How To: Show breadcrumbs also at the bottom of a page.

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • Mark.B
    vBulletin Support
    • Feb 2004
    • 24286
    • 6.0.X

    #16
    Originally posted by IggyP
    anyone know of a way to do this for vb4?
    vBulletin 4 uses completely different code so this won't work at all.
    i believe a modification exists on vbulletin.org though.
    MARK.B
    vBulletin Support
    ------------
    My Unofficial vBulletin 6.0.0 Demo: https://www.talknewsuk.com
    My Unofficial vBulletin Cloud Demo: https://www.adminammo.com

    Comment


    • IggyP
      IggyP commented
      Editing a comment
      i am aware the canyon between versions..i did see lynes work there tho i intend to test for modern php and setup soon. thank you
  • lottidah
    Senior Member
    • Dec 2004
    • 214

    #17
    Originally posted by TimNL
    I like the idea of having the breadcrumbs on the top of the page, but I would also like to have them at the bottom of the page.

    With vB5 it is very simple to do. I love the way hooks work. If you also would like to have breadcrumbs at the bottom of the page, follow these simple steps:
    1. Go to AdminCP -> Style Manager -> Add New Template
    2. Name the Title breadcrumbs_footer
    3. In the Template use the following code:
      Code:
      <vb:if condition="$page['crumbs']">
      {vb:set breadcrumbSchema.itemprop, breadcrumb}
      <ul id="breadcrumbs" class="h-clearfix" {vb:schema {vb:raw breadcrumbSchema}}>
      <li class="crumb ellipsis"><a class="crumb-link" href="{vb:raw baseurl}/">{vb:phrase home}</a></li>
      <vb:each from="page.crumbs" value="crumb">
      <vb:if condition="isset($crumb['phrase']) AND !empty($crumb['phrase'])">
      {vb:set crumbTitle, {vb:rawphrase {vb:raw crumb.phrase}}}
      <vb:else />
      {vb:set crumbTitle, {vb:raw crumb.title}}
      </vb:if>
      <li class="vb-icon separator"></li>
      <li class="crumb ellipsis"><vb:if condition="$crumb['url']"><a class="crumb-link" href="{vb:raw baseurl}{vb:raw crumb.url}">{vb:raw crumbTitle}</a><vb:else />{vb:raw crumbTitle}</vb:if></li>
      </vb:each>
      </ul>
      <vb:else />
      </vb:if>
    4. Click Save
    5. Go to Products & Hooks -> Manage Hooks -> Add New Hook
    6. Select for Hook Location footer_start
    7. Give the hook a Title, for example Breadcrumbs Footer
    8. In the field Template Name fill out breadcrumbs_footer
    9. In Hook Arguments put:
      Code:
      page=page
    10. Click Save
    That's it! You will now have your breadcrumbs directly above your Footer!
    Can someone please assist? I have a 5.4.1 forum (self-hosted) but do not see "Add New Template" in my AdminCP Style Manager. Not sure how to implement this since I can't complete the first step. I'm sure I'm overlooking something obvious.

    Thanks for any assistance.

    Comment

    • Wayne Luke
      vBulletin Technical Support Lead
      • Aug 2000
      • 73981

      #18
      Originally posted by lottidah

      Can someone please assist? I have a 5.4.1 forum (self-hosted) but do not see "Add New Template" in my AdminCP Style Manager. Not sure how to implement this since I can't complete the first step. I'm sure I'm overlooking something obvious.

      Thanks for any assistance.
      Click image for larger version

Name:	2018-06-03_11-35-16.png
Views:	316
Size:	74.8 KB
ID:	4392532

      Translations provided by Google.

      Wayne Luke
      The Rabid Badger - a vBulletin Cloud demonstration site.
      vBulletin 5 API

      Comment

      • lottidah
        Senior Member
        • Dec 2004
        • 214

        #19
        Originally posted by Wayne Luke
        Click image for larger version

Name:	2018-06-03_11-35-16.png
Views:	316
Size:	74.8 KB
ID:	4392532
        Ha, I feel dumb. Thanks for the assistance!!

