Moved threads keeping previous forum name in url link ...

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • goxy63
    • Sep 2008

Moved threads keeping previous forum name in url link ...

When thread is moved to proper forum in url link we can see previous forum name which is confusing for me and also few members.
    This is probably even bad for SEO but I am not an expert for this, is there any way to change this?
    I dont remember that I had this problem with VB4

Thank you for help
  • Mark.B
    vBulletin Support
    • Feb 2004
    • 6.0.X

This is intentional to prevent indexed links from breaking.

You can manually edit the URL in site builder.
    MARK.B
    vBulletin Support
    ------------
    My Unofficial vBulletin 6.0.0 Demo: https://www.talknewsuk.com
    My Unofficial vBulletin Cloud Demo: https://www.adminammo.com

Comment

• goxy63
      • Sep 2008

Will that change in site builder affect anything, cause problems and such....guess not, want to confirm as I have plenty threads that changed forums

Comment

• glennrocksvb
        Former vBulletin Developer
        • Mar 2011
        • 5.7.X

When you move a thread to another forum, it should automatically change the url. The old URL is still accessible and it will do a 301 redirect to the new URL. I don't know why it's not working for you.

Flag Icon Postbit Insert GIPHY Impersonate User BETTER INITIALS AVATAR Better Name Card Quote Selected Text Bookmark Posts Post Footer Translate Stop Links in Posts +MORE!

Comment

• goxy63
          • Sep 2008

Originally posted by Glenn Vergara
          When you move a thread to another forum, it should automatically change the url. The old URL is still accessible and it will do a 301 redirect to the new URL. I don't know why it's not working for you.
          To be honest I am not sure any more what is normal and what is not, I lost my "touch" with VB as since I moved to VB5 many simple things are problem for me.