Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Beermonster
    • Mar 2004

Vbulletin 5, is it worth it?

I've been using VB for many years, the last install I used was VB4 then I moved to Xenforo which is a good bit of software but I don't know if I want to use it on a new forum I'm starting, is VB5 much better than VB4? should I just stick with my VB4 licence or upgrade? of not get another xenforo licence?

I know asking this question on the VB forum I'm going to get a bias answer, xenforo is cheaper but will I get more for my money?
  • Brad Padgett
    • Jul 2014
    • 5.1.x

Originally posted by Beermonster
    I've been using VB for many years, the last install I used was VB4 then I moved to Xenforo which is a good bit of software but I don't know if I want to use it on a new forum I'm starting, is VB5 much better than VB4? should I just stick with my VB4 licence or upgrade? of not get another xenforo licence?

I know asking this question on the VB forum I'm going to get a bias answer, xenforo is cheaper but will I get more for my money?
    If you can get a good style/theme for vb5 it's definitely worth it.
    "Do not go where the path may lead, instead go where there is no path and leave a trail." - Ralph Waldo Emerson

Comment

• Replicant
      • Sep 2014

Stick with vb4 if you already have the license. VB5 has come a long way, but VB4 is still the most stable IMO. I run VB5 on my forum and have very few issues or complaints. You can just do more with vB4.

Comment

• Beermonster
        • Mar 2004

After doing a bit of research I think I will stick with VB4, the development seems very slow of VB5.

Comment

• Brad Padgett
          • Jul 2014
          • 5.1.x

Originally posted by Beermonster
          After doing a bit of research I think I will stick with VB4, the development seems very slow of VB5.

I have to admit there isn't much development at all with vb5. There hasn't even been a new feature since 5.1.5