VB Optimization

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • Cfleet1
    Senior Member
    • Jun 2013
    • 191
    • 6.0.X

    VB Optimization

    So ive had problems in the past with my host so they upgraded us to dedicated for free. For a month or so we have been flying fast. But now the pages load really slow intermittently. Its inconsistent. Dealing with tech support they say they need to optimize the server but first i need to figure out what needs to be done with my forum? I just dont understand that technical stuff. What would need to be done from my admin pov to optimize VB?

    This is the last message from them

    "​​​​​​Due to our check, the server resources are not loaded. Overall performance can be increased with server configuration optimization and website optimization. We can definitely help with server configuration optimization, but your web-developer should make a glance on the website and tell us what we need to change".
  • Wayne Luke
    vBulletin Technical Support Lead
    • Aug 2000
    • 73979

    #2
    Unfortunately, your description of the problem is too broad. Where is the server slowing down? Is it the database, PHP processing, Time To First Byte, Page Rendering?

    When you load the page in a browser like Google Chrome or Firefox, what does the Network Tab say?

    When I visit your site as a guest, without any data in my browser cache, it loads fairly quick. The slow down appears to be all the user avatars at the bottom of the page. Each one requires a network request and even if it is a few milliseconds per request it adds up. You're also requesting some javascript from oembed.com that returns a 404 error. This can cause problems.
    Translations provided by Google.

    Wayne Luke
    The Rabid Badger - a vBulletin Cloud demonstration site.
    vBulletin 5 API

    Comment

    • Cfleet1
      Senior Member
      • Jun 2013
      • 191
      • 6.0.X

      #3
      Hey thanks Wayne. I appreciate you checking it out. Thats just what the tech support guys say. It happens a lot when we click on a thread from the index page. The home page. It takes around 10-20 seconds to load sometimes. Im not getting any errors or anything.

      the avatars at the bottom are a plug in to show who has been online. Never slowed us down before. Interesting. Its such a small forum on a huge dedicated server im shocked that anything we do would slow it down.

      Could you explain more about the javascript? Is there a fix for that?

      Comment

      • Wayne Luke
        vBulletin Technical Support Lead
        • Aug 2000
        • 73979

        #4
        Unfrotunately, we need information to try and diagnose any issue. Slow Query Logs from the database, PHP Errors, Apache Logs showing pages taking a long time to be delivered are all information that we can use.

        You're longer threads will take longer to load. Simply a matter of processing all the data. The more modules you place on a page, the longer it will take to process. There are many things that affect how a page loads.

        To fix the third-party javascript, find where it is being included and then either have the addon author fix that inclusion or remove the addon from your system.
        Translations provided by Google.

        Wayne Luke
        The Rabid Badger - a vBulletin Cloud demonstration site.
        vBulletin 5 API

        Comment

        • Cfleet1
          Senior Member
          • Jun 2013
          • 191
          • 6.0.X

          #5
          I give up. My tech said its a VB issue. So i dont have a clue what to do. I would need a VB guy to look in cpanel it sounds like. At this point im just prepared to let it run slow. And stop buying 3rd party plug ins. I hate that i dont have a clue what to do.

          Comment

          • Wayne Luke
            vBulletin Technical Support Lead
            • Aug 2000
            • 73979

            #6
            Your tech has the information we need. We need error logs, slow query logs, access logs. Without it, we don't even know what the problem is. I don't experience any issues when visiting your site as a guest. I don't have an account on your site and I am not going to register one. If you want use to log in and check things, then you need to provide an account with Admin Access via a Support ticket.

            I don't mean to be harsh here but we have been provided no information on how to solve or even experience the problem.
            Translations provided by Google.

            Wayne Luke
            The Rabid Badger - a vBulletin Cloud demonstration site.
            vBulletin 5 API

            Comment

            • Cfleet1
              Senior Member
              • Jun 2013
              • 191
              • 6.0.X

              #7
              Originally posted by Wayne Luke
              Your tech has the information we need. We need error logs, slow query logs, access logs. Without it, we don't even know what the problem is. I don't experience any issues when visiting your site as a guest. I don't have an account on your site and I am not going to register one. If you want use to log in and check things, then you need to provide an account with Admin Access via a Support ticket.

