Can a VBulletin Site be upgraded and brought back to life?

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • The_Boaphile
    • Aug 2013
    • 5.5.x

Can a VBulletin Site be upgraded and brought back to life?

After several years of not maintaining my site, I would like to get it working and functional again. I am not tech savvy enough to do this myself even if it is possible. I have redtailboas.com using VBulletin 4.1.7. The site is broken and does not function. Can the site be upgraded? I would need a professional to do the tech work. I would be willing to loose all data going back to when it was functional. Including members, posts, everything if the site I had say 5 years ago could be brought back and upgraded. Is this realistic? Thank you.
  • In Omnibus
    • Apr 2010

Google is flagging that site as deceptive. Has it been hacked?

Comment

• Wayne Luke
      vBulletin Technical Support Lead
      • Aug 2000

You can upgrade the site to vBulletin 4.2.5 (there would be a cost of $149.00 to upgrade from your vB3 license). Or vBulletin 5.4.3 (there would be a cost of $209 to upgrade your vB3 license).

Either of these would allow you to upgrade the software so it will operate on a more modern server. Once you upgrade, we can help you secure it and remove any exploits or malware that is present.
      Translations provided by Google.

Wayne Luke
      The Rabid Badger - a vBulletin Cloud demonstration site.
      vBulletin 5 API

Comment

• The_Boaphile
        • Aug 2013
        • 5.5.x

I do not know what "hacked" means in this context. If I did know what that meant, I really don't know what the answer would be. I don't know to what extent it is broken.

Comment

• The_Boaphile
          • Aug 2013
          • 5.5.x

Originally posted by Wayne Luke
          You can upgrade the site to vBulletin 4.2.5 (there would be a cost of $149.00 to upgrade from your vB3 license). Or vBulletin 5.4.3 (there would be a cost of $209 to upgrade your vB3 license).