Content Encoding Error

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • gosborne
    Senior Member
    • Jun 2006
    • 107
    • 4.0.x

    Content Encoding Error

    Hello

    If I try and load a page from the my main vbullletin for example:



    I am faced with an error in firefox like this

    Content Encoding Error
    The page you are trying to view cannot be shown because it uses an invalid or unsupported form of compression.


    I've not changed any settings on vbulletin or in the cpanel, and my other vbulletin forum at http://www.planningtomarry.com loads up okay.

    It was working fine this morning and about 10.00am a moderator emailed me to say she was getting errors.

    Looking forward to finding out what the problem is

    cheers
  • Wayne Luke
    vBulletin Technical Support Lead
    • Aug 2000
    • 74123

    #2
    You are GZIPPING the output twice. Probably on the webserver level and in vBulletin. Turn off GZIP in vBulletin under vBulletin Options -> Cookie and HTTP Header Optimizations...

    Could be that your hosting provider added a gzipping module today in order to cut down their bandwidth costs.
    Translations provided by Google.

    Wayne Luke
    The Rabid Badger - a vBulletin Cloud demonstration site.
    vBulletin 5 API

    Comment

    • Steve Machol
      Former Customer Support Manager
      • Jul 2000
      • 154488

      #3
      First, try turning GZIP off here:

      Admin CP -> vBulletin Options -> Cookies and HTTP Header Options -> GZIP HTML Output -> No

      Sometimes this problem is caused when your server is already using GZIP and by turning this on in vB you were double compressing. This causes problems with some pages but not others. It also happens to some people and not others.
      Steve Machol, former vBulletin Customer Support Manager (and NOT retired!)
      Change CKEditor Colors to Match Style (for 4.1.4 and above)

      Steve Machol Photography


      Mankind is the only creature smart enough to know its own history, and dumb enough to ignore it.


      Comment

      • gosborne
        Senior Member
        • Jun 2006
        • 107
        • 4.0.x

        #4
        I can get to the admincp login page, but once I log in, it gets the same error so I cant change anything.

        Comment

        • Steve Machol
          Former Customer Support Manager
          • Jul 2000
          • 154488

          #5
          If you cannot log into your Admin CP, you can run these queries in the SQL tab in phpMyAdmin:

          UPDATE setting SET value = '0' WHERE varname = 'gzipoutput';

          UPDATE datastore SET data=REPLACE(data,'s:10:"gzipoutput";i:1;','s:10:"gzipoutput";i:0;') WHERE title='options';

          Or you can also edit config.php and add DEFINE('NOZIP', 1) right under the <?php line to disable GZIP.
          Steve Machol, former vBulletin Customer Support Manager (and NOT retired!)
          Change CKEditor Colors to Match Style (for 4.1.4 and above)

          Steve Machol Photography


          Mankind is the only creature smart enough to know its own history, and dumb enough to ignore it.


          Comment

          • gosborne
            Senior Member
            • Jun 2006
            • 107
            • 4.0.x

            #6
            Originally posted by Steve Machol

            Or you can also edit config.php and add DEFINE('NOZIP', 1) right under the <?php line to disable GZIP.
            I've done this but am now greeted with a

            Code:
             [B]Parse error[/B]:  syntax error, unexpected T_VARIABLE in [B]/home/1234/public_html/community/includes/config.php[/B] on line [B]28[/B]
            should I try the phpmyadmin method or will this do the same

            thanks for the fast responses btw

            Comment

            • Mr_Butter
              Senior Member
              • Apr 2005
              • 1178

              #7
              try adding a ; (semicolon) at the end of DEFINE('NOZIP', 1)

              Comment

              • Steve Machol
                Former Customer Support Manager
                • Jul 2000
                • 154488

                #8
                That's correct. My bad.
                Steve Machol, former vBulletin Customer Support Manager (and NOT retired!)
                Change CKEditor Colors to Match Style (for 4.1.4 and above)

                Steve Machol Photography


                Mankind is the only creature smart enough to know its own history, and dumb enough to ignore it.


                Comment

                • gosborne
                  Senior Member
                  • Jun 2006
                  • 107
                  • 4.0.x

                  #9
                  added the semi colon , but still getting the initial error (content encoding error)

                  Comment

                  • Steve Machol
                    Former Customer Support Manager
                    • Jul 2000
                    • 154488

                    #10
                    Then try running those queries.
                    Steve Machol, former vBulletin Customer Support Manager (and NOT retired!)
                    Change CKEditor Colors to Match Style (for 4.1.4 and above)

                    Steve Machol Photography


                    Mankind is the only creature smart enough to know its own history, and dumb enough to ignore it.


                    Comment

                    • gosborne
                      Senior Member
                      • Jun 2006
                      • 107
                      • 4.0.x

                      #11
                      run the queries, now getting this:

                      Database error in vBulletin 3.7.0:

                      Invalid SQL:

                      INSERT IGNORE INTO bnvbsession
                      (sessionhash, userid, host, idhash, lastactivity, location, styleid, languageid, loggedin, inforum, inthread, incalendar, badlocation, useragent, bypass, profileupdate)
                      VALUES
                      ('deleted', 1, '79.65.16.171', 'deleted', deleted, '/xindex.php', 0, 0, 1, 0, 0, 0, 0, 'Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; U; PPC Mac OS X 10.4; en-US; rv:1.9.0.1) Gecko/2008070206 Firefox/3.0.1', 0, 0);

                      MySQL Error : The table 'bnvbsession' is full
                      Error Number : 1114
                      Request Date : Thursday, July 24th 2008 @ 01:45:29 PM
                      Error Date : Thursday, July 24th 2008 @ 01:45:30 PM
                      Script : http://community.basenotes.net/xindex.php
                      Referrer :
                      IP Address : 79.65.16.171
                      Username : Grant
                      Classname : vB_Database
                      MySQL Version : 5.0.51a-community

                      Comment

                      • Steve Machol
                        Former Customer Support Manager
                        • Jul 2000
                        • 154488

                        #12
                        Run this query:

                        DELETE FROM bnvbsession;

                        Then revert your footer template. You made a change somewhere that stopped the Scheduled Tasks from running and clearing out this table on a regular basis.

                        Also since you are using a table prefix, those queries should be:

                        UPDATE bnvbsetting SET value = '0' WHERE varname = 'gzipoutput';

                        UPDATE bnvbdatastore SET data=REPLACE(data,'s:10:"gzipoutput";i:1;','s:10:" gzipoutput";i:0;') WHERE title='options';
                        Steve Machol, former vBulletin Customer Support Manager (and NOT retired!)
                        Change CKEditor Colors to Match Style (for 4.1.4 and above)

                        Steve Machol Photography


                        Mankind is the only creature smart enough to know its own history, and dumb enough to ignore it.


                        Comment

                        • gosborne
                          Senior Member
                          • Jun 2006
                          • 107
                          • 4.0.x

                          #13
                          cool - i'll try that

                          Comment

                          • gosborne
                            Senior Member
                            • Jun 2006
                            • 107
                            • 4.0.x

                            #14
                            thanks worked a treat

                            Comment

                            • Steve Machol
                              Former Customer Support Manager
                              • Jul 2000
                              • 154488

                              #15
                              Glad to hear it.
                              Steve Machol, former vBulletin Customer Support Manager (and NOT retired!)
                              Change CKEditor Colors to Match Style (for 4.1.4 and above)

                              Steve Machol Photography


                              Mankind is the only creature smart enough to know its own history, and dumb enough to ignore it.


                              Comment

                              widgetinstance 262 (Related Topics) skipped due to lack of content & hide_module_if_empty option.
                              Working...