X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • BenjMac
    • Sep 2013
    • 5.0.X

Steps for going to 5.05 from 5.04???

I’m still new to this as you’ll obviously see. I have a couple questions about going from 5.0.4 to 5.0.5 (may seem silly/reveal my ignorance or be insignificant) just to be sure I’ll be doing everything correctly and check to confirm what I’m up against first.

First, when I downloaded my patch I did not do the following (overlooked even checking it out), but wonder if this is important for going to 5.0.5 from 5.0.4:

“However, before you upload the files you must make some changes to the vBulletin configuration files. The first file is located in the upload folder itself and is called config.php.bkp. The second file is located in the core/includes folder (within the upload folder) and is called config.php.new.”
    Next, I already have my 5.0.4 running (only about a week now, sigh) so am I correct that I need to do this:
    Note:
    “As you already have a vBulletin installation running on your web server, you should delete the install.php file in the install directory before you proceed to upload the files.”
    And this:

Key question: So am I “updating” or “upgrading”? Because I see these instructions for “Upgrading”:

According to what I’m doing (updating” or “upgrading”?) which part(s), if any do I do of the following?
    Note:
    Before uploading the files, you should delete the install.php file found in the /upload/core/install/ directory. If you are upgrading from one version of vBulletin 5 to another 5.x version, you should also delete the config.php.bkp andcore/includes/config.php.new files.
    Will these instructions apply to me? Because I see these instructions for “Upgrading”:
    Running the vBulletin Upgrade Script