Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How Do I Prevent Random "Useless" Users?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How Do I Prevent Random "Useless" Users?

Hello, I have had vBulletin on my message board:

www.Cheap-Information.co.uk

For around 3 months now, I paid a hell of alot of money for the software. The reason I did this was because I was getting an increasing amount of both spam users and spam posts. I thought that vBulletin would wipe this out.

But every day I get several users signing up with no real reason, they have random, random email addresses and are obviously not signing up to the site for the correct reasons. Please can I ask why there are things that do this, when they don't post and have no sort of advertisment on their profiles?

It is very annoying having these users there, I see that most other forums do not have this same problem. I have updated to the newest version.

I am pretty new to this sort of thing and got someone else to do it for me as I have no real idea with this sort of thing.

So please, is there anyway of getting rid of these annoying users signing up and having only "real" users who sign up? I am guessing it is some sort of bot or something but I have no real idea. I suppose it could be a bloody bored chap though.

Any advice would be much appreciated! Thank you in advance.

You are using Simple Font image verification. This won't keep them all out. You need to use Truetype.

See this thread:
    http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/showthread.php?t=211647
    Translations provided by Google.

Wayne Luke
    The Rabid Badger - a vBulletin Cloud customization and demonstration site.
    vBulletin 5 Documentation - Updated every Friday. Report issues here.
    vBulletin 5 API - Full / Mobile
    I am not currently available for vB Messenger Chats.

Comment