I have a few questions before I purchase a vB.

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • GaminGuruCom
    • Dec 2001

I have a few questions before I purchase a vB.

First of all, I hope I'm not breaking any kind of rules and registering here before I purchase my vB. I'm planning on getting one soon and would like a few questions answered.

1) Are the vB programmers very active, and give out upgrades every few weeks or sooner. I am currently an admin of an ikonboard and am quite used to seeing newer versions with added features/fixes/revisions coming out frequently. I just wanted know if it was the same here.

2) As I said in the above question, I am the admin of an ikonboard. Well, I'm wondering if there is a way to transfer the database from there to a vB without screwing up things like the stats of the forums. (total posts, members, profiles, login details, ect.)

3) This is more of a statement, but I hope the support and the hacking community here are better than iB.

I thank you ahead of time for answering my questions.

~Henry
    Last edited by GaminGuruCom; Sun 2 Dec '01, 8:52pm.
  • JamesUS
    • Aug 2000

1. We (Developers and Moderators) are very active - though new versions aren't quite as frequent as other programs as we like to ensure the quality of the release. At the moment, a big new version (vB 3) is in fairly early stages of development so there won't be a release for a few months.

2. I don't know which version you're running but there is an official converter in the works for v2 and I believe there is an unofficial one already out at vBulletin.org (our code hacking community). Again I believe there is a v3 unofficial one around there somewhere as well.

3. Our code hacking community is at vBulletin.org - take a look, it speaks for itself

Hope that helps

Comment

• GaminGuruCom
      • Dec 2001

Ok, thank you for answering my questions so fast.

Is there a site that installs the software for free? $135 is just too much.

~Henry

Comment