Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • slappy
    • Apr 2003

Windows 2000 IIS installation

I've been working with a friend for days attempting to get some version of vBulletin installed and running on a Windows 2000 server, using IIS and PHP in CGI mode. I believe a good part of the problem is the instructions for php and vBulletin are not nearly as clear for an installation on a non-Apache system.

Here's one issue that is not clearly addressed, at least as far as I have found. If a version of PHP is installed which states that it has "built in support" for mySQL, does that mean that NO other installation of mySQL should be made? Or, does this mean only that various of the php extension files, which might otherwise be needed to "support" mySQL are not then needed.

I had no problem installing and running a test Board on my local machine using version 2.2.9, but that was in Apache2 and I've been told that that is not really a "production" version yet.

I'm no server expert, although my friend is, and we haven't had much luck yet. I can answer any questions that would assist in the giving of some assistance. I can get to the install folder, but the install.html file just opens, it doesn't "install." The PHP test function from the start menu indicates that PHP is running correctly.
    Last edited by slappy; Tue 15 Jul '03, 8:55am.
    Slappy
  • Floris
    • Dec 2001

Make sure you have the .php extension edition downloaded, so the install.html will be a .php file - which will probably run a lot better

Comment

• Tungsten
      • Jan 2002
      • 3.0.0 Beta 7

Originally posted by slappy
      Here's one issue that is not clearly addressed, at least as far as I have found. If a version of PHP is installed which states that it has "built in support" for mySQL, does that mean that NO other installation of mySQL should be made? Or, does this mean only that various of the php extension files, which might otherwise be needed to "support" mySQL are not then needed.