X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Autopilot
    Banned
    • Feb 2010

VB 5 Connect CMS

CMS is the fundamental backbone of any forum program. Without Content Management the content of a forum is disorganized and helter skelter making the content harder to manage when there is lots of it. Why would you put the cart before the horse with the release of VB5 and no clear schedule for the release of a very important component? Why are you charging full price for only half the product with a vague promise of some future release of the CMS? Seems to me there should be a discount in place here to purchase half the product.
  • mickreid
    • Jan 2011
    • 4.0.x

Hopefully they just want to do it right this time. The CMS on VB4 was not fit for purpose.

As a programmer myself I prefer to get BETAs out early because there are a million different environmental variables that will cause all sorts of issues and you are never going to find them all without employing a massive QA team - which would increase the cost of the end product. Also it gives me time to put up a test version of VB5 myself, work through all the migration bugs and work on the design while the VB team are polishing it off - otherwise in 6 months time when it's in a production ready state I'd be starting all this stuff fresh and be 6 months behind...

Comment

• TheLastSuperman
      • Sep 2008

We provide you the chance to purchase vB5 in order to become acquainted with it as-is, your free to install and run vBulletin 4 under the 5 license though considering the current vBulletin 5 Connect is still in Beta. The reason why it seems like half a product and the cart before the horse is the fact again that, this is still a Beta product.