X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Forum Dude
    • Feb 2006
    • 5.5.x

vbulletin: Run an Invision

Some qestions I had, to see if I should convert..

1. Are old version still able to be used?
    2. Are any versions currently free, but are more powerful than an InvisionFree board that's current?
    3. On the Admin Demos, you can't acess SQL query, and something right below it. Why is that, and what do they do?
    4. What are the codes for the vbulletin site/forum? I'm trying to start a personal web page/forum type thing.
    5. Finally, to host a domain (EX.
    Code:
    [URL="http://www.elaugh.com"]www.elaugh.com[/URL]
    ) you need to purchase it? And I mean a domain, totally up to you. And can you do this with vbulletin?

I'm new to vbulletin-like running one-but I am a member of a vb forum and wanted to find these out.
  • Floris
    • Dec 2001

Hello,

1- When you buy a license you currently still get access to download the latest version 2.x, 3.0.x and 3.5.x

2- No, we have no discounted or free versions. The only discount I can offer you is if you purchase multiple licenses at the same time. Our script costs money because it is written by professional developers for professional web site owners. That's what makes it so powerful.

3- This is done to prevent hackers to try and abuse the system. When you are the owner of your own license you will have full access to all the features and options of the software.

4- What codes are you referring to? vBulletin is written in PHP - www.php.net and stores the data in a MySQL database - www.mysql.com

5- Yes, we only offer the bulletin board system software we call vBulletin. We currently do not offer domain name registration or hosting solution services. You can use any domain you want with vBulletin license. You can also change it at any point. Upon purchase a domain name is not required. No, you can not register a domain with vBulletin.