X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • JasonStixBuckley
    • Aug 2009

Possible New User: Questions about Drupal combining

Good morning.

I have managed forum programs from the old UBB to Fusetalk to FusionBB. One I haven't used is vB, however, for a project I am looking into, I have been referred that vB might be the way to go.

First, I will say that I usually handle the management of the website and really do not have extensive knowledge with some mods of sites to do what is desired. I have put in a few modifications to my current FBB program for my needs, but nothing too crazy.

The current project that I am looking into will require a content management system, customized to my needs. I have zero experience with CMS (except using a custom one back about seven years ago, not setting one up), so I am probably going to hire someone to set it up the way I need it. Due to the fact that I want a solid community with this website, I have done some research, and it seems that Drupal with vB integration is the way to go.

So, with this, I have a few questions:

1) In doing some research, I have seen that some are using Drupal with vB, while others are using vbdrupal. What is the difference, and which is preferred?

2) Is there a master list somewhere of top-notch sites using this integration?

3) I possibly might want to convert in my FusionBB database into this new system. Is there a converter for that or does anyone have any experience doing so? I am not sure if I want everything converted, or just the user info (login, display name, post total, email address and misc user info … not the topics or whatnot).

4) Is it possible for each forum within vB to have it’s own custom forum header image? For instance: www.motorsportslounge.com/reedsorenson

5) Is it possible within vB / Drupal to have paid access to certain things? For instance, have many forums that are open to any registered user to post to, but have others that are only for paid members to post to?