it a shot, but then the links didnt work

                      thanks
                      Last edited by Maverick1236; Sat 4 Aug '01, 3:33pm.

                      Comment

                      • adrianmak
                        Member
                        • Dec 2000
                        • 65

                        #12
                        Re: Re: small problem

                        Originally posted by wluke


                        Remove the onClick event handler from the TD tag. This will allow the color to continue changing and allow your members to right-click on valid URLs to open them in a new window.
                        I have fixed cannot open in a new windows

                        in forumhome_forumbit_level2_post

                        find :
                        PHP Code:
                            <td bgcolor="{firstaltcolor}" align="left" onMouseOver="this.style.backgroundColor='{categorybackcolor}'; this.style.cursor='hand';"  onMouseOut="this.style.backgroundColor='{firstaltcolor}';" onclick="window.location.href='forumdisplay.php?s=$session[sessionhash]&forumid=$forum[forumid]'"
                        after it add :
                        PHP Code:
                        <a href="forumdisplay.php?s=$session[sessionhash]&forumid=$forum[forumid]"

                        the final code should be like this
                        PHP Code:
                        <td bgcolor="{firstaltcolor}" align="left" onMouseOver="this.style.backgroundColor='{categorybackcolor}'; this.style.cursor='hand';"  onMouseOut="this.style.backgroundColor='{firstaltcolor}';" onclick="window.location.href='forumdisplay.php?s=$session[sessionhash]&forumid=$forum[forumid]'"><a href="forumdisplay.php?s=$session[sessionhash]&forumid=$forum[forumid]"
                        Done

                        Comment

                        • Wayne Luke
                          vBulletin Technical Support Lead
                          • Aug 2000
                          • 74154

                          #13
                          If you just add that to the default template, it will produce invalid HTML code which will break in some browsers, prevent your site from being spidered and is against accessibility guidelines.


                          Valid code would have you replace the TD tag with:
                          Code:
                          <td bgcolor="{first altcolor}" align="left" width="70%" onMouseOver="this.style.backgroundColor='#394151';"  onMouseOut="this.style.backgroundColor='{first altcolor}';">
                          This is valid accessible code that will allow all browsers to create proper links and allow you to have multiple links in a table cell if you want.
                          Translations provided by Google.

                          Wayne Luke
                          The Rabid Badger - a vBulletin Cloud demonstration site.
                          vBulletin 5 API

                          Comment

                          • BradC
                            Senior Member
                            • May 2001
                            • 510

                            #14
                            Seems so simple.. but does not seem to work with v2.0.3 lol

                            I know it has to be me.. I need some sleep

                            Comment

                            • Dakota
                              Senior Member
                              • Feb 2001
                              • 135

                              #15
                              Its not working in the forum home. Only in the threadlist.

                              Also it would be nice if the user could have the option of turning them off in their CP.
                              Last edited by Dakota; Wed 8 Aug '01, 9:42am.
                              Bid For Power - Bid For Power Forums
                              =======================
                              Anime Academy - Anime Academy Forums

                              Comment

                              widgetinstance 262 (Related Topics) skipped due to lack of content & hide_module_if_empty option.
                              Working...