How to rotate out Soft Deletes?

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • Freddie Bingham
    Former vBulletin Developer
    • May 2000
    • 14057
    • 1.1.x

    #16
    They should probably get the same expiration option that thread redirects now receive.

    Comment

    • Smoothie
      Senior Member
      • Oct 2001
      • 250

      #17
      Originally posted by Freddie Bingham
      They should probably get the same expiration option that thread redirects now receive.
      Is there an option or setting in the admin cp for that?

      Comment

      • Jake Bunce
        Senior Member
        • Dec 2000
        • 46598
        • 3.6.x

        #18
        There is no such option that I can see.

        You can prune soft deleted posts by username if you use the Prune by Username option, but I see no option to delete all soft deleted posts.

        Comment

        • mikeinjersey
          Senior Member
          • Apr 2005
          • 369

          #19
          Originally posted by Jake Bunce
          There is no such option that I can see.

          You can prune soft deleted posts by username if you use the Prune by Username option, but I see no option to delete all soft deleted posts.

          I love vbulletin and all..I would just love to know how come something so substancial like this still hasnt been implemented.

          Comment

          • Freddie Bingham
            Former vBulletin Developer
            • May 2000
            • 14057
            • 1.1.x

            #20
            Originally posted by Smoothie
            Is there an option or setting in the admin cp for that?
            I was alluding to the idea of adding such an option.

            Comment

            • mikeinjersey
              Senior Member
              • Apr 2005
              • 369

              #21
              Originally posted by Freddie Bingham
              I was alluding to the idea of adding such an option.
              Oops, I missed your previous post, Freddie. Sorry bout that. Glad to hear it may be considered.

              Comment

              • Alawadat
                New Member
                • Nov 2003
                • 13

                #22
                Originally posted by Jake Bunce
                Oh my bad. Change that second query:

                Code:
                DELETE FROM post
                WHERE visible = 2
                Once again, untested. Backup first.

                You will need to update counters afterwards:

                Admin CP -> Maintenance -> Update Counters
                Dear Jack this is the correct query:
                VB mark the deleted post in deletionlog table BUT the post it self still exist in post table so:
                PHP Code:
                [DELETE FROM post WHERE postid IN (select primaryid from deletionlog where type 'post'
                Then:
                PHP Code:
                DELETE FROM attachment WHERE postid IN (select primaryid from deletionlog where type 'post'
                Then:
                PHP Code:
                DELETE FROM deletionlog WHERE type 'post' 
                Last edited by Alawadat; Sat 16 Sep '06, 5:26am.

                Comment

                • hydn
                  Senior Member
                  • Sep 2005
                  • 355

                  #23

                  PHP Code:
                  [DELETE FROM post WHERE postid IN (select primaryid from deletionlog where type 'post'
                  Then:
                  PHP Code:
                  DELETE FROM attachment WHERE postid IN (select primaryid from deletionlog where type 'post'
                  Then:
                  PHP Code:
                  DELETE FROM deletionlog WHERE type 'post' 
                  Where do i paste this? In "Maintenance" / "Execute SQL Query"?

                  Thanks

                  Comment

                  • Steve Machol
                    Former Customer Support Manager
                    • Jul 2000
                    • 154488

                    #24
                    Yes.
                    Steve Machol, former vBulletin Customer Support Manager (and NOT retired!)
                    Change CKEditor Colors to Match Style (for 4.1.4 and above)

                    Steve Machol Photography


                    Mankind is the only creature smart enough to know its own history, and dumb enough to ignore it.


                    Comment

                    • karlm
                      Senior Member
                      • Jun 2006
                      • 826
                      • 5.3.x

                      #25
                      is this still correct for vb4x series? I ask due to the different PHP version.
                      VB 5.4.1 - PHP 7..2.4 - MySQL 5.5.56
                      No Addons - none at all.

                      Comment

                      • msolano
                        Senior Member
                        • Oct 2007
                        • 132
                        • 4.0.x

                        #26
                        I ask: is in vb4 a real solution for this issue? How to do it?

                        Running querys is a dangerous thing when you don't know what are you doing.
                        Mauricio Solano R. - Costa Rica
                        Vote for fix the double word issue

                        Comment

                        widgetinstance 262 (Related Topics) skipped due to lack of content & hide_module_if_empty option.
                        Working...