              I don't mean to be harsh here but we have been provided no information on how to solve or even experience the problem.
              So im prepared to pay for tech support with VB. I really dont know what else to do. Namecheap game me the apache logs. But even the instructions to get the logs off my cpanel were effing confusing. Im just so frustrated wit this. I have spent so much money with Glenn to have this awesome forum and it always has some issue. It is still snagging when i hit the last post icon from the main index. It also snags when i hit the last post icon from any of the forums. As wll as when i click the banner to refresh it happens often.

              I need to pay a tech to go in and fix this. Namecheap upgraded us to a free dedicated server. It was lightning fast and now its taking 10-20 seconds sometimes to load pages. I hate to sound so clueless but i am. When it comes to this technical stuff i am.

              Who do i contact to go in and look at my error logs and give me the information i need to give to namecheap so they can set the server settings?

              Comment

              • Mark.B
                vBulletin Support
                • Feb 2004
                • 24286
                • 6.0.X

                #8
                If it was fast but is now slow, it could be worth emptying the following three tables, using the following queries:
                Code:
                DELETE FROM cache
                DELETE FROM cacheevent
                DELETE FROM searchlog
                Note: DO NOT run these queries on any other table - you will break your site permanently!
                MARK.B
                vBulletin Support
                ------------
                My Unofficial vBulletin 6.0.0 Demo: https://www.talknewsuk.com
                My Unofficial vBulletin Cloud Demo: https://www.adminammo.com

                Comment

                • Cfleet1
                  Senior Member
                  • Jun 2013
                  • 191
                  • 6.0.X

                  #9
                  Originally posted by Mark.B
                  If it was fast but is now slow, it could be worth emptying the following three tables, using the following queries:
                  Code:
                  DELETE FROM cache
                  DELETE FROM cacheevent
                  DELETE FROM searchlog
                  Note: DO NOT run these queries on any other table - you will break your site permanently!
                  Mark i appreciate the response. Not sure how to do this. Again i apologize i just dont speak the same computer lingo you guys do...so when you post this its like another language. Where is that even located?

                  Comment

                  • Cfleet1
                    Senior Member
                    • Jun 2013
                    • 191
                    • 6.0.X

                    #10
                    These are the apache logs.

                    ​​​​​​Apache Error logs:
                    ==================

                    [Sun Mar 11 04:53:22.692671 2018] [core:error] [pid 8901:tid 139994400261888] [client 180.97.35.20:52616] AH00524: Handler for (null) returned invalid result code 70008, referer: http://www.thepowderblues.com/forum/
                    [Mon Mar 12 01:43:55.053106 2018] [core:error] [pid 24550:tid 139994450618112] [client 24.241.251.75:64323] AH00524: Handler for (null) returned invalid result code 70008, referer: http://www.thepowderblues.com/forum/...chargers-forum
                    [Thu Mar 15 01:05:11.222810 2018] [core:error] [pid 3546:tid 139994554656512] [client 159.117.186.13:43789] AH00524: Handler for (null) returned invalid result code 70007, referer: http://www.thepowderblues.com/forum/...tyrann-mathieu
                    [Thu Mar 15 23:16:57.040004 2018] [core:error] [pid 26412:tid 139994341512960] [client 107.77.169.3:9719] AH00524: Handler for (null) returned invalid result code 70008, referer: http://www.thepowderblues.com/forum/...iego-Chargers=
                    [Sat Mar 17 22:56:34.676028 2018] [core:error] [pid 13786:tid 139994459010816] [client 115.239.212.136:49567] AH00524: Handler for (null) returned invalid result code 70008, referer: http://www.thepowderblues.com/forum/
                    [Sun Mar 18 00:09:56.687313 2018] [core:error] [pid 28624:tid 139994324727552] [client 95.24.94.142:40035] AH00524: Handler for (null) returned invalid result code 70008, referer: http://www.thepowderblues.com/forum/
                    [Fri Mar 23 05:45:25.364863 2018] [core:error] [pid 27408:tid 139994433832704] [client 54.214.218.149:53790] AH00524: Handler for (null) returned invalid result code 70008, referer: http://www.thepowderblues.com/forum/
                    [Wed Mar 28 19:58:36.943094 2018] [core:error] [pid 6279:tid 139994554656512] [client 14.215.176.16:51430] AH00524: Handler for (null) returned invalid result code 70008, referer: http://www.thepowderblues.com/forum/
                    [Thu Mar 29 02:12:25.342622 2018] [core:error] [pid 21578:tid 139994358298368] [client 190.105.171.218:44521] AH00524: Handler for (null) returned invalid result code 70008, referer: http://www.thepowderblues.com/forum/...th-pick/page27
                    [Sat Apr 07 23:01:03.118402 2018] [core:error] [pid 30710:tid 139847238915840] [client 36.85.236.3:56422] AH00524: Handler for (null) returned invalid result code 70008, referer: http://www.thepowderblues.com/forum/...chargers-forum
                    [Mon Apr 09 06:53:11.238408 2018] [core:error] [pid 22208:tid 139847104632576] [client 36.85.236.3:3006] AH00524: Handler for (null) returned invalid result code 70008, referer: http://www.thepowderblues.com/forum/...ay-fleet/page2
                    [Sat Apr 14 08:33:19.075824 2018] [core:error] [pid 21966:tid 139847230523136] [client 54.226.204.35:53178] AH00524: Handler for (null) returned invalid result code 70008, referer: http://www.thepowderblues.com/forum/
                    [Fri Apr 20 00:34:03.161519 2018] [core:error] [pid 26645:tid 140678684169984] [client 98.173.44.19:47069] AH00524: Handler for (null) returned invalid result code 70007, referer: http://www.thepowderblues.com/forum/...chargers-forum

