v5.3.4 - List of Topics in Forum have wrong Last Post information

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • alfreema
    Senior Member
    • Sep 2017
    • 144
    • 5.3.x

    v5.3.4 - List of Topics in Forum have wrong Last Post information

    So my users are consistently seeing weirdness, and I was able to replicate it. If this already has a ticket created, please just send me the link to that ticket and I will follow it.

    Problem: When you drill into a forum the Last Post information is wrong (usually old) for active threads.

    Example: On our Men's Basketball forum you will see a Topic titled 2017-18 National Poll Rankings and it's showing the Last Post is by Play Angry 4 hours ago. This is a quite active (at the moment) topic, and there have been lots of posts in the last 4 hours.

    What is really crazy is that the avatar is CORRECT, but the user and last past time stamp is incorrect. So I viewed the source, and sure enough there are different userids for the poster and the avatar:

    Code:
    <td class="cell-lastpost">
    <span class="h-hide-on-large h-hide-on-wide-column">Last Post</span>
    <a href="https://shockernet.net/member/3516-play-angry" class="avatar  h-left">
        <img src="./core/image.php?userid=[COLOR=#0000FF][B]1149[/B][/COLOR]&amp;thumb=1&amp;dateline=1481897487" alt="Play Angry" title="Play Angry">
    </a>
    <div class="lastpost-by">
        by <a href="https://shockernet.net/member/[COLOR=#0000FF][B]3516[/B][/COLOR]-play-angry">Play Angry</a>
    </div>
    <span class="post-date">4 hours ago</span>
    <a href="https://shockernet.net/forum/wichita-state-athletics/wichita-state-men-s-basketball/23569-2017-18-national-poll-rankings?p=1086981" class="go-to-last-post" title="Go to last post">&nbsp;</a>
    ...
    </td>
    So at least some of the Last Post information is correct and available (the avatar IS the last poster's avatar), but some of it is old and incorrect.

    This problem doesn't seem to rear it's head on older posts, just really active ones.

    Also, I tried disabling Glenn Vergara's mods just to make sure I didn't have a mod problem, and it didn't change the results at all.
  • plongeur.com
    Senior Member
    • Mar 2017
    • 239
    • 5.2.x

    #2
    Hi,

    I have the same problem, it goes off if you truncate the cache table, so i ended up scheduling a daily truncate of cache, cacheevent and searchlog tables.
    But it still apears sometime beteween to truncate, i am considering scheduling it hourly....

    It would be nice to have a fix, or maybe disable DB caching whatsoever.

    Comment

    • alfreema
      Senior Member
      • Sep 2017
      • 144
      • 5.3.x

      #3
      I think the need to clear the searchlog has already been fixed in v5.3.4, so maybe we just need to truncate cache and cacheevent now?

      Comment

      • alfreema
        Senior Member
        • Sep 2017
        • 144
        • 5.3.x

        #4
        Originally posted by plongeur.com
        Hi,

        I have the same problem, it goes off if you truncate the cache table, so i ended up scheduling a daily truncate of cache, cacheevent and searchlog tables.
        But it still apears sometime beteween to truncate, i am considering scheduling it hourly....

        It would be nice to have a fix, or maybe disable DB caching whatsoever.
        Did you just cron up a mysql script outside of vb5 to do that?

        Comment


        • plongeur.com
          plongeur.com commented
          Editing a comment
          Yes, I did it with the server crontab.
      • Wayne Luke
        vBulletin Technical Support Lead
        • Aug 2000
        • 73976

        #5
        You should clear the cache. Truncating the searchlog can help with performance but doesn't store last post information.

        Disabling DB Caching would be bad for the performance of your site.
        Translations provided by Google.

        Wayne Luke
        The Rabid Badger - a vBulletin Cloud demonstration site.
        vBulletin 5 API

        Comment

        • alfreema
          Senior Member
          • Sep 2017
          • 144
          • 5.3.x

          #6
          Originally posted by Wayne Luke
          You should clear the cache. Truncating the searchlog can help with performance but doesn't store last post information.

          Disabling DB Caching would be bad for the performance of your site.
          See any harm in me truncating those two tables (cache and cacheevent) every 10 minutes?

