Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • petergar
    • Feb 2008

Grandious Community Site... need some advice

(NOTE: I asked the same basic questions below on vbadvanced.com - I made the incorrect assumption that it was the same company... duh.)

GOOD: I have run a large forum for a non-profit organization since 1997 when it was using the Frontpage forum tool (ahh the good old days). I've been running UBBThreads for 9 years and it's fine. The forum has over 600,000 posts, 80 forums, 25,000 registered users and over 200 posts a day.

BAD: The club has a specific mission that prevents me from opening up the forum to a more broad range of similar hobbyists.

OPPORTUNITY: I have the opportunity to start a commercial community site to the same audience. I want to create a more robust community. ie. user contributed lists of club, club events, forums, photos, blogs, articles, etc.

I don't want to get into a massive development cycle. (I can spell PHP, but just barely). I'm highly impressed by tools like VBulletin, plus its 3rd party add-on's including Photopost, VB VBadvanced, etc. They appear to be the shortest path of getting the site up and running without spending a lot of money or time.

1. Will i get a single login/password for all area's of the site? Does it/should it support openid.org?

2. What about tools like Joomla, Drupal or VBAdvanced? Any reason to consider one over the other?

3. I need to build a database of regional clubs that is searchable - how?

4. I need an advanced user-submitted Events calendar. Is the one in VB up to the task? (Example: There are 1000s of regional events, most people only want to see events close to them)

5. I want the site SEO friendly. Are tools like http://www.crawlability.com/vbseo/ needed?

6. Can this be hosting ok on a service like HostGator or will I need something dedicated?

7. What are the technical issues of migrating from ubbthreads (7.x) to VB?