Page Numbers not Wrapping

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • Christine
    Senior Member
    • Aug 2001
    • 592
    • 3.0.6

    Page Numbers not Wrapping

    I just loaded a clean install of RC4 onto my test server.

    I had the post page view set to '0' and the screen was incredibly wide, so I set them back to 25 and then 15, but the problem is that in clicking the '>' button on the right only stretches it.

    It isn't wrapping, and it isn't dropping off the first pages and replacing them with 'First' and '<'.

    It is working here on vb.com -- I wonder if there is a max view that we should set and just run with (like 5?)

    Screen shots attached showing page 1, page 9 and page 23. Thanks for any help on this!
    Attached Files
    L'chaim
  • Floris
    Senior Member
    • Dec 2001
    • 37767

    #2
    That is why I have set it to just show 5 to 10 max

    Comment

    • zaon
      Senior Member
      • Feb 2002
      • 217

      #3
      Originally posted by floris
      That is why I have set it to just show 5 to 10 max
      WHOA! That is SOOO not the answer LOL.

      I'm now encountering this issue as well. Except not for the count of threads but rather for the post count page links that show up in the thread rows!!

      This is not good and the answer is NOT to display less.. I want them all displayed for sure, but they should wrap and cause material to drop down below them to make room when you end up with a 'paragraph' worth of such numbers.. not just keep scrolling wider.

      For my issue with the post pages, it's actually distorting the width of the entire forums.

      Are these being displayed with a <nobr> type tag or something? If so, why? Or, is something else the culprit? I've got to get these to wrap, as will many other people, so if anyone can shed some light on how to get numbers (in post pages and forum pages) to wrap we'd all appreciate any ideas! :-)

      Comment

      • Floris
        Senior Member
        • Dec 2001
        • 37767

        #4
        Originally posted by zaon
        WHOA! That is SOOO not the answer LOL.
        I wasn't giving an answer, I was giving my oppinion

        Comment

        • zaon
          Senior Member
          • Feb 2002
          • 217

          #5
          Okay, I'm on to something here (for me that's amazing)...

          So, it looks like in the pagenav template there is a <td> table cell being created to house each page number, and those are being generated inside of the 'if condition' statements. This coding is way way way over my head, but it seems to me it'd be possible to simply include all the page number generation if condition statements exist inside a single table cell rather than putting those <td> statements inside the if condition ones, right? If so, then all page numbers would fall into a single cell and thus wrap without stretching the forum insanely wide when there's gazillions of page numbers all being displayed.

          Anybody have an idea as to where the <td> statment would go to incorporate all the page numbers?

          Comment

          • freaky
            Senior Member
            • Jul 2000
            • 329
            • 3.5.x

            #6
            did anyone figure this out?

            Comment

            • zaon
              Senior Member
              • Feb 2002
              • 217

              #7
              Originally posted by freaky
              did anyone figure this out?
              Not yet.. I'm hoping someone with a little html/php know-how will let us know where to enclose the <td> tags and which to remove from that template in order to get all the page numbers themselves housed in a single cell so that they'll wrap. But it's beyond my php knowledge.

              Comment

              • cbiweb
                Senior Member
                • Apr 2004
                • 2658
                • 4.1.x

                #8
                How To Wrap Page Numbers In vBulletin 3.0.1

                This thread inspired me to find the answer, so here it is. In the first code snippet below, add the green code. In the other examples below, delete everything in red. Please let me know if you have any problems at all with this solution, and I will be glad to help. PM or email me.


                All templates can be found in Admin CP > Styles & Templates > Style Manager > Edit Templates. Then, go to...

