Adding A Link To Navigation

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • envy-uk
    Member
    • Mar 2004
    • 66
    • 3.0.0 'Gold'

    Adding A Link To Navigation

    I'm wishing to add a link to the main navigation that appears on every page, a text link that will link to paid subscriptions. How would I go about this?

    Thank you for any help.
  • Yuneek
    Senior Member
    • Feb 2004
    • 205
    • 3.0.0 'Gold'

    #2
    You would find this inside of the header style. It's going to require editing of raw code. I don't know of any front-end options for adding and deleting of navigational links as of now. I'm assuming vB3 3.0.0 Gold as well.

    -Yuneek

    Comment

    • Jake Bunce
      Senior Member
      • Dec 2000
      • 46598
      • 3.6.x

      #3
      Admin CP -> Styles & Templates -> Style Manager -> « » -> Navigation / Breadcrumb Templates -> navbar

      Find this code. Add the code in red:

      Code:
      <!-- nav buttons bar -->
      <div align="center">
      	<table class="tborder" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="100%" align="center" style="border-top-width:0px">
      	<tr align="center">	
      		<!--<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="$vboptions[forumhome].php?$session[sessionurl]">Home</a></td>-->
      
      		[color=red]<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="subscriptions.php?$session[sessionurl]">Paid Subscriptions</a></td>[/color]
      
      		<if condition="$show['member']">
      			<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="usercp.php?$session[sessionurl]">$vbphrase[user_cp]</a></td>
      		</if>
      		<if condition="$show['registerbutton']">
      			<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="register.php?$session[sessionurl]">$vbphrase[register]</a></td>
      		</if>
      		<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="faq.php?$session[sessionurl]">$vbphrase[faq]</a></td>
      		<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="memberlist.php?$session[sessionurl]">$vbphrase[members_list]</a></td>
      		<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="calendar.php?$session[sessionurl]">$vbphrase[calendar]</a></td>
      		<if condition="$show['popups']">		
      			<if condition="$show['searchbuttons']">
      				<if condition="$show['member']">
      				<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="search.php?$session[sessionurl]do=getnew">$vbphrase[new_posts_nav]</a></td>
      				<else />
      				<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="search.php?$session[sessionurl]do=getdaily">$vbphrase[todays_posts]</a></td>
      				</if>
      				<td id="navbar_search" class="vbmenu_control"><a href="search.php?$session[sessionurl]">$vbphrase[search]</a> <script type="text/javascript"> vbmenu_register("navbar_search"); </script></td>
      			</if>
      			<if condition="$bbuserinfo['userid']">
      				<td id="usercptools" class="vbmenu_control"><a href="#usercptools">$vbphrase[quick_links]</a> <script type="text/javascript"> vbmenu_register("usercptools"); </script></td>		
      			</if>
      		<else />		
      			<if condition="$show['searchbuttons']">
      				<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="search.php?$session[sessionurl]">$vbphrase[search]</a></td>
      				<if condition="$show['member']">
      				<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="search.php?$session[sessionurl]do=getnew">$vbphrase[new_posts_nav]</a></td>
      				<else />
      				<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="search.php?$session[sessionurl]do=getdaily">$vbphrase[todays_posts]</a></td>
      				</if>
      			</if>
      			<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="forumdisplay.php?$session[sessionurl]do=markread">$vbphrase[mark_forums_read]</a></td>
      			<if condition="$bbuserinfo['userid']">			
      				<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="#" onclick="window.open('misc.php?$session[sessionurl]do=buddylist&amp;focus=1','buddylist','statusbar=no,menubar=no,toolbar=no,scrollbars=yes,resizable=yes,width=250,height=300'); return false;">$vbphrase[open_buddy_list]</a></td>			
      			</if>			
      		</if>
      		<if condition="$bbuserinfo['userid']">
      			<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="login.php?$session[sessionurl]do=logout" onclick="return log_out()">$vbphrase[log_out]</a></td>
      		</if>
      	</tr>
      	</table>
      </div>
      <!-- / nav buttons bar -->

      Comment

      • envy-uk
        Member
        • Mar 2004
        • 66
        • 3.0.0 'Gold'

        #4
        Perfect, thank you.

