X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • wildhearet
    • Jun 2011

Pre-buy questions

I want to buy the 4.0 Forum license.

> Is F5 Hosting compatible and reliable.
    > I am looking at going with the Silver package, is it enough for this software to run fast. http://www.f5hosting.com/plans.php (It is a small non-profitable forum.)
    > Do I first have to buy from F5 and then the vbulletin or the other way around?
    > I have no experience whatsoever, what type of support do I need to set it up?
    > Anybody here speaking Afrikaans?

Thanks for the help.
  • wildhearet
    • Jun 2011

I cant believe that nobody can even answer 1 question? How must I trust that there will be support after the purchase?

Comment

• Trevor Hannant
      vBulletin Support
      • Aug 2002
      • 5.7.X

Originally posted by wildhearet
      I want to buy the 4.0 Forum license.

> Is F5 Hosting compatible and reliable.
      > I am looking at going with the Silver package, is it enough for this software to run fast. http://www.f5hosting.com/plans.php (It is a small non-profitable forum.)
      No. vBulletin requires a web server that includes PHP (minimum version 5.2) and MySQL (minimum 4.1.0) installed. As long as you choose a host that meets these requirements you will be able to install and run our software.

Most credible hosts now support both PHP and MySQL, and can run our software. We do not make official recommendations, but we do have a hosting review forum here:

Discuss PHP and MySQL hosting here. Find out which hosts people like, and which to stay well clear of.

You can also look at http://www.webhostingtalk.com, an independent review site. Sometimes you will find hosting specials there that aren't available elsewhere on the web.

> Do I first have to buy from F5 and then the vbulletin or the other way around?