X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • kurt
    • Jan 2001

vBulletin vs WWWThreads

Hello there,

I am a bulletin board newbie and I have been searching for a suitable discussion server package for a looooonnnnggg time.

I was so glad to finally find this site after I saw vBulletin mentioned in a 3 year old product review on a rather obscure website.

I am frankly amazed that it is such a nice product from what I can tell so far and yet it doesn't appear anywhere in the reviews of such software by people like PC Magazine etc.

in my opinion all of the other ones like webcrossing, webboard etc are overpriced and inferior products. I would have likely been using a package like vBulletin long ago if I had known it existed.

I have downloaded and installed the test site vBulletin lite that is available to try out.

It wasn't terribly easy to install all of the bits and pieces necessary to make it work but I did muddle through it.

unlike most of you I am not a web programmer although we do have one on staff but he's quite busy on customer projects right now.

so I'm spearheading this project to acquire a topflight discussion server package that we can easily integrate within our website environment.

I have narrowed down my review to just 2 products, vBulletin and WWWThreads.

I am at the point of wanting to make a purchasing decision right away since we are planning to launch a board that we expect will become quite popular in our industry.

at this point I have 2 main questions for those of you who are more familiar with these products than I:

1. I would like to know in your opinion the main advantages of vBulletin over WWWThreads (W3T).

in my limited view it seems they are almost identical except that W3T offers a threaded mode and vBulletin only offers a linear, or flat, message view.

at this point I am leaning more towards W3T but vBulletin was the initial product I found and I like the look and feel of the sister site to this one running vBulletin, VB Q & A forum.