3.0.2 Upgrade Problem

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • digitalpoint
    Senior Member
    • Mar 2004
    • 2573
    • 4.1.x

    3.0.2 Upgrade Problem

    3.0.2 adds a new table, cpsession. This table has a column named hash If you are using a newer version of MySQL (4.1.0 for me), the upgrade will fail (no idea about older versions) because the fieldname "hash" needs to be enclosed like so: `hash`

    So I created the table manually, commented out the upgrade part that did complete and let the upgrade finish.

    Another problem is everywhere that hash field is referenced in the new files will spit back a SQL error because it's not enclosed in those places either (global.php, login.php, index.php, etc.)

    I've fixed the source on my copy so I can get mine up and running, but might be something you guys would want to look at...
    Sphinx Search for vBulletin 4: https://marketplace.digitalpoint.com...tin-4.870/item
    Someone send me a message on Twitter when this site is usable again. https://twitter.com/digitalpoint
  • vBMechanic
    Senior Member
    • Jan 2004
    • 113
    • 3.0.0 Release Candidate 3

    #2
    Yikes, thanks Shawn. Wouldn't it be better to avoid any sort of protected word as a fieldname or table name altogether?

    Comment

    • Jake Bunce
      Senior Member
      • Dec 2000
      • 46598
      • 3.6.x

      #3
      Thank you for your report. If you post this in the Bug Tracker then our devs will look into it.

      Comment

      • digitalpoint
        Senior Member
        • Mar 2004
        • 2573
        • 4.1.x

        #4
        Originally posted by vBMechanic
        Yikes, thanks Shawn. Wouldn't it be better to avoid any sort of protected word as a fieldname or table name altogether?
        Of course... I would imagine that's why it's named idhash in the "normal" session table.
        Sphinx Search for vBulletin 4: https://marketplace.digitalpoint.com...tin-4.870/item
        Someone send me a message on Twitter when this site is usable again. https://twitter.com/digitalpoint

        Comment

        • Zachery
          Former vBulletin Support
          • Jul 2002
          • 59097

          #5
          MySQL 4.1.0 is still in alpha last time i checked.

          Comment

          • digitalpoint
            Senior Member
            • Mar 2004
            • 2573
            • 4.1.x

            #6
            Yep (well technically it's beta... 5.0 is alpha)... MySQL recommends using 4.1 for any new development at this point.

            I'm not asking you guys to fix it (I already did it on my end), but might be something you want to look at because 4.1 won't be in alpha forever. And the cause of it is not because it's alpha (it's not something that is going to change in the production release of 4.1).
            Sphinx Search for vBulletin 4: https://marketplace.digitalpoint.com...tin-4.870/item
            Someone send me a message on Twitter when this site is usable again. https://twitter.com/digitalpoint

            Comment

            • digitalpoint
              Senior Member
              • Mar 2004
              • 2573
              • 4.1.x

              #7
              Okay, I'll admit when I'm wrong.

              Looks like they changed it so hash is no longer a reserved word.

              Guess I should look at upgrading, although it's a bit of a pain since the mysql() functions in PHP don't work with anything higher than 4.1.0.

              That being said, does vBulletin support the mysqli() functions in PHP?
              Sphinx Search for vBulletin 4: https://marketplace.digitalpoint.com...tin-4.870/item
              Someone send me a message on Twitter when this site is usable again. https://twitter.com/digitalpoint

              Comment

              • Freddie Bingham
                Former vBulletin Developer
                • May 2000
                • 14057
                • 1.1.x

                #8
                Where is the changelog in regards to this?

                Comment

                • digitalpoint
                  Senior Member
                  • Mar 2004
                  • 2573
                  • 4.1.x

                  #9


                  So bottom line is vBulletin 3.0.2 absolutely will not work with MySQL 4.1.0 (new or upgrade). I ended up fixing it in the source code of my copy of vBulletin, and then I decided to upgrade to the latest 4.1.x (4.1.3) just so I didn't have to redo it on an upgrade.

                  Funny thing is that 4.1.3 doesn't work either because of an ambiguous field name in one of the most used SQL statements (the one that views a thread). I fixed that in my vBulletin and posted a bug report about it. Because I assume at some point (when MySQL 4.1.3 is no longer beta) people will want to use it. But right now vBulletin 3.0.2 does not work with the oldest or newest MySQL 4.1.x (two different problems).
                  Sphinx Search for vBulletin 4: https://marketplace.digitalpoint.com...tin-4.870/item
                  Someone send me a message on Twitter when this site is usable again. https://twitter.com/digitalpoint

                  Comment

                  • Brains
                    Member
                    • Sep 2003
                    • 91
                    • 3.6.x

                    #10
                    I wish it worked now I have some stuff I've hacked in that would be a world easier with subselects..

                    Comment

                    • Chrissicom
                      Senior Member
                      • Feb 2004
                      • 122

                      #11
                      Originally posted by digitalpoint
                      http://dev.mysql.com/doc/mysql/en/News-4.1.1.html

                      So bottom line is vBulletin 3.0.2 absolutely will not work with MySQL 4.1.0 (new or upgrade). I ended up fixing it in the source code of my copy of vBulletin, and then I decided to upgrade to the latest 4.1.x (4.1.3) just so I didn't have to redo it on an upgrade.

                      Funny thing is that 4.1.3 doesn't work either because of an ambiguous field name in one of the most used SQL statements (the one that views a thread). I fixed that in my vBulletin and posted a bug report about it. Because I assume at some point (when MySQL 4.1.3 is no longer beta) people will want to use it. But right now vBulletin 3.0.2 does not work with the oldest or newest MySQL 4.1.x (two different problems).
                      I can confirm this, tried it with MySQL 4.3.1b only though. Actually almost not one single PHP application worked with MySQL 4.3.1b. I think the problem is the MySQL client of PHP since all appz using the MySQLi extension work like a charm. By the way, for testing purposes you can activate both php_mysql.dll and php_mysqli.dll (last one has to be added manually) in php.ini on IIS 6 (don't know if this works on an Apache Server).
                      "I have emotional vices and they can be far more paralyzing than drugs or alcohol."
                      -Sandra Bullock


                      Sandra Bullock Central Message Board / Chris' Famous Sandra Bullock Page / Sandra Bullock News (Deutsch)

                      Comment

                      • digitalpoint
                        Senior Member
                        • Mar 2004
                        • 2573
                        • 4.1.x

                        #12
                        I'm actually using 4.1.3 with vBulletin 3.0.3 these days. It just required that one SQL statement to be adjusted to work with it.
                        Sphinx Search for vBulletin 4: https://marketplace.digitalpoint.com...tin-4.870/item
                        Someone send me a message on Twitter when this site is usable again. https://twitter.com/digitalpoint

                        Comment

                        Related Topics

                        Collapse

                        Working...