                    ===================

                    Comment

                    • Mark.B
                      vBulletin Support
                      • Feb 2004
                      • 24286
                      • 6.0.X

                      #11
                      Originally posted by Cfleet1

                      Mark i appreciate the response. Not sure how to do this. Again i apologize i just dont speak the same computer lingo you guys do...so when you post this its like another language. Where is that even located?
                      That's ok. We have instructions.

                      You can run queries within the vBulletin Admin Control Panel by going to Maintenance -> Execute SQL Queries.
                      Enter the queries one at a time and submit, then confirm.

                      Chances are when you try this, you will get a 'not authorised' error. If so:

                      To run Queries in the Admin Control Panel you need to edit your core/includes/config.php file and add your user ID to the Can Run Queries section. It looks like:
                      PHP Code:
                          //    ****** USERS WITH QUERY RUNNING PERMISSIONS ******
                          //    The users specified here will be allowed to run queries from the control panel.
                          //    See the above entries for more information on the format.
                          //    Please note that the ability to run queries is quite powerful. You may wish
                          //    to remove all user IDs from this list for security reasons.
                      $config['SpecialUsers']['canrunqueries'] = ''

                      Place your user id between the single quotes.

                      eg if your admin account has the userid '1', (which most are by default), it would look like this:
                      PHP Code:
                      $config['SpecialUsers']['canrunqueries'] = '1'

                      Save the file and upload it back to the server.
                      Then go back to the first step and you should have permission.

                      As an alternative, your host may offer something like phpMyAdmin as part of their cPanel....if so you can run the queries there instead. Or even ask the hosts to run them for you, if they are being helpful.

                      If you are still struggling to get this done, please raise a ticket, include a link back to this thread and provide your ftp credentials, we will run them for you.
                      You can raise a ticket here: http://www.vbulletin.com/go/techsupport
                      MARK.B
                      vBulletin Support
                      ------------
                      My Unofficial vBulletin 6.0.0 Demo: https://www.talknewsuk.com
                      My Unofficial vBulletin Cloud Demo: https://www.adminammo.com

                      Comment

                      • Cfleet1
                        Senior Member
                        • Jun 2013
                        • 191
                        • 6.0.X

                        #12
                        Originally posted by Mark.B

                        That's ok. We have instructions.

                        You can run queries within the vBulletin Admin Control Panel by going to Maintenance -> Execute SQL Queries.
                        Enter the queries one at a time and submit, then confirm.

                        Chances are when you try this, you will get a 'not authorised' error. If so:

                        To run Queries in the Admin Control Panel you need to edit your core/includes/config.php file and add your user ID to the Can Run Queries section. It looks like:
                        PHP Code:
                         // ****** USERS WITH QUERY RUNNING PERMISSIONS ******
                        // The users specified here will be allowed to run queries from the control panel.
                        // See the above entries for more information on the format.
                        // Please note that the ability to run queries is quite powerful. You may wish
                        // to remove all user IDs from this list for security reasons.
                        $config['SpecialUsers']['canrunqueries'] = ''

                        Place your user id between the single quotes.

                        eg if your admin account has the userid '1', (which most are by default), it would look like this:
                        PHP Code:
                        $config['SpecialUsers']['canrunqueries'] = '1'

                        Save the file and upload it back to the server.
                        Then go back to the first step and you should have permission.