        Comment

        • bootsie1
          Senior Member
          • Jun 2017
          • 150
          • 5.3.x

          #20
          There is a product i created for this @Vborg here with a few tweaks i created with full credit given to the original author in copyright notice in the footer
          Cometbar

          DartsLeague

          Comment

          • TravelTalk
            Member
            • Jun 2013
            • 66
            • 4.2.X

            #21
            I see this is a year old thread, figure I would ask here
            I'm using VB 5.5.2 with VB Cloud

            I copied the code and placed as a New Templete, etc
            went to Hooks & Products, added a new Hook, etc........

            Where the bottom of page breadcrumbs should be I have the following instead ( the 2nd and 3rd line is actually one total line )

            {vb:set breadcrumbSchema.itemprop, breadcrumb}
            vbhrase home}{vb:raw crumbTitle}{vb:raw crumbTitle>
            {vb:set crumbTitle, {vb:rawphrase {vb:raw crumb.phrase}}} {vb:set crumbTitle, {vb:raw crumb.title}}

            I will note that in Hooks the Execution Order is pre-set to 10, not sure if that makes a difference or not.

            Any help would be appreciated

            Thanks

            Comment

            • TravelTalk
              Member
              • Jun 2013
              • 66
              • 4.2.X

              #22
              I"ll add that when i did a new templete I Didn't do it from the Default style check box, I did it in the actually Style name
              in my style manager I have Default, and Two styles checked for my site giving posters the option to change styles

              So maybe I should add the breadcrumbs to the Default option ?

              Comment

              • Wayne Luke
                vBulletin Technical Support Lead
                • Aug 2000
                • 73981

                #23
                This code won't work on Cloud at this time. You cannot use vBulletin markup in templates on Cloud.
                Translations provided by Google.

                Wayne Luke
                The Rabid Badger - a vBulletin Cloud demonstration site.
                vBulletin 5 API

                Comment

                • TravelTalk
                  Member
                  • Jun 2013
                  • 66
                  • 4.2.X

                  #24
                  Originally posted by Wayne Luke
                  This code won't work on Cloud at this time. You cannot use vBulletin markup in templates on Cloud.
                  Thanks wayne

                  So there's no way of putting a 2nd set of Breadcrumbs on my forum pages ?

                  Comment

                  • TravelTalk
                    Member
                    • Jun 2013
                    • 66
                    • 4.2.X

                    #25
                    also, how do I get rid of what I did with the extra template ? Revert ?

                    Comment

                    • Wayne Luke
                      vBulletin Technical Support Lead
                      • Aug 2000
                      • 73981

                      #26
                      There is no way to add a second set of Breadcrumbs in Cloud. Reverting a custom template will delete it.
                      Translations provided by Google.

                      Wayne Luke
                      The Rabid Badger - a vBulletin Cloud demonstration site.
                      vBulletin 5 API

                      Comment

                      • imager
                        Senior Member
                        • May 2006
                        • 382

                        #27
                        I've tried to implement this hack but nothing is showing (vBulletin 5.5.5 self-hosted). Does anyone have this running on 5.5.5 - did you need to do anything to get it to work?

                        Comment


                        • imager
                          imager commented
                          Editing a comment
                          I got it to work but the result isn't an exact clone in style of the original (see later post)
                      • delicjous
                        Senior Member
                        • Mar 2014
                        • 499
                        • 6.X

                        #28
                        If it is only for user-experience you could do somthing like this (works also with cloud-forum!!!).

                        HTML Code:
                        <script>
                        $(document).ready(function() {
                            $( ".breadcrumbs-wrapper" ).clone().insertBefore( "#footer" );
                        })</script>

                        Comment

                        • imager
                          Senior Member
                          • May 2006
                          • 382

                          #29
                          Originally posted by delicjous
                          If it is only for user-experience you could do somthing like this (works also with cloud-forum!!!).

                          HTML Code:
                          <script>
                          $(document).ready(function() {
                          $( ".breadcrumbs-wrapper" ).clone().insertBefore( "#footer" );
                          })</script>
                          Where would this be inserted?

                          Comment

                          • lottidah
                            Senior Member
                            • Dec 2004
                            • 214

                            #30
                            Since our update to version 5.6.1 (from 5.5.2), our bottom breadcrumbs don't look right. Below is a screenshot of the top breadcrumbs and the bottom breadcrumbs. How do I get the bottom one to look like the top? Thanks

                            Attached Files

                            Comment

                            Related Topics

                            Collapse

                            Working...