X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Tanea
    • Feb 2002

novice - advice appreciated

Greetings,

I have a few pre-purchase questions. (I do intend to buy). But first, maybe some background info about my experience (or lack thereof) would help:

I am going to purchase a VB license as a first step to the introduction of a new service I will be launching in the future. My hope initially is to create a community, and then, once I have a large enough audience, sell ad space, (similar to how sitepoint.com does) with advertisers sponsoring individual forums. The community will consist of business pro's in a specific market (entirely different from sitepoints) as well as the general public within the niche marketplace.

I am a complete novice when it comes to actually having a web site. I understand the basics of html but that's it. The only webmaster experience I have is via a template type site building/hosting service. I have never actually worked on the technical details of designing/developing or hosting a site.

I live in a very small rural area where DSL is outrageously expensive so I get my internet connection through a local provider via a modem connection.

I am currently planning on having my ISP host my site. My Internet provider tells me it will be no problem to run VB (he has read the VB faq) but that he would need to set up the database interface once I have the VB program, and most likely the initial setup ( setting up the Database, making sure everything is pointing to the right places and working, etc.) should not be more than $50.

What I would like to know is, should I be charged for this or do hosts generally already have this set up? Also, are there any other questions I should be asking him?

Keeping in mind that I am new to all of this, (said because even to me this question sounds silly) but I'll ask anyway: