Main Category and sub-category are set to NOT be forums

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • rnmcd
    Senior Member
    • Aug 2004
    • 1610
    • 3.5.x

    Main Category and sub-category are set to NOT be forums

    I hope I can explain myself...


    I have a Main Category (Trucks) with sub-categories (Ford, Chevy). Both of those do NOT act as forums.

    There are forums below "Ford" and "Chevy" that can't be posted to (such as "pre-1981", "1982-1989").

    When a user clicks on "Trucks" form index.php they are taken to a page (see attachment) that has a 'strip' (?) that reads:

    HTML Code:
      Sub-Forums: Trucks
     Forum     Last Post   Threads   Posts
    Is it possible to eliminate that strip? I think it is somewhat confusing because it looks like there could be threads under that strip.
    Attached Files
  • Jake Bunce
    Senior Member
    • Dec 2000
    • 46598
    • 3.6.x

    #2


    Originally posted by Jake Bunce
    ...

    If you end up with an extra table header like in this picture:

    [ATTACH]16301[/ATTACH]

    ...then you can make the following changes to get rid of it:

    Admin CP -> Styles & Templates -> Style Manager -> « » -> Forum Home Templates -> FORUMHOME

    Remove the red code:

    Code:
    <!-- main -->
    <table class="tborder" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="$stylevar[cellspacing]" border="0" width="100%" align="center">
    <thead>
    	<if condition="$show['guest']">
    	<!-- guest welcome message -->
    	<tr>
    		<td class="tcat" colspan="<if condition="$vboptions['showmoderatorcolumn']">6<else />5</if>"><phrase 1="$vboptions[bbtitle]">$vbphrase[welcome_to_the_x]</phrase></td>
    	</tr>
    	<tr>
    		<td class="alt1" colspan="<if condition="$vboptions['showmoderatorcolumn']">6<else />5</if>">
    			<phrase 1="faq.php?$session[sessionurl]" 2="register.php?$session[sessionurl]">$vbphrase[first_visit_message]</phrase>
    		</td>
    	</tr>
    	<!-- / guest welcome message -->
    	</if>
    	[color=red]<tr align="center">
    	  <td class="thead">&nbsp;</td>
    	  <td class="thead" width="100%" align="$stylevar[left]">$vbphrase[forum]</td>
    	  <td class="thead" width="175">$vbphrase[last_post]</td>
    	  <td class="thead">$vbphrase[threads]</td>
    	  <td class="thead">$vbphrase[posts]</td>
    	  <if condition="$vboptions['showmoderatorcolumn']">
    	  <td class="thead">$vbphrase[moderator]</td>
    	  </if>
    	</tr>[/color]
    </thead>
    $forumbits
    <tbody>
    Admin CP -> Styles & Templates -> Style Manager -> « » -> Forum Display Templates -> FORUMDISPLAY

    Remove the red code:

    Code:
    <if condition="$show['forumslist']">
    <!-- sub-forum list  -->
    <table class="tborder" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="$stylevar[cellspacing]" border="0" width="100%" align="center" style="border-bottom-width:0px">
    <tr>
    	<td class="tcat" width="100%">$vbphrase[subforums]<span class="normal">: $foruminfo[title]</span></td>
    	<if condition="$show['forumsearch']">
    	<td class="vbmenu_control" id="forumsearch.subforums"><a href="search.php?$session[sessionurl]f=$foruminfo[forumid]">$vbphrase[search_this_forum]</a> <script type="text/javascript"> vbmenu_register("forumsearch.subforums"); </script></td>
    	</if>
    </tr>
    </table>
    <table class="tborder" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="$stylevar[cellspacing]" border="0" width="100%" align="center">
    <thead>
    	[color=red]<tr align="center">
    	  <td class="thead">&nbsp;</td>
    	  <td class="thead" width="100%" align="$stylevar[left]">$vbphrase[forum]</td>
    	  <td class="thead" width="175">$vbphrase[last_post]</td>
    	  <td class="thead">$vbphrase[threads]</td>
    	  <td class="thead">$vbphrase[posts]</td>
    	  <if condition="$vboptions[showmoderatorcolumn]">
    	  <td class="thead">$vbphrase[moderator]</td>
    	  </if>
    	</tr>[/color]
    </thead>
    $forumbits
    </table>
    <br />
    <!-- / sub-forum list  -->
    </if>
    ...

    Comment

    • rnmcd
      Senior Member
      • Aug 2004
      • 1610
      • 3.5.x

      #3
      My mistake. I had already made the change to Admin CP -> Styles & Templates -> Style Manager -> « » -> Forum Home Templates -> FORUMHOME

      but never, for some unknow reason, changed Admin CP -> Styles & Templates -> Style Manager -> « » -> Forum Display Templates -> FORUMDISPLAY.

      Thanks.

      Comment

      • rnmcd
        Senior Member
        • Aug 2004
        • 1610
        • 3.5.x

        #4
        Now I have the little 'dot'

        only on the forum display page--not on the index page.

        Do I still use the steps on http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/attac...0&d=1128196735?
        Even if the 'dot' is not visible on the index page?

        Comment

        • Onimua
          Senior Member
          • Apr 2005
          • 4572

          #5
          Hm... shouldn't be on there.

          Did you try deleting the following code as well? I found it works for me with nothing wrong:

          HTML Code:
          <thead>
          
          </thead>
          Congratulations on the death of vBulletin, Internet Brands.

          Comment

          • rnmcd
            Senior Member
            • Aug 2004
            • 1610
            • 3.5.x

            #6
            Onimua, I was wondering about the 'empty' tag but I didn't delete it. I will give it a try and respond to this thread.

            Comment

            • rnmcd
              Senior Member
              • Aug 2004
              • 1610
              • 3.5.x

              #7
              Thanks for helping me AGAIN Onimua! You were correct.

              Comment

              • Onimua
                Senior Member
                • Apr 2005
                • 4572

                #8
                I thought that was the problem. Happy to help.
                Congratulations on the death of vBulletin, Internet Brands.

                Comment

                • Jake Bunce
                  Senior Member
                  • Dec 2000
                  • 46598
                  • 3.6.x

                  #9
                  Originally posted by rnmcd
                  Now I have the little 'dot'

                  only on the forum display page--not on the index page.

                  Do I still use the steps on http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/attac...0&d=1128196735?
                  Even if the 'dot' is not visible on the index page?
                  Yes.

                  Comment

                  • rnmcd
                    Senior Member
                    • Aug 2004
                    • 1610
                    • 3.5.x

                    #10
                    Originally posted by Jake Bunce
                    Yes.
                    I ended up just deleting:


                    HTML Code:
                    <thead>
                    
                    </thead>
                    and it removed the DOT.
                    I haven't used the procedure you mentioned Jack because the 'dot' seems to be gone.

                    Comment

                    • rnmcd
                      Senior Member
                      • Aug 2004
                      • 1610
                      • 3.5.x

                      #11
                      Any idea why just deleting <thead> </thead> was able to remove the 'dot'.

                      Will I end up regretting that I didn't follow Jack's steps in
                      http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/showthread.php?t=156783?

                      Comment

                      • Onimua
                        Senior Member
                        • Apr 2005
                        • 4572

                        #12
                        Nope, there's no harm in it.

                        I'm guessing it's because of the code's properties, which is why it creates a dot even if it's empty. Even if it's empty, I think it has a border property in it, so even those nothing's in it, the border is still there, which is the "dot" that is seen.

                        I'm only guessing since I actually didn't stop to study what the code was actually comprised off... nonetheless, removing it doesn't do anything (it was empty tag, unused for anything in that template).

                        Unless someone has a good reason for it being there... ?
                        Congratulations on the death of vBulletin, Internet Brands.

                        Comment

                        • rnmcd
                          Senior Member
                          • Aug 2004
                          • 1610
                          • 3.5.x

                          #13
                          I see that I didn't state my question properly. Sorry.

                          Will I regret that I didn't add the green statements that Jack recommended (see: http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/showthread.php?t=156783 ) to use in order to remove the 'dot'. I was just wondering if my 'shortcut' (by only removing the empty thead tags) will bite me later.

                          I was able to remove the dot by deleting the empty <thead> tag but I didn't follow Jack's steps.

                          Thanks.

                          Comment

                          • Jake Bunce
                            Senior Member
                            • Dec 2000
                            • 46598
                            • 3.6.x

                            #14
                            It depends on what is causing the dot. If you post a URL to a page that has the dot then I can view the source code and determine the cause.

