Adding Submenus for the Navbar Dropdowns

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • kira
    Senior Member
    • Aug 2002
    • 188

    Adding Submenus for the Navbar Dropdowns

    Hi all. After adding several new features to one of my VB sites, my navbar is getting crowded. To save space I'd like to put all the similar extras such as the Store, Gallery, Arcade, etc. in a dropdown menu (similar to the "QuickLinks" dropdown).

    However, some of these extras have their own submenus, such as the Store with its links to the Bank, Actions, and so on. So I was wondering if it's possible to add a submenu to one of the DHTML dropdown menus? Since this is kinda confusing, I've attached a sample graphic to better explain what I mean.

    I hope you gurus can help. Thanks in advance!
    Attached Files
    Kira

    EpiGuide: Web Entertainment Forums - vB Board of the Month, Aug 2007
    About Schuyler Falls, an Original Drama | Falling Sky Designs
  • peterska2
    Senior Member
    • Oct 2003
    • 8869
    • 3.7.x

    #2
    Here's what I would do.

    Rename your 'Quick Links' to 'Member Links' and dump your User CP button from the navbar.

    Create a new dropdown list called something like 'Features' and put all your extra items in there.

    If you want this coding just ask

    Comment

    • kira
      Senior Member
      • Aug 2002
      • 188

      #3
      Thanks very much for responding, peterska! Actually, that's the part I know how to do -- creating a new navbar link and adding a dropdown menu. It's adding an additional level to the dropdown that has me scratching my head. The "features" link would have menu items with subcategories of their own. Just seems more elegant to add a "foldout" sort of layer for items at this lower level.

      But if it turns out that submenus are impossible, I'll eliminate some of these subcategories and do as you suggested.

      Many thanks again!
      Kira

      EpiGuide: Web Entertainment Forums - vB Board of the Month, Aug 2007
      About Schuyler Falls, an Original Drama | Falling Sky Designs

      Comment

      • Andy Huang
        Senior Member
        • Feb 2004
        • 4602

        #4
        I'm not the thread starter, but I'd definetly be interested to see the coding of that if you don't mind sharing
        Best Regards,
        Andy Huang

        Comment

        • peterska2
          Senior Member
          • Oct 2003
          • 8869
          • 3.7.x

          #5
          FIND

          Code:
          	<if condition="$show['member']">
           			<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="usercp.php?$session[sessionurl]">$vbphrase[user_cp]</a></td>
           		</if>
          REMOVE IT

          FIND

          Code:
           <if condition="$bbuserinfo['userid']">
           		    	<td id="usercptools" class="vbmenu_control"><a href="#usercptools">$vbphrase[quick_links]</a> <script type="text/javascript"> vbmenu_register("usercptools"); </script></td>		
           			</if>
          REPLACE WITH

          Code:
          <if condition="$bbuserinfo['userid']">
           		    	<td id="usercptools" class="vbmenu_control"><a href="#usercptools">User Links</a> <script type="text/javascript"> vbmenu_register("usercptools"); </script></td>		
           			</if>


          FIND

          Code:
          <!--<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="$vboptions[forumhome].php?$session[sessionurl]">Home</a></td>-->
          ADD BELOW

          Code:
          <if condition="$bbuserinfo['userid']">
            				<td id="extras" class="vbmenu_control"><a href="#usercptools">[b]YOUR TEXT HERE[/b]</a> <script type="text/javascript"> vbmenu_register("extras"); </script></td>		
            			</if>
          FIND
          Code:
              </div>
           	<!-- / user cp tools menu -->
           	</if>
          ADD BELOW

          Code:
          	<if condition="$show['member']">
           	<!-- extra menu -->
           	<div class="vbmenu_popup" id="extras" style="display:none">
           		<table cellpadding="4" cellspacing="1" border="0">
           		
           		<tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="[b]YOUR LINK HERE[/b]">[b]YOUR TEXT HERE[/b]</a></td></tr>
           		
           		</table>
           	</div>
           	<!-- / extra menu -->
           	</if>
          Repeat
          Code:
          <tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="[b]YOUR LINK HERE[/b]">[b]YOUR TEXT HERE[/b]</a></td></tr>
          as required

          Comment

          • Andy Huang
            Senior Member
            • Feb 2004
            • 4602

            #6
            Great, thanks
            Best Regards,
            Andy Huang

            Comment

            • Strike3Forums
              New Member
              • May 2005
              • 19
              • 3.6.x

              #7
              I want to add something exactly like the attached image as a quick links dropdown. But I can't seem to get it to work (IE, nothing at all dropsdown from the new one.) Is anyone using this on 3.07 with success?

