Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • xtreme2k
    • Mar 2002

Help: mod_gzip module in apache interfers with vbulletin

I dont know what but if I enable the mod_gzip module in apache, my vbulletin message board doesnt work properly. Sometimes it links to the wrong page, sometimes it ask for password for no reason, unable to upload attachments and avatars. However, if I remove mod_gzip from apache, everything works perfectly. But then I do want to save some bandwidth as the gzip module does make the html sent MUCH smaller (20k -> 4k - in general).

I know that gzip can be enabled thru php. But then I dont seem to get it work. Everytime it is enable, IE will not open the file, instead it ask you to save the file. I think I might have misunderstood zlib being different from gzip. But then there doesnt seem to be where I can find help in.

I am a new webmaster and currently unable to find the purchased password and member code so that I can get help from the vbulletin.com. The copy has been purchased quite a while ago and the old webmaster has quit. I hope someone has the knowledge here.

---
    Edit: Dont worry about replying to this. I will purchase a copy of VB in a few days on my behalf and post this question in the right forum.
    Last edited by xtreme2k; Tue 26 Mar '02, 2:14am.
  • tubedogg
    • Feb 2001

By using mod_gzip and turning GZip on in vBulletin, you are double-compressing the pages. Since you already use mod_gzip you can leave GZip in vB off.

Comment

• xtreme2k
      • Mar 2002

Thanks very much for replying. I didnt expect this to get any replies.

I did not enable both the PHP gzip and the Apache at the same time. I tried apache gzip module, then what happens was incorrect linked pages, password asked all over the place, attachments unable to be uploaded, unable to save chages in vb admin.