• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • rexall
    • Nov 2012

Is VB5 Necessary?

Wed 28 Nov 2012, 7:22 pm

Hi All,

Newbie here. New to vB. Not tech savvy. Be nice, please!

Purchased vB5. Not installed yet. Just finished reading a LOOOONG thread on another forum. Paraphrasing here, but I think the consensus was that the social networking and other fancy features of vB5 have supplanted or overwhelmed the classic forum features that people prefer and feel loyal to in vB4. This included the familiar debate about whether (classic) forums are dead, being replaced by Facebook, et al. Without enough experience to make a proper evaluation, my sympathies were definitely with those who prefer a classic forum without the bloat. Certainly a little bit of something like social networking would be an enhancement, as long as it does not diminish the forum's role as a medium for intelligent discussion as opposed to trivial pursuit. But that's me; I don't even have a Facebook account!

Two questions that will hopefully stimulate some discussion:

1. If for whatever reason I wanted to install vB4, and never upgrade to vB5, would that be reasonable? Would that work indefinitely? Or will vB4 soon become obsolete and unsupported, and I will be forced to upgrade anyway?

2. Do you follow and agree or disagree with he point that vB5 is now less like a forum and more like a social networking hybrid or something?

Thanks for your feedback.

Rex
    Khon Kaen, Thailand
    Last edited by Trevor Hannant; Wed 28 Nov '12, 3:50am. Reason: Email address removed
  • Trevor Hannant
    vBulletin Support
    • Aug 2002
    • 5.7.X

1. You can download and install any version you like that you have access to. The license is a 'lifetime' license so you can continue running vB4 as long as you like. Be aware however that at some point in the future, vB4 will be classed as End Of Life' and not supported should you choose never to run vB5.