                Forum Display Templates > FORUMDISPLAY
                Code:
                <!-- controls above thread list -->
                <table cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" border="1" width="100%" style="margin-bottom:3px">
                <tr valign="bottom">
                <td class="smallfont"><if condition="$show['newthreadlink']"><a href="newthread.php?$session[sessionurl]do=newthread&amp;f=$foruminfo[forumid]"><img src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/newthread.gif" alt="$vbphrase[post_new_thread]" border="0" /></a><else />&nbsp;</if></td>
                <if condition="$pagenav"><td align="$stylevar[right]" [color=green][b]width="100%"[/b][/color]>$pagenav</td></if>
                </tr>
                </table>
                <!-- / controls above thread list -->
                Page Navigation Templates > pagenav
                Code:
                <table class="tborder" cellpadding="3" cellspacing="$stylevar[cellspacing]" border="0">
                <tr>
                <td class="vbmenu_control" style="font-weight:normal">
                <td class="alt1"></td>
                <div class="pagenav" align="$stylevar[right]">
                [color=red][b]<table class="tborder" cellpadding="3" cellspacing="$stylevar[cellspacing]" border="0">[/b]
                [b]<tr>[/b]
                [b]<td class="vbmenu_control" style="font-weight:normal">[/b][/color]<!--<img src="$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/multipage.gif" alt="<phrase 1="$numbers[first]" 2="$numbers[last]" 3="$total" 4="$totalpages">$vbphrase[showing_results_x_to_y_of_z_xx]</phrase>" /> --><phrase 1="$pagenumber" 2="$totalpages">$vbphrase[page_x_of_y]</phrase>[b][color=red]</td>[/color][/b]
                <if condition="$show['first']">[color=red][b]<td class="alt1">[/b][/color]<a class="smallfont" href="$address&amp;page=1$address2" title="$vbphrase[first_page] - <phrase 1="$firstnumbers[first]" 2="$firstnumbers[last]" 3="$total">$vbphrase[results_x_to_y_of_z]</phrase>"><strong>&laquo;</strong> $vbphrase[first]</a>[b][color=red]</td>[/color][/b]</if>
                <if condition="$show['prev']">[color=red][b]<td class="alt1">[/b][/color]<a class="smallfont" href="$address&amp;page=$prevpage$address2" title="$vbphrase[prev_page] - <phrase 1="$prevnumbers[first]" 2="$prevnumbers[last]" 3="$total">$vbphrase[results_x_to_y_of_z]</phrase>">&lt;</a>[b][color=red]</td>[/color][/b]</if>
                $pagenav
                <if condition="$show['next']">[color=red][b]<td class="alt1">[/b][/color]<a class="smallfont" href="$address&amp;page=$nextpage$address2" title="$vbphrase[next_page] - <phrase 1="$nextnumbers[first]" 2="$nextnumbers[last]" 3="$total">$vbphrase[results_x_to_y_of_z]</phrase>">&gt;</a>[b][color=red]</td>[/color][/b]</if>
                <if condition="$show['last']">[color=red][b]<td class="alt1">[/b][/color]<a class="smallfont" href="$address&amp;page=$totalpages$address2" title="$vbphrase[last_page] - <phrase 1="$lastnumbers[first]" 2="$lastnumbers[last]" 3="$total">$vbphrase[results_x_to_y_of_z]</phrase>">$vbphrase[last] <strong>&raquo;</strong></a>[b][color=red]</td>[/color][/b]</if>
                [b][color=red]</tr>[/color][/b][color=red]
                [b]</table>[/b][/color][b][/b]
                </div>
                Page Navigation Templates > pagenav_curpage
                Code:
                [b][color=red]<td class="alt2">[/color][/b]<span class="smallfont" title="<phrase 1="$numbers[first]" 2="$numbers[last]" 3="$total">$vbphrase[showing_results_x_to_y_of_z]</phrase>"><strong>$curpage</strong></span>[color=red][b]</td>[/b][/color]
                Page Navigation Templates > pagenav_pagelink
                Code:
                [b][color=red]<td class="alt1">[/color][/b]<a class="smallfont" href="$address&amp;page=$curpage$address2" title="<phrase 1="$pagenumbers[first]" 2="$pagenumbers[last]" 3="$total">$vbphrase[show_results_x_to_y_of_z]</phrase>">$curpage</a>[color=red][b]</td>[/b][/color]
                Last edited by cbiweb; Sat 24 Apr '04, 5:29pm.
                ~ Life isn't always fair, but you can be. ~

                Comment

                • Howdy
                  New Member
                  • Feb 2005
                  • 7

                  #9
                  cbiweb,
                  thanks much for posting that. I tried it on my forum and it works... I was having problems with my page running wider than it should once I got past about 40 pages.

                  It is a little tough to read all of the numbers on the larger threads, see here ->

                  Get full access to this domain. Easy, seamless transactions. Zero percent financing available.


                  I'd like to figure out how to wrap the page numbers... But this does work, thanks for your work on this...

                  Comment

                  • cbiweb
                    Senior Member
                    • Apr 2004
                    • 2658
                    • 4.1.x

                    #10
                    You're most welcome, Howdy! I was wondering if anyone ever saw that post. The thread seemed to have died right after. But nearly two years later isn't bad, though. LOL

                    Not sure what would cause the scrunching of the numbers. I didn't have that problem. If I get a chance I will look into it.
                    ~ Life isn't always fair, but you can be. ~

                    Comment

                    Related Topics

                    Collapse

                    Working...