• Show
Clear All
  • eddy102293
    • Mar 2009

Windows or Linux Hosting?

Which should I choose for vBulletin?
  • Reeve of Shinra
    • Sep 2001

Linux is generally cheaper and you will find more support since more people (here) are using it.
    Plan, Do, Check, Act!

Comment

• eddy102293
      • Mar 2009

Price is not a problem.

Comment

• Supramania
        • Mar 2006

You're going to get a lot more out of your hardware with a *nix based solution.
        sigpic
        http://www.supramania.com 4.17 Suite
        http://www.mkiiitech.com 3.8.5

Comment

• Scott
          • Apr 2001
          • 3.7.x

I've been running linux servers since 1996 and have no desire to get involved with a windows box. Why? Windows is closed source and from my experiences not as stable as linux.

If you choose linux and have the opportunity to order your own processor the Intel "Gainstown" series is great.

Comment

• ShyGuy82
            • Feb 2007

I will have to disagree. I have been running Windows servers for YEARS. I have sites in PHP and ASP.NET running side by side with not problems. Currently running Windows 2008 Web Edition with QUAD Core CPU and 8GB ram....it runs great, last time I had to reboot the server is when I installed windows update (about 9 months ago). Its a typical response from *nix people. I use Windows servers where appropriate. If I have to mix asp.net with PHP...If you have PHP only, I agree that you will get more support on *nix based servers because linux dominates when it comes to PHP. But if you have a mixed environment, Win 2008 with FastCGI is just as fast as linux. I see absolutely no difference in terms of speed or stability.
            Speed up your member list page by at least 5x (4.x.x)

http://nicknameregister.com/files/20...0/ShyGuy82.jpg

Comment

• Shamil.
              • Feb 2008
              • 4.2.X