                            Comment

                            • rnmcd
                              Senior Member
                              • Aug 2004
                              • 1610
                              • 3.5.x

                              #15
                              Actually there is no longer a 'dot' on any page but I didn't follow your steps to remove the dot. I only removed the empty <thead> tag that exists after deleting the red code:

                              Code:
                              [left]<if condition="$show['forumslist']">
                              <!-- sub-forum list  -->
                              <table class="tborder" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="$stylevar[cellspacing]" border="0" width="100%" align="center" style="border-bottom-width:0px">
                              <tr>
                                  <td class="tcat" width="100%">$vbphrase[subforums]<span class="normal">: $foruminfo[title]</span></td>
                                  <if condition="$show['forumsearch']">
                                  <td class="vbmenu_control" id="forumsearch.subforums"><a href="search.php?$session[sessionurl]f=$foruminfo[forumid]">$vbphrase[search_this_forum]</a> <script type="text/javascript"> vbmenu_register("forumsearch.subforums"); </script></td>
                                  </if>
                              </tr>
                              </table>
                              <table class="tborder" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="$stylevar[cellspacing]" border="0" width="100%" align="center">
                              <thead>
                                  [COLOR=red]<tr align="center">
                                    <td class="thead">&nbsp;</td>
                                    <td class="thead" width="100%" align="$stylevar[LEFT]">$vbphrase[forum]</td>
                                    <td class="thead" width="175">$vbphrase[last_post]</td>
                                    <td class="thead">$vbphrase[threads]</td>
                                    <td class="thead">$vbphrase[posts]</td>
                                    <if condition="$vboptions[showmoderatorcolumn]">
                                    <td class="thead">$vbphrase[moderator]</td>
                                    </if>
                                  </tr>[/LEFT]
                                [/COLOR][LEFT]
                              </thead>
                              $forumbits
                              </table>
                              <br />
                              <!-- / sub-forum list  -->
                              </if>[/LEFT]
                              My question is: will I likely encounter other problems by not also doing what you stated, which is adding the green code:

                              Code:
                              [COLOR=green]<if condition="$forum[forumid] != X">[/COLOR]
                              [COLOR=blue]</table>
                              
                              <br />
                              
                              <table class="tborder" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="$stylevar[cellspacing]" border="0" width="100%" align="center">[/COLOR]
                              [COLOR=green]</if>[/COLOR]
                              
                              <tbody>
                                  <tr>
                                      <td class="tcat" colspan="<if condition="$vboptions[showmoderatorcolumn]">6<else />5</if>">
                                          <a style="float:$stylevar[right]" href="#top" onclick="return toggle_collapse('forumbit_$forumid')"><img id="collapseimg_forumbit_$forumid" src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/collapse_tcat{$collapseimg_forumid}.gif" alt="" border="0" /></a>
                                          <a href="forumdisplay.php?$session[sessionurl]f=$forum[forumid]">$forum[title]</a>
                                          <if condition="$show['forumdescription']"><div class="smallfont">$forum[description]</div></if>
                                          <if condition="$show['subforums']"><div class="smallfont"><strong>$vbphrase[subforums]</strong>: $forum[subforums]</div></if>
                                      </td>
                                  </tr>
                              
                                  [COLOR=blue]<tr align="center">
                                    <td class="thead">&nbsp;</td>
                                    <td class="thead" width="100%" align="$stylevar[left]">$vbphrase[forum]</td>
                                    <td class="thead" width="175">$vbphrase[last_post]</td>
                                    <td class="thead">$vbphrase[threads]</td>
                                    <td class="thead">$vbphrase[posts]</td>
                                    <if condition="$vboptions['showmoderatorcolumn']">
                                    <td class="thead">$vbphrase[moderator]</td>
                                    </if>
                                  </tr>[/COLOR]
                              </tbody>
                              <if condition="$childforumbits">
                              <tbody id="collapseobj_forumbit_$forumid" style="{$collapseobj_forumid}">
                              $childforumbits
                              </tbody>
                              </if>

                              Comment

                              widgetinstance 262 (Related Topics) skipped due to lack of content & hide_module_if_empty option.
                              Working...