My 3 weeks experience with vbulletin 5: things are not going well! Very disappointed!

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • badesound
    • Jan 2011
    • 4.2.x

My 3 weeks experience with vbulletin 5: things are not going well! Very disappointed!

I own www.bmwpassion.com/forum/, the largest italian BMW community since 2002 with 7 millions posts, and on 8th of june I upgraded the forum from vb4 to vb5.

I knew that many people discourage doing this, but I did it anyway.

I did it because I wanted a responsive site hoping that this would have improved the ranking and I liked the possibility to upload images easily. My members did not like vb4 mobile template because it had few features.

I had two serious problems:

1) vb5 is very heavy, but I have a good server and NOW I don't have problem anymore.

I said "now" because in the first week the server went down every 4/5 hours because of a "cron" (I am not an expert and I don't know if it is correct),a ripetitive operation launched by vb software.
    Fortunately my server managers solved the problem.

2) I like the software and its responsive design, but I am very disappointed with the vb assistance. Since the beginning I still have a bug: when a member send a message or PM an error message appear: "empty response".
    If a moderator try to move a thread an error message appear and so on.

vbulletin staff did not solve the issue yet.

But the worst thing is that they don't answer to my ticket and they don't let me know when they will think to solve it or if they are working on it even though this is a knowed issue.

I had to write a thread in this forum to complain and they told me that I have to wait.

I know that now I will be answered by someone of the staff and I want to say that normally I am not that kind of person who like to complain, but: