How did they do this?

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • briangumble
    Senior Member
    • Feb 2004
    • 321

    How did they do this?

    On this forum http://forums.thebattlefields.com/

    See how they have a logo image on the top left, and on the right of the image they have a red bar to match the logo image. How did they create that red bar without having it as a image?

    Also, what size would a logo have to be in order to span the width of the forum?
    Last edited by briangumble; Sun 20 Feb '05, 7:35pm.
  • Floris
    Senior Member
    • Dec 2001
    • 37767

    #2
    You create two images, one logo.gif image and one background.gif image.
    The logo has text on it, the background doesn't have text on it.

    Then you create a table with 1 row and 1 column.
    In the cell you align the image to the left, and valign it to the top (set border to 0).
    The <table> you set to 100% and the <td> you add the background to.
    <td style="background-image: url(background.gif);">

    Comment

    • briangumble
      Senior Member
      • Feb 2004
      • 321

      #3
      Originally posted by Floris
      You create two images, one logo.gif image and one background.gif image.
      The logo has text on it, the background doesn't have text on it.

      Then you create a table with 1 row and 1 column.
      In the cell you align the image to the left, and valign it to the top (set border to 0).
      The <table> you set to 100% and the <td> you add the background to.
      <td style="background-image: url(background.gif);">
      So doing this will make the area to the right of the logo, not a image right?

      Comment

      • briangumble
        Senior Member
        • Feb 2004
        • 321

        #4
        Ok, nevermind i'll just have the logo itself span the width of the forums. How many pixels do I set it at so it will be the same size as the width of the forums?

        Comment

        • SVTBlackLight01
          Senior Member
          • Jan 2003
          • 135

          #5
          Originally posted by briangumble
          So doing this will make the area to the right of the logo, not a image right?
          The area to the right of their logo is a background image. See here:




          Originally posted by briangumble
          Ok, nevermind i'll just have the logo itself span the width of the forums. How many pixels do I set it at so it will be the same size as the width of the forums?
          That will depend on what you have the width of your forums set as, and would only work with a fixed width.
          MODern ENGINEuity
          Modular Powered Community

          Automotive Books, Movies, Games and More!

          Comment

          • briangumble
            Senior Member
            • Feb 2004
            • 321

            #6
            Originally posted by SVTBlackLight01
            The area to the right of their logo is a background image. See here:





            That will depend on what you have the width of your forums set as, and would only work with a fixed width.
            oh, ok thanks. So how would I have my logo be the same width as my forums? Do I just do what floris said above?

            Comment

            • Dennis Olson
              Senior Member
              • Oct 2002
              • 2789

              #7
              Get a book called Web Design in a Nutshell from Amazon.com. Knowledge is a Good Thing...

              Comment

              • TheMusicMan
                Senior Member
                • Oct 2002
                • 2140
                • 3.7.x

                #8
                Hi briangumble

                If you display your logo at the same width as the width of your forums, you risk having a very distorted logo image being displayed. You need to understand a few things before you get your logo and header sorted.

                A logo will be of specific dimensions: say 200px wide by 80px high for example (though it can be any size you want it to be). So, if you then display this logo at the same width of your forums - and your forums are say 760 pixels wide - then your image will be stretched to 760 pixels wide... and will be significantly distorted which is clearly not the best effect.

                So, your would need to either do;

                1 - as Floris suggests which is to have 1 cell in a table where you display the image (left aligned) and set it so that the cell background is made of the image you want repeated throughought the width of the remainder of the cell (ie as above)

                2 - have a clear background...

                I am happy to help explain further if required - just shout and be patient.. I will reply.
                John

                Comment

                • briangumble
                  Senior Member
                  • Feb 2004
                  • 321

                  #9
                  Originally posted by TheMusicMan
                  Hi briangumble

                  If you display your logo at the same width as the width of your forums, you risk having a very distorted logo image being displayed. You need to understand a few things before you get your logo and header sorted.

                  A logo will be of specific dimensions: say 200px wide by 80px high for example (though it can be any size you want it to be). So, if you then display this logo at the same width of your forums - and your forums are say 760 pixels wide - then your image will be stretched to 760 pixels wide... and will be significantly distorted which is clearly not the best effect.

                  So, your would need to either do;

                  1 - as Floris suggests which is to have 1 cell in a table where you display the image (left aligned) and set it so that the cell background is made of the image you want repeated throughought the width of the remainder of the cell (ie as above)

                  2 - have a clear background...

                  I am happy to help explain further if required - just shout and be patient.. I will reply.
                  I can recreate the logo to be in any dimensions, so the distorting problem is not a problem. Here is a screenshot of how it would look if I put my logo up right now:



                  I want the blue bar to extend to the width of the forums, whats the best way to do this? The only ways I can think of would be to recreate the logo with a larger width, but I don't know how many pixels to set it at. Or create another image with just the blue bar and do what floris said above. But im not sure how to do what floris said above.
                  Last edited by briangumble; Wed 2 Mar '05, 6:10pm.

                  Comment

                  • briangumble
                    Senior Member
                    • Feb 2004
                    • 321

                    #10
                    Originally posted by Floris
                    You create two images, one logo.gif image and one background.gif image.
                    The logo has text on it, the background doesn't have text on it.

                    Then you create a table with 1 row and 1 column.
                    In the cell you align the image to the left, and valign it to the top (set border to 0).
                    The <table> you set to 100% and the <td> you add the background to.
                    <td style="background-image: url(background.gif);">
                    The best way to have my logo span the width of my forums would probably be to do what you said. So floris how exactly do you do that floris?

                    Comment

                    • briangumble
                      Senior Member
                      • Feb 2004
                      • 321

                      #11
                      Well anybody, how do you do what floris said?

                      Comment

                      • Zachery
                        Former vBulletin Support
                        • Jul 2002
                        • 59097

                        #12
                        Just like he said.

                        its really simple html.

                        www.w3schools.com

                        Comment

                        • briangumble
                          Senior Member
                          • Feb 2004
                          • 321

                          #13
                          Originally posted by Floris
                          You create two images, one logo.gif image and one background.gif image.
                          The logo has text on it, the background doesn't have text on it.
                          I can do this.

                          Originally posted by Floris
                          Then you create a table with 1 row and 1 column.
                          In the cell you align the image to the left, and valign it to the top (set border to 0).
                          The <table> you set to 100% and the <td> you add the background to.
                          <td style="background-image: url(background.gif);">
                          I don't know how to do this. I know a little HTML, but I don't know how to create tables and setting the sizes, etc.

                          Comment

                          • briangumble
                            Senior Member
                            • Feb 2004
                            • 321

                            #14
                            I created a table with frontpage and edited the HTML. So would this be the tag I insert into the header template?

                            HTML Code:
                            <table border="0" width="100%">
                            	<tr>
                            	 <td style="background-image: url('background.gif');"&gt; width="100%" align="right" valign="top">&nbsp;</td>
                            	</tr>
                            </table>
                             
                            edit: I just inserted that html code into that message thing in the header and it didn't work. What did I do wrong?
                            Last edited by briangumble; Thu 3 Mar '05, 8:07pm.

                            Comment

                            • briangumble
                              Senior Member
                              • Feb 2004
                              • 321

                              #15
                              100 tries later and I still can't get it. I give up for tonight.

                              Comment

                              Related Topics

                              Collapse

                              Working...