                        As an alternative, your host may offer something like phpMyAdmin as part of their cPanel....if so you can run the queries there instead. Or even ask the hosts to run them for you, if they are being helpful.

                        If you are still struggling to get this done, please raise a ticket, include a link back to this thread and provide your ftp credentials, we will run them for you.
                        You can raise a ticket here: http://www.vbulletin.com/go/techsupport
                        You know im just gonna see of Glenn can do this. I will delete my forum somehow. lol I guess the fact you are even trying to help me gives me hope. I think for me the issue is having to always spend cash to fix the persistent issues. So i often wonder if its just best i move my community to a free forum. We never had issues for 10 years using VB4. I dont know if its a 5 issue or not but we ran our forum virtually problem free for years. It was after the upgrade and moving to Namecheap that seemed to be when all the issues started.

                        Can i just call VB and give them my credit card? And have a tech do this stuff? Glenn is hard to get ahold of these days.

                        Comment

                        • Mark.B
                          vBulletin Support
                          • Feb 2004
                          • 24286
                          • 6.0.X

                          #13
                          Originally posted by Cfleet1

                          You know im just gonna see of Glenn can do this. I will delete my forum somehow. lol I guess the fact you are even trying to help me gives me hope. I think for me the issue is having to always spend cash to fix the persistent issues. So i often wonder if its just best i move my community to a free forum. We never had issues for 10 years using VB4. I dont know if its a 5 issue or not but we ran our forum virtually problem free for years. It was after the upgrade and moving to Namecheap that seemed to be when all the issues started.

                          Can i just call VB and give them my credit card? And have a tech do this stuff? Glenn is hard to get ahold of these days.
                          For running the queries, just put a ticket in, as I suggested. No need to be paying anyone for that.

                          vB5 is more resource hungry than vB4, but from personal experience I'd have to say Namecheap isn't the greatest of hosts, to be honest. If a dedicated server is causing performance issues than it's under-resourced, basly-configured, or potentially both.

                          vB don't offer optimisation services, it'd possibly be something Glenn might pick up though.
                          MARK.B
                          vBulletin Support
                          ------------
                          My Unofficial vBulletin 6.0.0 Demo: https://www.talknewsuk.com
                          My Unofficial vBulletin Cloud Demo: https://www.adminammo.com

                          Comment

                          • Cfleet1
                            Senior Member
                            • Jun 2013
                            • 191
                            • 6.0.X

                            #14
                            Originally posted by Mark.B

                            For running the queries, just put a ticket in, as I suggested. No need to be paying anyone for that.

                            vB5 is more resource hungry than vB4, but from personal experience I'd have to say Namecheap isn't the greatest of hosts, to be honest. If a dedicated server is causing performance issues than it's under-resourced, basly-configured, or potentially both.

                            vB don't offer optimisation services, it'd possibly be something Glenn might pick up though.
                            Thanks Mark. Glenn said he would look at it tonight. If he cant see an issue ill put in a ticket. Namecheap said the server has zero optimization at this point. They are waiting for us to tell them waht they need. lol

                            I guess they think that the VB forum can be optimized from the admin panel and we can make suggestions on what to do to the server. lol I swear its just really confusing to me. I should have just gone with cloud from the start.

                            Comment

                            • Mark.B
                              vBulletin Support
                              • Feb 2004
                              • 24286
                              • 6.0.X

                              #15
                              Originally posted by Cfleet1

                              Thanks Mark. Glenn said he would look at it tonight. If he cant see an issue ill put in a ticket. Namecheap said the server has zero optimization at this point. They are waiting for us to tell them waht they need. lol

                              I guess they think that the VB forum can be optimized from the admin panel and we can make suggestions on what to do to the server. lol I swear its just really confusing to me. I should have just gone with cloud from the start.
                              The first step is to get those three queries run. Before anything else is messed with. It is the simplest of tasks. We've even offered to do it for you!
                              If those tables have become massive for any reason, that can cause the issues you are experiencing.
                              MARK.B
                              vBulletin Support
                              ------------
                              My Unofficial vBulletin 6.0.0 Demo: https://www.talknewsuk.com
                              My Unofficial vBulletin Cloud Demo: https://www.adminammo.com

                              Comment

                              widgetinstance 262 (Related Topics) skipped due to lack of content & hide_module_if_empty option.
                              Working...