Friendly URLs problem

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • Daniel.P
    Senior Member
    • Apr 2008
    • 600
    • 4.0.x

    Friendly URLs problem

    Friendly URLs settings in adminCP have no effect on the links. All options do not work. Can we use vb5 on lighttpd ?
    born to fish forced to work
  • Hartmut
    Senior Member
    • Nov 2007
    • 2870
    • 4.2.x

    #2
    It will work but needs a modification for the mod_rewrite. If mod_rewrite isn't already turned on, then you need to handle that first. Make a copy of your lighttpd.conf (just for worst case) and enable mod_rewrite in the modules section:
    PHP Code:
    server.modules = (
          
    # ...other modules go here
      
          
    "mod_rewrite",

    Within the same file you need to find the mod_rewrite section and add the rewrite rules for vB5:
    PHP Code:
    url.rewrite = (
         
    # other rewrite rules go here

         
    " here the re-write rules for vBulletin 5 Connect",

    Restart lighttpd so the changes can take effect.
    No private support, only PM me when I ask for it. Support in the forums only.

    Comment

    • Daniel.P
      Senior Member
      • Apr 2008
      • 600
      • 4.0.x

      #3
      OK 10X this is no problem but Friendly URLs settings in adminCP do not work and cyrillic alphabet do not display in url http://tracker.vbulletin.com/browse/VBV-3169, this is minor bug for you but major for me. For now we do not use Friendly URLs there another bug http://tracker.vbulletin.com/browse/VBIV-7775.

      How to stop Friendly URLs on vb5 ?

      p.s if this setting in adminCP do not work why are they there???????
      born to fish forced to work

      Comment

      • Yves R.
        vBulletin QA
        • Nov 2003
        • 3855
        • 5.6.X

        #4
        You can't. The AdminCP options have no use.

        vBulletin 5 isn't designed to be ran without rewrite rules.

        Sent from my iPhone using Forum Runner

        vBulletin QA - vBulletin Support French - Lead Project Tools developer

        Next release? Soon(tm)

        Comment

        • Daniel.P
          Senior Member
          • Apr 2008
          • 600
          • 4.0.x

          #5
          10X but all VB5 is very strange, in admicp has many unusable options, for example Use Legacy (Vertical) Postbit Template and many others.
          If this options not work, please remove them from adminCP, for all administrator this is great discomfort.
          born to fish forced to work

          Comment

          • Yves R.
            vBulletin QA
            • Nov 2003
            • 3855
            • 5.6.X

            #6
            All settings not working (not yet implemented or unusable) are already reported.

            vBulletin QA - vBulletin Support French - Lead Project Tools developer

            Next release? Soon(tm)

            Comment

            • Fortforum
              Member
              • Oct 2009
              • 71
              • 3.8.x

              #7
              One of my weaknesses is the friendly url thing. On one big board i admin, someone installed c-logic friendly seo. This board is now up for a vb 5 upgrade. How do i get it to work?

              The board was run with "Rewrite URL's And Insert Keywords" option, and no use of .htaccess.

              Typical url looks like this: /vb/showthread.php/abbreviation-list-noob-76525.html

              These are the arguments to put in .htaccess, if used.

              RewriteRule ^([a-z0-9_\-]*-(f|all)[0-9]+(p[0-9]+|/index[0-9]*)?\.html)$ forumdisplay.php/$1 [QSA,L]
              RewriteRule ^([a-z0-9_\-]*-(t|p)[0-9]+(p[0-9]+|/index[0-9]*)?\.html)$ showthread.php/$1 [QSA,L]
              RewriteCond %{REQUEST_URI} !(index\.php|\.css) [NC]


              Will it be possible to get the forum to work after an upgrade from the current 3.8.7 c-logic seo to a vb5 environment?
              Last edited by Fortforum; Wed 26 Sep '12, 11:01am.

              Comment

              • Wayne Luke
                vBulletin Technical Support Lead
                • Aug 2000
                • 73979

                #8
                Originally posted by Fortforum
                Will it be possible to get the forum to work after an upgrade from the current 3.8.7 c-logic seo to a vb5 environment?
                You would have to talk to whoever create c-logic seo. It isn't something we support.
                Translations provided by Google.

                Wayne Luke
                The Rabid Badger - a vBulletin Cloud demonstration site.
                vBulletin 5 API

                Comment

                • Fortforum
                  Member
                  • Oct 2009
                  • 71
                  • 3.8.x

                  #9
                  Originally posted by Wayne Luke
                  You would have to talk to whoever create c-logic seo. It isn't something we support.
                  No, ofcourse not. But will vb 5 accept custom rewrite conditions in .htaccess? Like if i use the same params i use now, and move them over? If that won´t work, i have a massive problem at my hands.

                  Comment

                  • Ace
                    Senior Member
                    • Apr 2004
                    • 4051
                    • 4.2.X

                    #10
                    Originally posted by Fortforum
                    No, ofcourse not. But will vb 5 accept custom rewrite conditions in .htaccess? Like if i use the same params i use now, and move them over? If that won´t work, i have a massive problem at my hands.
                    Considering there's no showthread.php or forumdisplay.php in vB5 Connect, no.. those rules will definitely not work, and will definitely require amendments.
                    My Live vB5 Site - NZEating.com
                    vBulletin Hosting | vBulletin Services - Need hosting for your vB? Need it installed? Something else? Let me take that hassle off your hands.

                    Comment

                    • Fortforum
                      Member
                      • Oct 2009
                      • 71
                      • 3.8.x

                      #11
                      Oh, ffs, this spells disaster if true. I had such a good feeling about this, but this is definately not good news.

                      Comment

                      • I, Brian
                        Senior Member
                        • Feb 2003
                        • 400
                        • 3.6.x

                        #12
                        I can't see a Friendly URL setting in vb5 at the moment - any pointers where I might find it, please?

                        Comment

                        • Zachery
                          Former vBulletin Support
                          • Jul 2002
                          • 59097

                          #13
                          There isn't one.

                          Comment

                          • mgurain
                            Senior Member
                            • Jul 2003
                            • 270
                            • 4.2.X

                            #14
                            Why is the option to remove the friendly url is removed ?
                            Our Arabic URL is not rendered correctly, here is our forum :

                            Here is a sample URL :


                            Please fix it ,,
                            http://www.al-jarodiah.com/vb/
                            Arabic Village Social forums

                            Comment


                            • Wayne Luke
                              Wayne Luke commented
                              Editing a comment
                              You should try using a UTF-8 character set instead of the subset Windows-1256. The browser should be able to render the URL correctly in the address bar then. However there is no available standard for placing Arabic characters in a URL without encoding them. If you know of such a standard, creating an Improvement Request JIRA is the way to go.
                          • Mark.B
                            vBulletin Support
                            • Feb 2004
                            • 24286
                            • 6.0.X

                            #15
                            vBulletin 5 has friendly URLs by default. Old style URLs from vB3 and vB4 are not available in vB5 and never will be, as the file structure is entirely different.
                            Old URLs will redirect to new ones in vB5 though.
                            MARK.B
                            vBulletin Support
                            ------------
                            My Unofficial vBulletin 6.0.0 Demo: https://www.talknewsuk.com
                            My Unofficial vBulletin Cloud Demo: https://www.adminammo.com

                            Comment

                            Related Topics

                            Collapse

                            Working...