Can members reserve avatars?

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • Al Zander
    Senior Member
    • Aug 2001
    • 461

    Can members reserve avatars?

    Is there any way to reserve avatars?

    What I mean is I have only local avatars enabled (members cannot upload or link). Whenever a member chooses an avatar, that avatar remains available for anyone to choose again. Is there any way for an avatar to become "reserved" once someone chooses it, so we don't have 12 members "looking" the same?

    Thanks
  • Chen
    Senior Member
    • Jun 2001
    • 8388

    #2
    That's a kinda good idea.
    Although it might get nasty when you have too many users and too little avatars.
    Chen Avinadav
    Better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to speak out and remove all doubt.

    גם אני מאוכזב מסיקור תחרות לתור מוטור של NRG הרשת ע"י מעריב

    Comment

    • Al Zander
      Senior Member
      • Aug 2001
      • 461

      #3
      I'm thinking I'll do this until I get over 200-300 members, then I'll open the doors to uploads and links. Doesn't look like that will happen for some time though

      Comment

      • Chen
        Senior Member
        • Jun 2001
        • 8388

        #4
        I changed the code a bit, here it is.

        In member.php, replace this code:
        Code:
            eval("\$avatarlist .= \"".gettemplate("modifyavatarbit_taken")."\";");
        with this:
        Code:
            if ($istaken=$DB_site->query_first("SELECT userid FROM user WHERE avatarid='$avatarid'")) {
              eval("\$avatarlist .= \"".gettemplate("modifyavatarbit_taken")."\";");
            } else {
              eval("\$avatarlist .= \"".gettemplate("modifyavatarbit")."\";");
            }
        Now create a new template, name it modifyavatarbit_taken, and use this:
        Code:
        	<td bgcolor="{firstaltcolor[u][/u]}" valign="bottom" align="center"><normalfont>
        	Taken! <img src="$avatar[avatarpath]">
        	<br>$avatar[title]</normalfont></td>
        That's it.
        Last edited by Chen; Mon 22 Oct '01, 9:42am.
        Chen Avinadav
        Better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to speak out and remove all doubt.

        גם אני מאוכזב מסיקור תחרות לתור מוטור של NRG הרשת ע"י מעריב

        Comment

        • Al Zander
          Senior Member
          • Aug 2001
          • 461

          #5
          Will give it a try, thanks

          P.S. May be a good "On/Off" option for a future release ..... maybe?
          Last edited by Al Zander; Thu 20 Sep '01, 6:00am.

          Comment

          • Stryker
            Senior Member
            • Sep 2001
            • 553
            • 3.0.0 Beta 5

            #6
            Great idea, but it's not working for me. When I tried this all the avatars were unavailable - they wouldn't even show up to say that they are reserved. What am I doing wrong?

            Comment

            • Chen
              Senior Member
              • Jun 2001
              • 8388

              #7
              Updated code, try again.
              Chen Avinadav
              Better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to speak out and remove all doubt.

              גם אני מאוכזב מסיקור תחרות לתור מוטור של NRG הרשת ע"י מעריב

              Comment

              • Stryker
                Senior Member
                • Sep 2001
                • 553
                • 3.0.0 Beta 5

                #8
                Ok, thanks. I'll try it again in a second. When you say create a new template do you mean to click on the "add" button or the "add template set" button?

                Comment

                • Chen
                  Senior Member
                  • Jun 2001
                  • 8388

                  #9
                  The 'Add' button.
                  Chen Avinadav
                  Better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to speak out and remove all doubt.

                  גם אני מאוכזב מסיקור תחרות לתור מוטור של NRG הרשת ע"י מעריב

                  Comment

                  • Stryker
                    Senior Member
                    • Sep 2001
                    • 553
                    • 3.0.0 Beta 5

                    #10
                    Right now I'm getting somewhere. Is it necessary to add this template into each different style or can I just add it to the default style for it to take effect regardless of which style people are using?

                    Comment

                    • Chen
                      Senior Member
                      • Jun 2001
                      • 8388

                      #11
                      Add the template to each and every template set.
                      Chen Avinadav
                      Better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to speak out and remove all doubt.

                      גם אני מאוכזב מסיקור תחרות לתור מוטור של NRG הרשת ע"י מעריב

                      Comment

                      • Stryker
                        Senior Member
                        • Sep 2001
                        • 553
                        • 3.0.0 Beta 5

                        #12
                        Hey, it works perfectly, nice job! Thanks chum

                        Comment

                        • Chen
                          Senior Member
                          • Jun 2001
                          • 8388

                          #13
                          Do you mind posting a screen shot or something like that?
                          I'm interested...
                          Chen Avinadav
                          Better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to speak out and remove all doubt.

                          גם אני מאוכזב מסיקור תחרות לתור מוטור של NRG הרשת ע"י מעריב

                          Comment

                          • Stryker
                            Senior Member
                            • Sep 2001
                            • 553
                            • 3.0.0 Beta 5

                            #14
                            I will do as soon as I re-install the hack (I've just upgraded my VB). Will this code still work in VB 2.2?

                            Comment

                            • Stryker
                              Senior Member
                              • Sep 2001
                              • 553
                              • 3.0.0 Beta 5

                              #15
                              It seems to work fine with the latest version. Here's the pic I promised you...

                              Comment

                              widgetinstance 262 (Related Topics) skipped due to lack of content & hide_module_if_empty option.
                              Working...