X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • dannycsz
    • Sep 2010

delete private message error

as an admin, i want to delete private messages in sent folder. when i select the message to delete, it gives me an error.

happens to several messages returning the same error message invalid data.(invalid_data)
  • Wayne Luke
    vBulletin Technical Support Lead
    • Aug 2000

Find the same message in your Inbox and delete it from there. The Sent folder is a holdover from vBulletin 4.X. However since all private messages are actually threaded topics now, they can be managed from the Inbox.
    Translations provided by Google.

Wayne Luke
    The Rabid Badger - a vBulletin Cloud demonstration site.
    vBulletin 5 API

Comment

• dannycsz
      • Sep 2010

it is not inside the inbox.

Originally posted by Wayne Luke
      Find the same message in your Inbox and delete it from there. The Sent folder is a holdover from vBulletin 4.X. However since all private messages are actually threaded topics now, they can be managed from the Inbox.

Comment

• Wayne Luke
        • Aug 2000

Then you can't delete it at this time.

Wayne Luke
        vBulletin 5 API

Comment

• dannycsz
          • Sep 2010

then how can i delete in future? looks like it is a lost child or something. i got quite a number of such topics

Then you can't delete it at this time.

Comment

• Wayne Luke
            • Aug 2000

The only way to delete private messages at this time is from the Inbox.

Wayne Luke
            vBulletin 5 API

Comment

• dannycsz
              • Sep 2010

thank you. is this an issue that the technical team is looking into?

the issue came about only after upgrade from vb4 to vb5.

in vb4, those threads are deleted from the inbox and there are no threads in the sent folder. after upgrade, all these threads came back.

before upgrade, i had like 50 threads in the sent folder. after upgrade, i have like 200 pages of 10 threads in each page.