        Comment

        • kanezfan
          Senior Member
          • Oct 2003
          • 103
          • 2.3.2

          #5
          I was directed to this thread by floris, I'd like to add two links, one to home, which would point to my home page, and one to my forums root. Also I'd like to remove some of the links up there, like I don't use FAQs and the Calendar.

          Comment

          • Neocorteqz
            Senior Member
            • Aug 2002
            • 332
            • 3.0.3

            #6
            Originally posted by kanezfan
            I was directed to this thread by floris, I'd like to add two links, one to home, which would point to my home page, and one to my forums root. Also I'd like to remove some of the links up there, like I don't use FAQs and the Calendar.
            here's what My link to the Home page/ Forums looks like using conditionals.

            Basically when you are in the forum it will say in the navbar "Portal" and when you are in the portal, it will say "Forums"

            HTML Code:
             		   <!-- Begin navbar link to forums home -->
              <if condition="THIS_SCRIPT == 'vbindex'"><td class="vbmenu_control"><a
              href="../forums.php">Forums</a></td>
              </if>
             <if condition="THIS_SCRIPT != 'vbindex'"><td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="../index.php">Portal</a></td>
              </if>
             	<!-- <td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="../forums.php" onMouseOver="window.status='http://www.nemesisforums.net/forums.php'; return true" onMouseOut="window.status=' '">Forums</a></td>-->
              		  <!-- End Navbar Link to Forum home-->
            as for removing the calendar and faq links. remove( or comment out) these two lines.

            HTML Code:
             <td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="$vboptions[bburl]/faq.php?$session[sessionurl]">$vbphrase[faq]</a></td>
            and

            HTML Code:
             <td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="$vboptions[bburl]/calendar.php?$session[sessionurl]">$vbphrase[calendar]</a></td>

            Comment

            • Nathan_R
              New Member
              • Dec 2003
              • 5
              • 2.3.2

              #7
              Thanks for the heads-up. This thread helped me out.

              Comment

              • attroll
                Senior Member
                • Jan 2003
                • 1093
                • 4.2.X

                #8
                I like what you have done Neocorteqz. But could this be done with another portal like vBadvance? I am sure it can but not sure on what to change?

                Comment

                • Neocorteqz
                  Senior Member
                  • Aug 2002
                  • 332
                  • 3.0.3

                  #9
                  Originally posted by attroll
                  I like what you have done Neocorteqz. But could this be done with another portal like vBadvance? I am sure it can but not sure on what to change?
                  Not my code to start. and without reference to vBadvanced i'm not sure how much help i can be.

                  The code will be the same if you have done the following.

                  You have renamed your adv_index.php to index.php
                  and
                  you have renamed index.php (The Forums one, not the vBadvanced one) to forums.php

                  if you have done this then, the code would be.

                  HTML Code:
                   <if condition="THIS_SCRIPT == 'adv_index'"><td class="vbmenu_control"><a
                     href="../forums.php">Forums</a></td>
                     </if>
                    <if condition="THIS_SCRIPT != 'adv_index'"><td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="../index.php">Portal</a></td>
                     </if>
                  The script is defined on line 11 of adv_index.php. which is 'adv_index' .

                  If you have named each file differently then change ../index.php and ../forums.php to what you have named each file.

                  that should do it. again, if there are any errors, this is only because i have no prior experience with vBadvanced. So check back and lemme know if it worked or not.

                  And don't forget to back up first.

                  Comment

                  • kanezfan
                    Senior Member
                    • Oct 2003
                    • 103
                    • 2.3.2

                    #10
                    It's funny, I browse this site, vbadvanced, and vbportal's, so I'll forget which one I'm on sometimes. Like just now, I'm doing what you said to do and I'm like "why does it say 'vbindex' and he posted this on vbadvanced.com??? lol stupid me. Thanks for the code though neo, it worked perfectly

                    Comment

                    • Neocorteqz
                      Senior Member
                      • Aug 2002
                      • 332
                      • 3.0.3

                      #11
                      Originally posted by kanezfan
                      It's funny, I browse this site, vbadvanced, and vbportal's, so I'll forget which one I'm on sometimes. Like just now, I'm doing what you said to do and I'm like "why does it say 'vbindex' and he posted this on vbadvanced.com??? lol stupid me. Thanks for the code though neo, it worked perfectly
                      glad it worked.

                      Comment

                      widgetinstance 262 (Related Topics) skipped due to lack of content & hide_module_if_empty option.
                      Working...