• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • OverallOpinion
    • May 2016
    • 5.2.x

Help installing please!

Hello!

I'm a complete newbie on this one, but am ashamed to be asking for help, because I have been able to troubleshoot computer issues my entire life by just using google, and forum searches up until this point.

I purchased prior to this recent update vBulletin 5 Connect "Brand Free" version a few months ago, and originally hired a company to build and publish my idea. Long story short, I got burned, and am doing it all on my own.

I am using GoDaddy servers ( they set it up, and insured me it would run vBulletin 5 Connect ).

The steps I have completed.

1. Download vBulletin 5 Connect
    2. Unzip
    3. Create a database in cPanel
    4. Change config.php.bkp file name to just config.php, and made sure the cookies 'bb' was the same on the file I am about to mention.
    5. Changed /core/includes/config.php.new to config.php
    6. Changed database, database username, database password.
    7. Was unable to find out what to set for my data base prefix
    8. Entered the baseurl and root address (i'm using a subdomain however example: my website is domain.com, but I am trying to put it on forum.domain.com, and I believe I took the proper steps to make that happen, and with FileZilla, accessed forum.domain.com and did the next step i'm about to mention.
    9. Uploaded all the files in the upload file (except the upload folder itself. )
    10. Went to forum.domain.com/core/install/install.php
    11. Got a basic HTTP 404 Not Found Error.

So, I am inquiring about what the issue may be, and also once solved, I would also like guidance on how to update it to the newest version that just came out last week.

Thank you in advance!
  • OverallOpinion
    • May 2016
    • 5.2.x