Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Chris1234
    • Jan 2008

Please help me I'm a newb.

If i wanted to make a forums website how much would it cost me besides the $160? This includes all the software that I may need and all the other things required to make a good website.
  • Onimua
    • Apr 2005

You'd need to purchase a domain (from GoDaddy or Namecheap I think is two of the more preferred companies), and then purchase a server to host your site on (if you're just starting, then I would suggest going for a simple Shared Hosting package unless you're expecting a large amount of traffic in a short amount of time).
    Congratulations on the death of vBulletin, Internet Brands.

Comment

• Chris1234
      • Jan 2008

Thanks for the quick reply, if i get a simple shared hosting package and my forums grow will i be able to change to a different server?

Comment

• Onimua
        • Apr 2005

Of course. You might need to backup your database, and upload it onto the new server/transfer files, or your host could do it for you; in any case, you can move to a new server or host when you need to.

Comment

• Chris1234
          • Jan 2008

Ok so from what I understand I need to get a domain name, then I need to get a webhoster, then I need to buy the lisence to vbulletin and then I will have everything I need? If I'm wrong please tell me what all I need to do.

Comment

• Onimua
            • Apr 2005

Pretty much; just make sure that the host has PHP and MySQL installed and you should be set.

Comment

• Chazel
              • Nov 2007

If you're a beginner, I'd recommend using a company like SiteGround to avoid the hassle of pointing your domain to your server, etc. It's really quite easy if you use a company that includes both the domain and hosting in the same package.

Comment

• Chris1234
                • Jan 2008

I'm pretty sure site5 has PHP and MySQL. Am I right?

Comment

• Onimua
                  • Apr 2005

Originally posted by chaselafon