• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Kensino
    • Sep 2007
    • 3.8.x

Installing

OK,

Now I want to install my vB on my home computer and not on the internet. Normally I just upload the folder to the webhost and type in the URL, but what do I need to do to get it working on my computer. What do I need to download?

Should I install it on a Linux or Windows computer? I am using Vista right now. But I have another computer I can install Linux on but I don't know where to get Linux or how to install it. I've never used it before.

Where do I get the newest version of Linux? Is it really free?
  • Steve Machol
    Former Customer Support Manager
    • Jul 2000

You could do that, but that means you will have to install the following server applications on your PC:

- A Web Server
    - PHP
    - MySQL

Here is one option to do that:

Note: We do not provide support for setting up servers. vBulletin requires a web server that includes PHP (minimum version 4.3.3) and MySQL (minimum 4.0.16) installed. As long as you have a host or server that meets these requirements you will be able to install and run our software.
    Steve Machol, former vBulletin Customer Support Manager (and NOT retired!)
    Change CKEditor Colors to Match Style (for 4.1.4 and above)

Steve Machol Photography

Mankind is the only creature smart enough to know its own history, and dumb enough to ignore it.

Comment

• Kensino
      • Sep 2007
      • 3.8.x

I don't want a server. I'm taking some computer programming classes and I want to use the forum as my notebook. So I don't have to use paper. I can put all my code examples and notes in vB and then I can search them easily. I'm not making a server for other people to use. I just want to know how to install on my computer.

I'm using Vista

Comment

• Steve Machol
        • Jul 2000

If you want to install vB on your computer, you need to turn it into a web server.

Steve Machol Photography