              Thanks. It would be very appreaciated.

              Comment

              • Strike3Forums
                New Member
                • May 2005
                • 19
                • 3.6.x

                #8
                Anyone? Or does anyone know how to something similar (shortening a navbar dropdown to different categories or sub menus)? Thanks and sorry for the bump, I've asked about this on vbulletin.org to no reply and this is the closest I have come to seeing something like what I desired.

                Comment

                • kira
                  Senior Member
                  • Aug 2002
                  • 188

                  #9
                  FWIW I was never able to figure out how to create a submenu. I've worked with layers/menus before but couldn't quite grasp how the navbar menu javascript worked, or even precisely where it was located. Sad, huh?

                  Not much of a help, am I?
                  Last edited by kira; Sat 16 Jul '05, 1:18pm.
                  Kira

                  EpiGuide: Web Entertainment Forums - vB Board of the Month, Aug 2007
                  About Schuyler Falls, an Original Drama | Falling Sky Designs

                  Comment

                  • Strike3Forums
                    New Member
                    • May 2005
                    • 19
                    • 3.6.x

                    #10
                    Don't worry about it.

                    Hopefully though someone will make a hack like this that is easy to install, I am really surprised it hasn't been done. Since I wanted a dropin for my baseball forum that would be a great resource, having it in categories would not only help with the look but would add an extra sense of organization. Oh well, I'll keep my eyes on the lookout.

                    Comment

                    • steven s
                      Senior Member
                      • Jul 2004
                      • 3722
                      • 3.8.x

                      #11
                      Originally posted by kiwilerner
                      Hi all. After adding several new features to one of my VB sites, my navbar is getting crowded.
                      I was thinking about the same problem I am having with my nav bar. I have two rows and even that is crowded.

                      Have you seen

                      Maybe it will give you some ideas.
                      ...steven
                      www.318ti.org (vB3.8) | www.nccbmwcca.org (vB4.2)
                      bmwcca.org/forum | m135i.net
                      "I tried to clean this up but this thread is beyond redemption." - Steve Machol

                      Comment

                      • Shelby
                        Senior Member
                        • May 2004
                        • 928

                        #12
                        Anyone know how to make submenu's?

                        Comment

                        • peterska2
                          Senior Member
                          • Oct 2003
                          • 8869
                          • 3.7.x

                          #13
                          There is no function to do this. This requires modifying the code. We cannot officially support code modifications or forums running modified code, however you can try searching or asking for help with this over at vBulletin.org.

                          Comment

                          • RobParker
                            Senior Member
                            • Nov 2006
                            • 134

                            #14
                            Originally posted by Kerry-Anne
                            FIND


                            Code:
                                <if condition="$show['member']">
                                 <!-- extra menu -->
                                 <div class="vbmenu_popup" id="extras" style="display:none">
                                     <table cellpadding="4" cellspacing="1" border="0">
                                     
                                     <tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="[B]YOUR LINK HERE[/B]">[B]YOUR TEXT HERE[/B]</a></td></tr>
                                     
                                     </table>
                                 </div>
                                 <!-- / extra menu -->
                                 </if>
                            Repeat
                            Code:
                            <tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="[B]YOUR LINK HERE[/B]">[B]YOUR TEXT HERE[/B]</a></td></tr>
                            as required
                            I'm not sure if this has changed as this is a really old post but I thought it might be useful to let people know that to get this working I had to change the id="extras" above to id="extras_menu".

                            Comment

                            widgetinstance 262 (Related Topics) skipped due to lack of content & hide_module_if_empty option.
                            Working...