Hide subforum on forum home, but display on forum display?

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • dbirosel
    Senior Member
    • Feb 2007
    • 146
    • 3.6.x

    Hide subforum on forum home, but display on forum display?

    The only way i know is setting the forum display order at 0. But doing that hides the forum on forum home and forum display. Is there a way to hide it on forum home but display on forumdisplay?
  • Jose Amaral Rego
    Senior Member
    • Feb 2005
    • 11058
    • 1.1.x

    #2
    How To Make Forum Depth Greater Than '2' by Steve Machol
    • Forum Listings Display Options
      Depth of Forums - Forum Home = 3
    • Depth to show forums on forum home forum listings. If you set this value to '2', forum listings will show the current forum level and any child forums one level below (etc.)

    • Depth of Forums - Forum Display = 1
      This setting does the same job as the setting above, but this time for forumdisplay.php pages, rather than forum home.

    • Depth of Sub-Forums = 1
      If you have forums below the depth specified in the 'Depth of Forums' settings above, you can display them as sub-forum links in each forum's display area.

      Set this value to 0 if you want to display no sub-forums.

    Comment

    • feldon23
      Senior Member
      • Nov 2001
      • 11291
      • 3.7.x

      #3
      Not sure how that helps him. He wants to HIDE the forum, not show more depth.

      If you want to hide one forum as a special case, then I suppose you could do a template conditional.

      Comment

      • peterska2
        Senior Member
        • Oct 2003
        • 8869
        • 3.7.x

        #4
        Where is the forum displayed currently? Is it directly below a category or a sub forum (as in category > forum > subforum)?

        Comment

        • Jose Amaral Rego
          Senior Member
          • Feb 2005
          • 11058
          • 1.1.x

          #5
          Originally posted by Kerry-Anne
          Where is the forum displayed currently? Is it directly below a category or a sub forum (as in category > forum > subforum)?
          This is site in question

          Comment

          • peterska2
            Senior Member
            • Oct 2003
            • 8869
            • 3.7.x

            #6
            I still need to know which forum as it could be any of them on that site.

            Comment

            • dbirosel
              Senior Member
              • Feb 2007
              • 146
              • 3.6.x

              #7
              Originally posted by Kerry-Anne
              Where is the forum displayed currently? Is it directly below a category or a sub forum (as in category > forum > subforum)?
              Yes, that is correct.

              Comment

              • peterska2
                Senior Member
                • Oct 2003
                • 8869
                • 3.7.x

                #8
                To hide all subforums on forumhome, change the following setting

                AdminCP > vBulletin Options > vBulletin Options > Forum Listing Display Options > Depth of Sub-Forums > 0

                To hide one particular subforum only, you will need to edit the forumhome_subforumbit_post and forumhome_subforumbit_nopost templates to include the following conditional which surrounds the entire template contents

                <if condition="$forumid != x">
                existing template contents
                </if>

                x is the forumid number of the forum you do not wish to have displayed.

                Comment

                • dbirosel
                  Senior Member
                  • Feb 2007
                  • 146
                  • 3.6.x

                  #9
                  Originally posted by Kerry-Anne
                  To hide all subforums on forumhome, change the following setting

                  AdminCP > vBulletin Options > vBulletin Options > Forum Listing Display Options > Depth of Sub-Forums > 0

                  To hide one particular subforum only, you will need to edit the forumhome_subforumbit_post and forumhome_subforumbit_nopost templates to include the following conditional which surrounds the entire template contents

                  <if condition="$forumid != x">
                  existing template contents
                  </if>

                  x is the forumid number of the forum you do not wish to have displayed.
                  if i have more than one to hide, do i just use commas for each forum id? And placing that conditional, in the beginning of the templates? and then wrapping the </if> in the bottom?

                  Comment

                  • Jose Amaral Rego
                    Senior Member
                    • Feb 2005
                    • 11058
                    • 1.1.x

                    #10
                    Code:
                    <if condition="!in_array($forumid, array(X,Y,Z))"></if>

                    -----------------
                    Did not notice, but here is a link 'Vbulletin Conditionals'

                    Other references located in vBulletin documentations.
                    Styles & Templates / vBulletin 3 Style Reference / Templates / Template Conditionals
                    Last edited by Jose Amaral Rego; Mon 14 May '07, 5:46pm. Reason: Added reference links

                    Comment

                    • tomatogirl
                      New Member
                      • Jan 2005
                      • 25
                      • 3.8.x

                      #11
                      This worked great (thank you!) except it leaves an extra comma where the hidden subforum is (see attached screenshot). Any idea how to eliminate the extra comma?
                      Attached Files
                      .:. Donna .:.

                      Comment

                      • tomatogirl
                        New Member
                        • Jan 2005
                        • 25
                        • 3.8.x

                        #12
                        I found what I needed in this thread. Worked perfectly.
                        .:. Donna .:.

                        Comment

                        • kpmedia
                          Member
                          • Aug 2007
                          • 42
                          • 3.8.x

                          #13
                          I've tried this several times now, and the subforum still shows up on the home forum list.
                          ~
                          ~ If you're using vB, you need a good host! Read my web hosting reviews.
                          ~
                          ~ Forum: Digital Video / Digital Photo / Web Design @ digitalFAQ.com
                          ~ Forum: DVD & Blu-ray Collecting @ TVPast.org
                          ~

                          Comment

                          • sortega
                            New Member
                            • Jul 2011
                            • 25
                            • 4.1.x

                            #14
                            Originally posted by peterska2
                            To hide all subforums on forumhome, change the following setting

                            AdminCP > vBulletin Options > vBulletin Options > Forum Listing Display Options > Depth of Sub-Forums > 0

                            To hide one particular subforum only, you will need to edit the forumhome_subforumbit_post and forumhome_subforumbit_nopost templates to include the following conditional which surrounds the entire template contents

                            <if condition="$forumid != x">
                            existing template contents
                            </if>

                            x is the forumid number of the forum you do not wish to have displayed.

                            This is a great tip to help locate the change that needs to be made - HOWEVER to get the desired affect you must change your Depth of Forums - Forum Home setting to "1" (it only shows 1 level of your forums rather than 2 or 3).

                            Comment

                            widgetinstance 262 (Related Topics) skipped due to lack of content & hide_module_if_empty option.
                            Working...