Can I install VB on my test server and later on the production server? Without paying 2 times.

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Guido64
    • Sep 2013

Can I install VB on my test server and later on the production server? Without paying 2 times.

Hello,

I'm totally new to VB our foundation still uses the very old PHPNuke with PHPbb2 package. I'm thinking to update our website/forum to something new and modern. I played a bit with the VB demo and i think it might be the best options for what we need. One thing I would like to know is if I can install VB on my test.myPerosnaloDomain.net and later wen finished setting everyting up transfer everything to our "production" domain.

This way we always have a working backup and a place were i can fiddle around on the website before prublishing it to our users.
  • Zachery
    Former vBulletin Support
    • Jul 2002

A test installation for development is permitted via the license agreement.

Comment

• DemOnstar
      • Nov 2012

It is best that you do set it up on a test environment. That way you can play around with it and get to know it...

Do keep in mind that it should not be viewable to the public if you are using the same license for 4.2.1 for example or any other version that is live on the same license..

1 license = one installation of the vB repertoire..

Localhost works for me...

Comment

• Guido64
        • Sep 2013

Thank you for your reactions and information.

My test server is basicly open to the Internet if you know the URL wich is not advertised or anything its just to show other members of the board of our foundation how the test site or some modification I did looks like before adding it to the "production" site. To me, to us this is important because we want to run our production site without technical problems for our regular members.