MySQL query help. How to change usergroupid for users with 0 posts AND 1 more thing?

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • biggazillakilla
    • Feb 2004

[Forum] MySQL query help. How to change usergroupid for users with 0 posts AND 1 more thing?

Background: I want to ban all members who have a URL in their profile and have 0 posts. So I am trying to change the usergroupid of all members who meet two criteria.

I'm new to MySQL, so I'm not sure how to query two different tables. I've tried various combinations, but none seem to work.

I've tried two queries, neither of which worked. Here they are:

Code:
    UPDATE
        user
    SET
        usergroupid = 8
    WHERE
        `user`.`posts` = '0',`userfield`.`field1` = 'www.example.com'
    No dice.
    Code:
    UPDATE
        user
    SET
        usergroupid = 8
    WHERE
        `user`.`posts` = '0'
    AND
        `userfield`.`field1` = 'www.example.com'
    Also didn't work.

Can you let me know where I'm going wrong? Or what terms to search for?

Thanks!

(Note: I'm changing a bit of information in the above, but the idea is the same.)
  • Wayne Luke
    vBulletin Technical Support Lead
    • Aug 2000

The Homepage URL is stored in the user table in the homepage field. The userfield table stores Custom User Profile Fields. The default for field1 is the Biography field.

UPDATE user SET usergroupid = 8 WHERE posts = 0 AND LENGTH(homepage) > 0;
    Translations provided by Google.

Wayne Luke
    The Rabid Badger - a vBulletin Cloud demonstration site.
    vBulletin 5 API

Comment

• biggazillakilla
      • Feb 2004

Originally posted by Wayne Luke
      The Homepage URL is stored in the user table in the homepage field. The userfield table stores Custom User Profile Fields. The default for field1 is the Biography field.

UPDATE user SET usergroupid = 8 WHERE posts = 0 AND LENGTH(homepage) > 0;