Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • JRW7072009
    • Jan 2014

Looking to migrate from phpBB

Hey all, I am a noob when it comes to forums and web stuff but I am trying to learn.

I own a forum on phpBB and correct me if I am wrong but from what I have read I can migrate my users and content to vBulletin but I will have some broken links and such. What I am wondering is if I migrate my forum can I just archive everything from php and start fresh with vBulletin?

I would like to keep everything or as much as I can from the old forum but start new. This way my members could still access there threads, most of my active members have vehicle build threads that get added to a often. So they would like to transfer them over or copy them when I make the switch.

Any help with this would be appreciated!

Thank you
  • beishe8
    • Oct 2005
    • 4.2.X

Originally posted by JRW7072009

I own a forum on phpBB and correct me if I am wrong but from what I have read I can migrate my users and content to vBulletin but I will have some broken links and such. What I am wondering is if I migrate my forum can I just archive everything from php and start fresh with vBulletin?

I would like to keep everything or as much as I can from the old forum but start new. This way my members could still access there threads, most of my active members have vehicle build threads that get added to a often. So they would like to transfer them over or copy them when I make the switch.
    All the threads and posts will be there.
    Current links to them will not work after the migration.

Passwords will be lost.

vB5 is unequivocally the best forum software, but not yet...

Comment

• BirdOPrey5
      • Jul 2008

You can "close" the forums after importing them so no new posts can be made, they will effectively be archived. You will need to create new forums then for people to post in. You can create copies of threads and put them in different forums.