Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • NYU02
    • Aug 2004

Before I buy - Quick Video Question

I'm all set to purchase vBulletin and just had a quick question about some features that im not sure if they are included:

In my forum I want users to have the ability to upload video in their posts. Is that possible? If so, how easy is it? Can they make their own videos or do they have to pull them from YouTube?

I am a novice when it comes to computers so the most elementary explanation and details on how to accomplish this would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you very much for your insight,
    NYU02
  • Colin F
    • May 2004

Hi

Users can upload videos through the attachment system, but they won't play inline like at youtube.com.
    Best Regards
    Colin Frei

Please don't contact me per PM.

Comment

• MRGTB
      • May 2005

There is a custom uTube BBCode here somewhere that you can add to play them in posts. I tried it and it works fine

Comment

• ---MAD---
        • Jun 2005
        • 3.8.x

Originally posted by MRGTB
        There is a custom uTube BBCode here somewhere that you can add to play them in posts. I tried it and it works fine
        I have heard that causes security issues?

Comment

• MRGTB
          • May 2005

ah, I didn't know that

Comment

• NYU02
            • Aug 2004

thank you everyone for your speedy replies:

A couple of follow up questions:

1) What do you mean they won't play inline like in youtube. A use can upload or link a video from youtube and it will or won't play in the post?

Is it just a simple button in the software that says "upload video here" or is it a complicated procedure?

Thanks,
            NYU02

Comment

• MRGTB
              • May 2005

If you post a URL link to play it in a new browser from there site, yes.

But there was some BBCode that would let you play the video from within your own post on your own forum. And you didn't upload anything. It just played it in your posts taken from there site