          Comment

          • Mark.B
            vBulletin Support
            • Feb 2004
            • 24286
            • 6.0.X

            #7
            Originally posted by alfreema

            See any harm in me truncating those two tables (cache and cacheevent) every 10 minutes?
            There shouldn't be no. Possible minor performance hit but nothing that should be too concerning unless you have masses of traffic.
            It ought not to be necessary though.

            I have seen this behaviour on this site I have to say, though not for quite a while.
            MARK.B
            vBulletin Support
            ------------
            My Unofficial vBulletin 6.0.0 Demo: https://www.talknewsuk.com
            My Unofficial vBulletin Cloud Demo: https://www.adminammo.com

            Comment

            • alfreema
              Senior Member
              • Sep 2017
              • 144
              • 5.3.x

              #8
              Okay, I definitely have this problem and it's happening consistently so I have cron'd up a job to truncate cache and cacheevent every 10 minutes. Seems to be working a LOT better now. Perhaps v5.3.4 reintroduced this issue? I'd consider reopening a ticket since at least two customers are both having the issue on v5.3.4.

              Comment

              • Mark.B
                vBulletin Support
                • Feb 2004
                • 24286
                • 6.0.X

                #9
                Originally posted by alfreema
                Okay, I definitely have this problem and it's happening consistently so I have cron'd up a job to truncate cache and cacheevent every 10 minutes. Seems to be working a LOT better now. Perhaps v5.3.4 reintroduced this issue? I'd consider reopening a ticket since at least two customers are both having the issue on v5.3.4.
                I suspect a bug tracker entry might be more productive...I don't think there's much we in support can do about this. Probably needs developer input.
                MARK.B
                vBulletin Support
                ------------
                My Unofficial vBulletin 6.0.0 Demo: https://www.talknewsuk.com
                My Unofficial vBulletin Cloud Demo: https://www.adminammo.com

                Comment

                • Wayne Luke
                  vBulletin Technical Support Lead
                  • Aug 2000
                  • 73976

                  #10
                  Please open a new JIRA and point to the old one. You can even use the scary word "Regression" in the JIRA and someone will investigate.
                  Translations provided by Google.

                  Wayne Luke
                  The Rabid Badger - a vBulletin Cloud demonstration site.
                  vBulletin 5 API

                  Comment

                  • plongeur.com
                    Senior Member
                    • Mar 2017
                    • 239
                    • 5.2.x

                    #11
                    I actually saw this behavior on this very site once or twice.

                    Ok my site, I have to say it seems to happen more often when some specific users reply.
                    I went to an hourly schedule and I think it will be enough.

                    I wouldn't say it is a regression as I have it since I upgraded to 5.2.5 in April. I was on 3.0.x before.

                    Comment

                    • alfreema
                      Senior Member
                      • Sep 2017
                      • 144
                      • 5.3.x

                      #12
                      I just upgraded to 5.5.4 and this problem came back. It either came back because because my cron jobs were removed during the upgrade, or there is a regression issue -- I'm not sure. But it's definitely back.

                      Comment

                      • alfreema
                        Senior Member
                        • Sep 2017
                        • 144
                        • 5.3.x

                        #13
                        Ah, I had to upgrade to a new version of PHP so we updated to a new lampstack, and my cron job was referencing the old lampstack. So this is still broken, and still requires a manual truncation of the cache table to get it working properly.

                        Comment

                        • Mark.B
                          vBulletin Support
                          • Feb 2004
                          • 24286
                          • 6.0.X

                          #14
                          I've not seen this on any site for a long time now.

                          However, as before, if you believe it's still broken please raise a bug in the tracker with full details, so the developers can review it.
                          MARK.B
                          vBulletin Support
                          ------------
                          My Unofficial vBulletin 6.0.0 Demo: https://www.talknewsuk.com
                          My Unofficial vBulletin Cloud Demo: https://www.adminammo.com

                          Comment

                          • alfreema
                            Senior Member
                            • Sep 2017
                            • 144
                            • 5.3.x

                            #15
                            Can you help me find the original JIRA (not sure what a JIRA is, but I think that's the bug name)?

                            Comment

                            Related Topics

                            Collapse

                            Working...